We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel...Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel...Ever!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

There are seriously few words that can describe this amazing hotel in Queenstown!!! First: location right in downtown, walking distance from the pier, restaurants and the places where you book all the activities. Second: services and facilities...it has it all! Amazing Spa, delicious restaurant, bar, elevator, room service and super friendly staff. Third: Rooms...we had a suite thathad expresso machine, living room with a huge plasma TV with stallite TV, the bathroom was a whole experience with a massage bathtub and a TV!, and a room to never wake up..the sheets, matress, everything was perfect! Every night hey left us chocolates and water in the room, and in the morning, newspaper. It's a very expensive hotel, but is worth every penny! Internet was not soo good, but I think that is NZ in general, and one thing to avoid if you're not on a giant budget is breakfast (is quite expensive, althought they have everything)...prefer evening meals and go grab a croissant on the main's street backery (really good!). All countind this is the perfect five star hotel!

Room Tip: All the rooms are suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuegar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Bonjour cuegar84,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities in your room, our central location and the helpful & friendly service provided by our Ambassadors

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    282
    99
    28
    15
See reviews for
225
926
60
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Clearly one of the best hotels that I have stayed in my traveling career. The room was spacious and extremely well appointed. The location was central. Two of the concierge were splendid! Nicolas was extremely helpful and very knowledgeable and a pleasure to work with. Nene (sp?) a beautiful Irish lass was also great! I would recommend this hotel unequivocally.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Bonjour hughmorgan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location & that you found the service provided by our Ambassadors memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.


Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Speachless!!!!!
Where do you start, this was the most amazing hotel. We were given an upgrade, numerous complimentary touches over our 5 night stay. The room was lovely and spacious with every thing you could want taken care off. The location is perfect, right in the middle off everything. When it comes to the staff, they deserve the highest praise for professionalism and courtesy. Nicholas and Lewis in particular went out of their way to ensure every request was met happily and quickly. We loved it, will recommend it, and will be back. Thank you for making our holiday extra special.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Bonjour Carol M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, the service provided by our Ambassadors and the facilities in your room

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This was the last stop on our trek of New Zealand and we were hoping for a spectacular Sofitel experience. It is with disappointment that it did not meet our expectations. Originally we had made a booking and cancelled it online and made a second booking with new dates (shift one day forward). We received a phone call the night before we arrived with a message wondering if we were checking in (this reservation had been cancelled). We did not return their call in favour of waiting until the next day when we were planning on checking in with new reservation. Upon arrival at the hotel the concierge was most helpful with our baggage and valet of our vehicle. Front reception were welcoming with their trademark "Bon jour". There seemed to be some confusion with our booking and I advised that we had cancelled the original reservation and made a new booking at the same time as their website does not allow amendments of dates. They consulted the duty manager and I showed them my paperwork (lucky I had taken the time to print everything before I went!) They requested to photocopy my reservation paperwork that I had printed and advised that there should be a room available of the type we booked. As we had arrived early the room wasn't available but they provided us with coffee and advised that they would phone when we get checkin - not a problem at all as it was very early. They did phone mid morning and advised that the room was ready and we were able to access the room. The concierge again (one of the main highlights of our trip) showed us to our room and pointed out the facilities in the room. The room itself was well appointed and spacious. Lounge area with dining table and large flat screen tv. Coffee machine available as well. Super comfortable bed which are renowned across the Westin/Sofitel brands. Bathroom was nice with a very deep spa bath and dual rain shower. There was a cracked tile in the shower but we did not draw housekeeping's attention to this, in their defence. Two Juliette balconies were a treat as it was possible to let in some fresh air during our stay. In the room there was a welcome cheese platter that had been left there from the night before (their expectation that we arriving the day earlier).. however this was removed when noticed and replaced. Ella the duty manager was very helpful throughout the stay including offering restaurant reservations and engaging with us at every opportunity. The two French barmen in the hotel's bar were very welcoming and accommodating. They would remember our room number each evening and our drink of choice! Was a nice touch. As was housekeeping who were very efficient. A word of warning - the hotel only allows 300mb internet per day which really is not much in this day and age. Beyond that you can elect to pay extra or reduce your speed (which crawled...). A real disappointment and not experienced in any other hotel I've stayed. On the evening prior to our checkout we were presented with a note under the door that the hotel needed to take a preauthorisation of a credit card for the cost of the entire stay. We promptly attended reception and although they had taken a $400 bond for the 4 night stay they also wanted to pre-auth the entire accommodation cost. I enquired as to whether when we checked out the following morning that the accommodation cost would replace the pre-auth which I was advised would happen. Checkout occurred and sure enough we were double charged (totalling upwards of $4000). The pre-auth amount would be returned within seven days. Doesn't help that it overdrew the credit card and went against what we were told the night before. Upon returning to Australia we had to make international phone calls to the hotel to find out what went wrong and they advised that it shouldn't have happened like that. They were going to send a letter to the bank to release the pre-auth funds and if they did it took another four business days before the money disappeared from the account. We received emails from Sofitel with request for survey which I completed honestly, per the account above. The front office manager has emailed me to clarify reservation issues as he believes that the duty manager was not informed of any issues on the day (which is not correct as the duty manager came out and photocopied our paperwork upon checkin). At $579 a night for a prestige suite we expected an awful lot more and were left feeling very disappointed. I have stayed in numerous hotels all around the world and this would have to be one of the worst experiences. Very unfortunate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve8010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Bonjour Steve8010,

Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay with us.

We are truly disappointed and apologise, that given a number of points relating to your stay, we did not exceed your expectations or live up to the service excellence upon which we pride ourselves. We know that Ulrike Zoch, our Front Office & Reservations Sales Manager, is currently in contact with you on the matter and addressing this internally as a priority.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do trust that you will return back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa on another occasion, to afford us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and service. Again, our sincerest apologies.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This hotel is in the absolute best location in town - close to Fergburger too!
The rooms, food, concierge and service is amazing. The TV in the bathroom is just the best feature ever. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank tarli_santo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Bonjour tarli_santo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities in your room, our central location and the helpful & friendly service provided by our Ambassadors

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckalnd
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding over ANZAC weekend and fell in love with the rooms and the staff. Lauren and Nicholas couldn't have been more helpful and the rooms were very luxurious. It felt more 6 star hotel than 5 thanks to the staff. Also - don't miss the botanical garden walk. After multiple visits to Queenstown it was the first time we'd done it (thanks to a staff tip) and it was stunning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommyc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Bonjour tommyc23,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are delighted thank you & your wife enjoyed your stay with us.

The botanical garden walk is truly stunning. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful Queenstown experience with the assistance of our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Very friendly, attentive staff. We got a welcome glass of wine when we checked in. Lots of little touches, like chocolates at night, complimentary bottled water every day. Parking was really convenient, and just $20 per day.

The rooms are a good size, and we love the TV in the bathroom. The bathroom has a heated floor, which is great when its cold.

The location is superb. Close walk to the gondola. Right across from city centre, close to restaurants, shops etc.

Breakfast was fine, with lots of options. We enjoyed a glass of brandy by the fire in the ground floor bar.

Have always wanted to visit the spa, as it looks really good. Maybe next visit! We'll be back at Sofitel Queenstown. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loveurope22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Bonjour Loveurope22,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the luxury touches throughout your stay and the facilities in the hotel. We highly recommend indulging in a treatment at our LeSpa for your next visit.

Thank you once again & we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Property: Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing