We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

We stayed at the Sofitel, Queenstown during our honeymoon in Dec 08. This hotel was simply great. The rooms, lobby, spa and the service everything was tooo good. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody who has a penchant for luxury and doesn't mind spending the extra money. We booked all our activities in Queenstown through the concierge who was very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vishalindore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    272
    97
    28
    15
See reviews for
216
905
57
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

Very nice hotel and good staff. The only negative is the fitness center. Too small and only one treadmill that did not work!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teen05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

We had a lovely time at this hotel. It had quite a few special touches that you wont find in many other hotels - a TV built into the bathroom, two head showers, big flat screen tv, discovery channel, possum fur throw, alarm clock that projects onto the ceiling, coffee maker and in room safe.

Its only faults were a serious lack of staffing on the first four days we were there in terms of concierge and valet parking. They all appeared on the day we checked out - maybe there was a virus around.

We got married whilst staying at this hotel and received no special treatment apart from a note and a chocolate - so dont count on anything more if you are staying here for your honeymoon.

We were also in a room that overlooked some local bars and were woken a few times by people leaving late at night and bottles being thrown in bins so perhaps seek to be put in a room on the other side of the building.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oz_honeymooners09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

Way way over priced compared to every place else we stayed in New Zealand and compared to what was available in Queenstown. Unfortunately we booked this before we got to Queenstown and would have been charged whether we stayed there or not. Both of us got bit by some creepy crawly thing in the room. Street noise was kept me awake at night. Again this is the only place on our journey where I lost sleep. Service OK, a little on the stuffy side. Not worth the price for the room AND they charged extra for parking AND they charged extra for internet access. What a rip.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkchristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

I took my husband here for a night's stay for his birthday. From the first step in the door we were treated so well and felt very welcomed. We were given a free bottle of wine with dinner as well as a complimentary drink on the ground floor bar. The room was amazing, and although we could not see anything but the street from our window it did not matter too much as we were only there when it was dark. The bed was so comfortable and the nice touches such as a coffee machine, underfloor heating and a TV over our spa bath completed the inviting atmosphere. Our concierge was very helpful and organised some of our activities such as finding out open times for the Olsen Hot Pools. We also dined in their resturant and found the service friendly but not pushy. the duckl was divine and my husband enjoyed his venison dish. We also used the spacious gym and had a massage at the Spa located in the Sofitel, which was pure bliss. Again, the touches such as offering free herbal teas and allowing you to take as much time as you want to relax in thier sitting area is very relaxing and enjoyable. I think this Hotel is worth every penny you pay!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chile_chicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Aust
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

First time in Queenstown and couldn't have picked a better hotel. I realise it is expected to be good considering the brand but that isn't always true of the big name 5 star brands. It is true in this case.

Excellent position for a 1st timer. Close to the centre of town, restaurants, shopping, lake etc. Very large room with comfortable bed and coffee machine, balcony (no view though), very well equiped bathroom that included a big spa and a well serviced breakfast room. In fact the service was good everywhere.

Not the cheapest hotel in town for sure but in this case you get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Location, Service
  • Disliked — No lake view
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BVGBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

firstly let me say this is my third stay at Sofitel and it has always been very good - good food, great rooms, and bathrooms and fantastic spa. valet parking has always been excellent. Initially the front desk was extremely helpful when we needed extra nights which they arranged at very good prices when they were nearly full, we were pleased to be staying on. The service then became a little strange. The spa booked the wrong treatments for the wrong times, not in itself a big deal as it happens but their immediate attitude is that we were wrong not them until their mistake was pointed out and they were very apologetic, it left a sour taste with very poor customer service. Then, and their biggest mistake is that they allowed the occupants of the adjacent room to smoke despite repeated requests from us and reminding them that it is a non smoking hotel, our room continuously smelled of fresh and then stale smoke, they knew my wife is pregnant and their answer was they gave the occupants warnings but as they were in a more expensive room they would do nothing more. Frankly that is very poor and they even admitted they knew it was against local regulations but still allowed it. We checked out and although apologetic and discounted our room we will not stay there again, hotel managers should be tougher and take some more responsibility with guests who happily flout the rules and persistently irritate other guests.

  • Liked — spa treatments
  • Disliked — poor customer service
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manningProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Property: Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing