We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Everything the last 2 reviewers have said and more. If you are skiing - can't get a better location.
Rooms are very comfortable, the service is excellent. Would definitely stay here again. Oh and the steam room in the day spa- ''the hamman' what a glorious way to warm up after a day skiing. (complimentary to hotel guests.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour Redmoor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience. We are delighted that you had a relaxing & comfortable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    283
    99
    30
    15
See reviews for
228
933
60
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Sofitel Queenstown was amazing, it is so central to everything, beautiful lobby, restaurant, bar and rooms, the staff were so friendly and the food, delicious! We will be returning for sure! Staying at the Sofitel (where my now fiance proposed) really made out trip to Queenstown so memorable, we will never stay anywhere else in Queenstown!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour Katie F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, our central location & the service you received. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful Queenstown experience with the assistance of our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future...perhaps for your honeymoon!

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel Queenstwon for 6 nights between 2-8 July 2014. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with such friendliness and professionalism. The check-in staff were extremely welcoming. We were shown around the hotel, and then shown all the features of our room by Seamus from the Concierge.

Any request, no matter how large or small was met very promptly and with the minimum of fuss. The friendliness of staff throughout the hotel was commendable, with a particular mention to the members of the hotel's concierge who were so willing to help with suggestions of places to see or places at which to eat.

The room was very spacious and the bed ultra-comfortable! The facilities throughout the room were great, especially the coffee machine and spa bath television!

Would definitely stay here on return to Queenstown and also recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_p_baconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour chris_p_baconn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us and that you enjoyed the facilities and services of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I would have to say that the bed I slept on in the Sofitel Queenstown was the softest & most comfortable bed I have ever slept on in any hotel worldwide. I enjoyed my champagne breakfast too. The enormous spa bath was perfect after a day of skiing. This hotel has alot of good points but my experience was that the expected 5 star service was lacking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulliBeachBum_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour BulliBeachBum_13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

After spending a few nights at another hotel, we upgraded to the Sofitel and for me it was worth the extra money for the comfort and luxury that made our stay in Queenstown extra special. The room was beautiful, the spa bath was perfect to ease the aches after our ski days, plus Le Spa for our massage treatments was all my perfect idea of holiday accommodation! Location also couldn't be better with everything an easy walk. The staff were all friendly, attentive and helpful. The Left Bank breakfasts were gorgeous and the best in-room breakfast we've had so far. Full marks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour Kazzicles,

Thank you for taking the time t share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & your time in Queenstown.

We are pleased that you had a lovely treatment at our LeSpa & that you received outstanding service from all our Ambassadors.

Thank you once again & we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future & enjoy our breakfast once again!

Kindest regards

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, good size rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and very clean. One of the best hotels Ive stayed in for a while and good value for $ spent. So close to all amenities and cafes, makes it easy to get around. Left bank cafe did a good breakfast In the hotel too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour Jessica C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Property: Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing