We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at the Earnslaw Lodge 3 nights and loved it. We had a second floor room with a balcony that overlooked the lake and mountains. What a fabulous view. The hotel is small and quaint and in a convenient location for walking to downtown Queenstown. The hotel offers a continental breakfast and also has a guest laundry. The owners are lovely, so helpful and accommodating. We throughly enjoyed our stay here and would return again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel have a fabulous view of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the kind words. We only have 5 tables for breakfast, so we have time to stop and talk and have a coffee with the guests. Glad you enjoyed, Look forward to perhaps hosting you again.

Lynley and the team at Earnslaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    161
    37
    15
    3
See reviews for
94
192
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We had a comfortable stay and chose this hotel as it was a cheaper one in Queenstown, a pricey town, which was the only hotel which offered two apartments with two showers for our 5 adults. The good points are well documented in past reviews, good view, clean, comfortable, friendly hosts. I would like to add - very well maintained flower beds

One downside, mentioned by other reviewers, is no free internet for the high price we paid for the two rooms for two nights, we were supposedly allocated a measly 15 minute free internet then had to walk to purchase cards for extra time at a high price. The receptionist/owner had to be called when anything needed to be done at the front desk. This is not in keeping with hotels and hotels in other parts of the world and country in this day and age. The free recently allowed 15 minute connection was spotty in spite of the expensively regulated internet system installed, they should scrap this clever internet watch-gaurd with clumsy logging in procedures, and claim back the money spent on the installed system and give guests free internet with the refunded money

There is a hidden $30 surcharge if you arrive after 9pm as the establishment is operated by an aged couple who do not like to be disturbed after 9pm. We were not informed of this.

One room had a single power point where we had to unplug the old non-Sky TV to plug the kettle, other reviewers have complained of this, it would be easy to replace the single socket to a double socket power point.

There was no cleaning for the next day we stayed, only change of towels, there should have been a price differential for the non-servicing of the second day stay.

We booked direct as hotel booking engines limited apartments to 4 persons, the booking done directly was done efficiently but no discount was allowed.

The stay in Queenstown was enjoyed by our guests but could have been better if these small points,which other reviewers have addressed, were looked at.

Room Tip: Rooms are cold as the owners limit the time the banging wall radiator are fed with hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Beautiful view from our room. Room was spacious, very reasonably priced for Queenstown, close to city centre. We were able to do our washing in the laundry on site after walking the Milford Track. We stayed one night before our walk and the motel minded our main luggage for us for five days until we came back and stayed one more night. No complaints from us at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Marie

Thank you for the kind words, glad that we could offer a service whilst staying with us. Hope the rest of the holiday went well.

Lynley and Phillip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We booked directly with the motel

reasons for booking

1] Seemed a perfect location if you have a hire car
2] Very helpful email response from Lynley , the host .
3] Fairly decent room rates for what seemed huge rooms with basic tea / coffee and toaster .

Reasons for recommending

1] all of the above
2] Lovely flowers and very sunny atmosphere
3] stunning views of the Lake and Remarkables - you have a ringside view of all the activity on the Lake .
4] Easy walking to the town centre , a very scenic stroll along the Queenstown Garden
5] No noise from the highway [ we were in a lake facing room ]
6] Adequate parking in front and more in the backlot

There was no microwave in the room . Probably the one in the breakfast area was a common utility . We did not bother to find out .

The rate was 169 NZD for a triple lake facing studio and booking well in advance cost us somewhat more than closer to date . Very unusual but since the hotel was full on arrival , this strange pricing policy was overlooked as relatively inconsequential .

Room Tip: Room 5 is the best room as it is at the end of the common balcony , so no one passes across .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dranujkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Our stay at this hotel was slightly spoiled by a rather abrupt, "take it or leave it" attitude from the receptionist. However, the hotel does have fantastic views across the lake to the mountains beyond. Unfortunately we had a ground floor room, the views get progressively better as you go higher, none the less we had very nice views. The rooms are spacious and have all the facilities you need, although our first room was a little spartan and consequently not terribly welcoming. We had to move after our first night because we were told that the room had been booked by a regular customer, although nobody eventually arrived to fill the room so we have no idea what that was about, and we had other issues with which the receptionist was not very helpful. However, that aside it was basically a good hotel and quite reasonably priced for Queenstown, particularly considering the excellent views. We would stay again. We note that other people had a much friendlier experience, so it probably depends which receptionist happens to be on duty!

Room Tip: You get better views from rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Spacious comfortable clean room. Good choice of breakfast and good value. Lynley and Phil were very friendly and looked after everyone with great care. Beautiful views from balcony and 10 min walk into "town" where the restaurants were but opposite a hotel which had a good restaurant too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for the review always nice that you managed to make the stay enjoyable. We love meeting all the interesting people and hearing about their holiday in New Zealand
If ever back in Queenstown love for you to call in

Lynley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

A very helpful service, had request for a room for easy access and they had gove a great one for us. simple and easy. great on value. we had take a triple room with great scenery of the lake. I will come bck and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canus86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Property: Earnslaw Lodge
Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Vicki and Steven are your hosts and wish to ensure that your stay at Earnslaw Lodge is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing