We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queenstown lodgings”
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
201 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Queenstown lodgings”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here in early February 2012 for 4 nights.
The room unfortunately was not facing the lake, but it was quite large with 2 beds.
The bathroom was also a good size.
This is not too far from town, a brisk walk along the main road.
We were staying on a room only basis but did have a full breakfast on 2 occasions and it
was well worth it instead of eating in Queenstown. It was nice to have hot food cooked especially for you rather than eating from a buffet.
Found Lyn to be very friendly and willing to help with any bookings you needed.

Room Tip: Request a full breakfast, certainly worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    161
    37
    15
    3
See reviews for
94
192
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington NZ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights in February, for our wedding anniversary and to visit family. The lake facing rooms have an amazing view of the lake which is completely unimpeded by other buildings or trees. We had a lake facing studio. The studio room was large and comortable and very clean with a nice bathroom. We also had a veranda with a seat outside our french doors. The motel is an older style building.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful and were always keen to find out what you had done the previous day, which was nice. Breakfast was quite good with three options available, quick bite, continental and cooked.

I would definitely stay here again. It was reasonably priced, clean, not too far from Queenstown for those that do not find a 15 min walk and in a quiet suburban location.. There is no lift though, so if you can't climb stairs this is not the place for you. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The room worked well for the two of us. We asked for a microwave when we arrived, and they quickly accommodated us. It was a little way from the center of town, but was quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We absolutely loved this lodge. Quiet location, close to all amenities, clean, comfortable, spacious, it has fantastic views. We would have liked to stay longer. Next time we will definitely be back! The owners, Lyn and Phil were very helpful, friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

A great little place, great views, clean and spacious with a great view. Really good value for money. Very helpful and friendly hosts, only a 10 minute walk into the centre of town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy171265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was easily the best hotel that we stayed at during our entire trip to New Zealand. The rooms are only "average" in that they are not updated or modern in their appearance. However, our room was spotlessly clean, quiet and had amazing views from the balcony. It was so wonderful to come back to our lovely views each evening and sit out on the balcony with a glass of wine. The location is great, it is a short 10 minute walk to downtown Queenstown. The laundry area had full size machines so doing a lot of laundry was quick and easy (there was even free laundry detergent)!

But what really sets this place apart from the others (besides the views) are the hosts. Best customer service of our entire trip, and that's saying something for a country that is known for its kind and generous people! Our flight home was canceled due to weather, and we had to stay in Queenstown for 2 extra nights. When I frantically called Lyn from the airport to check if they had rooms, she told me she had suspected our flight would be canceled and had held a room for us, just in case. How often do you hear of a hotel owner who keeps her customer's needs in mind AFTER they have checked out? After dealing with the stress of having our flight canceled, my only consolation was that at least Lyn and Phil were looking out for us. Lyn even had the foresight to reserve the room for us for 2 nights, since we couldn't get a flight home until 2 days later. Also, when our airport shuttle was 15 min late, Phil offered to run us to the airport!! Luckily, the shuttle showed up, but how many hotel owners would do this for their guests? All of their recommendations for things to do and places to eat at in Queenstown were excellent. I can't recommend this place enough. Lyn and Phil will go out of their way to make sure that you have an amazing stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellevala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Spent 2 nights here. Average place, old and dated, but clean!

Town centre is a short drive. Can see plenty of other hotel options around - which looks much better (at least externally).

Not really value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConradTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
2.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Property: Earnslaw Lodge
Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Vicki and Steven are your hosts and wish to ensure that your stay at Earnslaw Lodge is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing