We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This has to be my favourite hotel in Queenstown. Lovely staff, gorgeous rooms... I could stay forever. It's really central so you can walk everywhere in town easily. Lovely breakfasts too. Its not good for finding a carpark handy thou, you have to use their valet parking really. Highly recommend it for a couples hotel. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwidaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Bonjour Kiwidaisy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We pride ourselves on providing impeccable service & it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful Queenstown experience with the assistance of our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Excellent hotel with amazing views, decor and service! We stayed here for 4 nights during a surprise engagement trip. The staff and in particular the concierge, Nikolai, were excellent. The buffet breakfast, which was included in our room, was to die for! They even brought it up to our room on one occasion by special request. The room also included drinks and nibbles in the lobby bar daily! We loved every minute of our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikW89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Bonjour NikW89,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Claudine C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel Queenstown for 5 nights of a recent two week New Zealand holiday and it was definitely a highlight of the trip! The reception is welcoming and the room we stayed in was spacious and had a luxurious feel (especially the massive spa bath!). Located directly across the road from the bus pick-up/drop-off area to head up the mountain each day was absolutely perfect! It's also only a short walk through the town to any of the number of great places to eat or drink.
I also can not fault the service! I lost my mobile phone on the ski mountain and when the hotel was contacted after we had checked out and moved to our next location (Wellington) saying that it had been found, they were most helpful in arranging to courier it to a location later in our trip. They followed up with the courier details and even sent an email checking that it had been received ok. This is above-and-beyond service! Highly recommend a stay here and we will definitely be back next time we visit!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Bonjour Gill B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you received such wonderful service from our Ambassadors while staying with us in The Magical South!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I would like to thank the staff at the Sofitel for the best stay at a hotel ever.
Best service,Best location,Best bed I have ever slept on(Like sleeping on a cloud).
Would recommend the Hamas steam bath, just fantastic after a days skiing.
The staff at La Spa also Fantastic.

Thanks again for a Excellent stay.

The Buckleys

Room Tip: Just be nice.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Bonjour gazman123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location; service provided by our ambassadors and our hotel facilities. We have recently upgraded all our Sofitel ‘My Beds’ and just like you, all our guests are experiencing a Magnifique night sleep!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Location was very central - across the road from the Snow Centre (where you can catch the bus to ski resorts), tour offices and surrounded by lots of good restaurants. The room was luxurious and spacious, with sitting area and a deep double spa bath. The hammam was excellent and for private use (complimentary and need to book).
Hotel staff were very friendly and services were first class. For examples; the receptionist kept calling different restaurants until she could book us a tables for dinner, in room dinning table was set up with iced water and flowers, and the house keeper gave us an extra tissue box because my daughter was sick (without us having to ask). Thank you all for making our trip a very happy memory. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Bonjour traveller2506,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location; service provided by our ambassadors and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Loved the sofitel staff were super friendly, and there were plenty of staff around whether it was at reception or at the restaurant, you were never kept waiting at all. The double deep spa bath was amazing and a great size for 2 people, the small TV inset into the bathroom tiles was a novelty. Loved also having a coffee machine in the room. Our room was serviced and the coffee capsules were not replenished, I called to ask if I needed to pay for additional capsules, of course not we will send someone right up, all within 5 mins. As an Accor advantage plus member we used our free night, so only paid for the one. And then breakfast was 50% off. The al a carte was lovely with yoghurt & pastries complementary, then our choice from the menu, so breakfast for 2 people was $20 and this included a coffee each, very happy and a great way to start the day. Is very central to all the restaurants and shops, we made the right decision not to bother with a rental car for our first 2 days in queenstown as we walked everywhere. We look forward to coming back and Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tania A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Bonjour Tania A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are sincerely delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offering!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,168 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £162 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing