We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel Queenstwon for 6 nights between 2-8 July 2014. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with such friendliness and professionalism. The check-in staff were extremely welcoming. We were shown around the hotel, and then shown all the features of our room by Seamus from the Concierge.

Any request, no matter how large or small was met very promptly and with the minimum of fuss. The friendliness of staff throughout the hotel was commendable, with a particular mention to the members of the hotel's concierge who were so willing to help with suggestions of places to see or places at which to eat.

The room was very spacious and the bed ultra-comfortable! The facilities throughout the room were great, especially the coffee machine and spa bath television!

Would definitely stay here on return to Queenstown and also recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_p_baconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Bonjour chris_p_baconn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us and that you enjoyed the facilities and services of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

I would have to say that the bed I slept on in the Sofitel Queenstown was the softest & most comfortable bed I have ever slept on in any hotel worldwide. I enjoyed my champagne breakfast too. The enormous spa bath was perfect after a day of skiing. This hotel has alot of good points but my experience was that the expected 5 star service was lacking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BulliBeachBum_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Bonjour BulliBeachBum_13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

After spending a few nights at another hotel, we upgraded to the Sofitel and for me it was worth the extra money for the comfort and luxury that made our stay in Queenstown extra special. The room was beautiful, the spa bath was perfect to ease the aches after our ski days, plus Le Spa for our massage treatments was all my perfect idea of holiday accommodation! Location also couldn't be better with everything an easy walk. The staff were all friendly, attentive and helpful. The Left Bank breakfasts were gorgeous and the best in-room breakfast we've had so far. Full marks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazzicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Bonjour Kazzicles,

Thank you for taking the time t share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & your time in Queenstown.

We are pleased that you had a lovely treatment at our LeSpa & that you received outstanding service from all our Ambassadors.

Thank you once again & we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future & enjoy our breakfast once again!

Kindest regards

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, good size rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and very clean. One of the best hotels Ive stayed in for a while and good value for $ spent. So close to all amenities and cafes, makes it easy to get around. Left bank cafe did a good breakfast In the hotel too.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Bonjour Jessica C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend away in Queenstown - amazing hotel and staff.

Nothing was too much and staff were a delight and laugh to deal with.

Room was amazing and well exceeded our expectations we would def stay there again! Bathroom was huge w amazing spa bath.

Located in town it's handy to all the best bars and restaurants!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Guy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Bonjour Guy A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Fantastic hotel in central Queenstown. Great experience from the initial arrival by concierge. Valet Car was parked quickly and always bought down promptly. Check in was fast and staff were very helpful. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was was exceptional with lots of fresh juices and a great selection of bakery goods. Staff consistently went above and beyond, offering to help with all request is including printing off discount vouchers to Loan Star and offering to collect our Ferg burgers! Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: View of Remarkables
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felicityJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Bonjour felicity JP,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are thrilled that you received such wonderful service from our Ambassadors and that you enjoyed the facilities in your room..

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,475 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £182 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing