We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel! From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out we were treated to top notch service. Everyone we encountered was attentive, polite and professional. The hotel itself is gorgeous and clean. The front desk staff were happy to help us with any request. The location cannot be beat! Staying in the middle of Queenstown was worth the extra money. Being able to walk everywhere was great. My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon and they upgraded our room for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Bonjour Ashley F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are sincerely delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & that you had a Magnifique honeymoon.

We are thrilled that you received such wonderful service from our Ambassadors and that you enjoyed the facilities in your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Located in the heart of Queenstown, this is a great hotel to enjoy your vacation. As with most hotels in this chain, very friendly staff and clean rooms. They messed up and tried to charge us for breakfast, so as make up, they gave us a free 2 hour happy hour each night. The staff can hook you up with tours, and all of the local adventure. You must take advantage of one of the adventures in this quiet town (bungee jumping, giant swing, jet boat, or paragliding). They are all a ton of fun. My favorite was the swing, which is more of bungee jump than a swing. The hotel has a small fitness center, but you can get plenty of exercise walking around the quaint town. Breakfast is good. A little pricey, so try to get that included in your room rate. I also loved the heated towel racks.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor. The lower rooms have no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Bonjour Craig M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you received such wonderful service from our Ambassador and that they ‘hooked you up with tours’!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

It is a good hotel to stay. It very central. The rooms are clean en spacy. Staff is nice and helpful. Only the greating in french is a little bit weird. Breakfast (buffet) is not worth 39.95. Had better ones for less. And another hotel where you have to pay for internet. Think some hotels don't realize we are living in 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller190534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Bonjour Traveller190534,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

With reference to the internet charges, we are actually one of the few hotels in New Zealand who provide such a service free of charge as we do offer all our guests who book a Superior room 300 MB daily and if one does use more bandwidth, then they are charged accordingly (we do offer various plans in that respect) or if a guest books an Executive room, they are offered 2 GB on a complimentary basis daily.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank 22204traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our visit was during May. The hotel was terribly understaffed. Night shifts were managed by a duty manager that had difficulty understanding English and day shifts were managed by a foreign duty manager that enjoyed debating over trivial matters so to speak. Rest of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Rudimentary air-conditioning/heating unit that hardly works. King beds are joined using two single beds which is far from comfortable and sheets are not of high thread count. Because they joined two single beds, the sheets come off easily as they aren't large enough to cover. Poor communication between front desk and house-keeping - had to wait 4 hours to have room cleaned despite reminding them twice. Awful experience!!! On the plus side, the rates are very cheap. Lobby is beautifully designed but doesn't make up for the lack in competent management. Softitel is usually rated as a 5 star hotel but not this particular one at Queenstown is at the very most, 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Bonjour Jason L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience.

We really appreciate your honest feedback, which allows us to improve our service to our guests. We would appreciate discussing your experience further with you, please contact me on vincent.macquet@sofitelqueenstown.com as I would like to talk to you to allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and service.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just arrived back from staying in the Sofitel in Queenstown for 3nights. The hotel exceeded my expectations in most areas. The location of the hotel is perfect when in Queenstown, you can walk to all the shops and restaurants within one minute and be down by the water in two! They do offer valet parking for $25 or you can park behind the hotel on the road going up the hill for free overnight.
As soon as we arrived nothing was too much, they came outside to our car parked across the road to help with our bags, even though I insisted we were fine. Very polite, friendly staff, they seemed very genuine.
The room was beautiful, very clean, a tv to watch while in the bath, an espresso machine, two shower heads and heated towel rail.
The only minor things that could maybe improve is when turning on the tv its very tricky to get it to the channels you want, you have to play around the with remote a bit, the shower heads didn't have a huge amount of pressure and the view is from one window and one Juliet balcony, would be great to have more windows letting more natural light in and a slightly larger balcony- though it does give you a lot of privacy. The view for our room on level 4 was nice, I think if we had gotten a little higher it may have been better- we had a town and partial mountain view.

Sofitel have great attention to detail, though we didn't order room service the menu looked great as did the pillow menu! Yes there is a pillow menu! If you aren't completely happy with the pillows placed on your bed there is at least 4 others to choose from which they describe in the menu. The espresso machine I thought was a nice touch aswel.

We wanted a relaxing holiday so we spent a lot of time in our room and really enjoyed our lovely stay at Sofitel. A very clean, warm and welcoming hotel, where nothing seemed like too much trouble. I would defiantly return

Room Tip: Request a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Bonjour Bryony N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Kia C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £165 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing