We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dark Ride Queenstown

Dark Ride Queenstown
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.84*
and up
Dark Ride Movie Simulator
Ranked #4 of 18 Fun & Games in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Virtual reality at its world class best. Darkride won the prestigious Brass Ring Award at the International Association of Amusement parks and Attractions expo at Orlando Florida.Take a walk down Earl St and you'll find an adrenaline center that is out of this world. Forget every preconception you've ever attached to the word "Adrenaline" and enter a zone where your natural receptors will compete to process experiences you will relive for days to come.Explaining the towns most comprehensive test of the human nervous system is easy... There is a fun ride to suit all ages. The first simulator to blend a competitive interactive and reactive game into a 3D ride. Experience the thrill of up to 400 mind blowing movements per second and up to 2Gs acceleration. Accurate motion is driven digitally by exclusive custom made ride content and this all means you will experience an unbelievably fantastic ride without the side effect of motion sickness often experienced on simulators. Never has the phrase "Adrenaline Junkie " been better applied,which makes this place easy to find as you get closer because in Darkride EVERYONE can hear you scream.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Fantastic....both myself and kids loved it,,,,a must do in Queenstown for any age. We stayed and did three rides and all were excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dowlerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    102
    25
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a great idea. A far cry from the motion master at rainbows end. Would love to do this again. The idea of shooting zombies on a big screen, awesome!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blemmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Brilliant, you can never get enough Zombie killing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was really fun. We were a little apprehensive about how our 8yo would go with the zombies, but needn't have worried, she took to zombie killing with gusto!
We also did the canyon ride, fun but have done those sort of simulator rides before.
We loved the Dark Ride so much we went back the next day.
I do think it is expensive, you can get the price down with vouchers you pick up here and there, but regardless I would say that even at the full price it is worth it for 6 minutes of hilarious fun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank vicnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lot of fun! Great 3d-experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We managed to find an offer for half price (15$).
This was a good price, as the experience only lasts for a couple of minutes.. Not sure if I'd like to pay 30 dollars for this brief experience, even though this sure is really awesome.

We did the Zombie version after reading the comments in here, which was obviously a great choice. The 3d-effect was amazing with the moving chairs and cinematic effects. Absolutely great.

I laughed my socks off, great game, great experience, especially for half price.
Too bad it's a bit short time, I'd love some more, but I just don't have the money :).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diplodocuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark K, Owner at Dark Ride Queenstown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Diplodocuz,

Thanks for taking your time to review Darkride. Great to see you think it was so awesome! Experiencing the award winning Darkride has you intensely engaged battling life like zombies aliens or robot cowboys for about 5 to 6.5 minutes per game. I know it only feels like 2 minutes because it is sooooo much fun! The $15 dollar rides are available to everyone once they have purchased their first combo. Happy travels from the team at Darkride..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Far exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

What an unreal experience - we particularly liked the zombie shoot out. Both adults and children were thrilled with this ride, well worth the money.

You HAVE to try this!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dark Ride Queenstown also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Dark Ride Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing