We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend away in Queenstown - amazing hotel and staff.

Nothing was too much and staff were a delight and laugh to deal with.

Room was amazing and well exceeded our expectations we would def stay there again! Bathroom was huge w amazing spa bath.

Located in town it's handy to all the best bars and restaurants!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour Guy A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    279
    98
    28
    15
See reviews for
223
924
58
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Fantastic hotel in central Queenstown. Great experience from the initial arrival by concierge. Valet Car was parked quickly and always bought down promptly. Check in was fast and staff were very helpful. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was was exceptional with lots of fresh juices and a great selection of bakery goods. Staff consistently went above and beyond, offering to help with all request is including printing off discount vouchers to Loan Star and offering to collect our Ferg burgers! Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: View of Remarkables
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felicityJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour felicity JP,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are thrilled that you received such wonderful service from our Ambassadors and that you enjoyed the facilities in your room..

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a wonderful 4 nights here in June. The staff were fantastic and so obliging, the room was a great size and immaculately clean with a great range of amenities. Happy hour between 5 and 7 was great, nice way to end the day with a tipple and nibbles.
The staff in the restaurant were very meticulous and friendly, though we found the hot food to be a little cold. Other than that the selection was great, a huge variety!
The location of the hotel is fantastic, a short walk to everything.Being right in town I thought we would get a bit of noise but didn't hear a thing, the balcony was a bonus with a wonderful view.
We loved staying here and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Sixth floor had great views and the bonus of happy hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeildingTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour Feilding Tracey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay in Sofitel Queenstown however I was expecting it to be better. I stayed in Sofitel Auckland and it was better then my Queenstown sofitel experience. Room service food I ordered chicken curry and rice it was cold was not even warm!, Breakfast buffet was very tiny with limited choices and it does not deserve $39.99. The senior concierge who worked in the mornings was very rude and not welcoming at all, however the other guys who worked in the evenings and afternoons seemed much helpful and welcoming. I had an awesome spa experience, I did the hot stone message it was GREAT. The ensuite bath was so relaxing. And the room was good as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ZiadAlnussayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Bonjour ZiadAlnussayan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience.

We really appreciate your honest feedback, which allows us to improve our service to our guests. We would appreciate discussing your experience further with you, please contact me on vincent.macquet@sofitelqueenstown.com as I would like talk to you to allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our service.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We spent a week at the Sofitel. It wasn't long enough. Beautifully appointed rooms. Best location. Lovely staff who will help with anything you need, they really go above and beyond. And the Left Bank cafe is a real bonus. We would definitely stay here again. And by the way, they have brand new mattresses that went in the day we left. Bummer on timing for us, but good for next time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CinMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Bonjour CinMin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, our central location & the service you received. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful Queenstown experience with the assistance of our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Property: Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing