We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room close to town centre”
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights in early Nov 2013. Upon arrival pleasantly surprised to find we had a huge room with small fridge, a balcony (shared by all who are on the rear 2nd floor facing the lake as it is also a walkway). Great view of the lake. They also offer a reasonably priced breakfast. But best of all was that it was only a 10 minute walk to the town center where most of the activity is so we did not have to drive or take a bus. Also, only 10 minutes to the Queenstown airport, via car or bus. The owners have a laundry for guests (coin operated) and provide a free nightly movie on the TV in your room. They were very helpful at recommending and booking side trips at prices as good or better than the agencies in town. The bus picked us up right across the street for our trip to Milford sound. Very knowledgeable and friendly hosts! The cinder block construction turned me off at first but an older building gives you a bigger room! Very clean and well maintained place. Good mattress but pillows were very flat.

Room Tip: No elevator so you must go up steps with your bags if on the second floor. If your request a lake v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HankFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Affordable accommodation, with great lake views and a short walking distance to town center. Rooms were spacious, and always clean. We stayed 4 nights in Queenstown, and it was just perfect. Extremely friendly service

Room Tip: Pick a room with lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naleiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Yes this was a very special place with excellent views. The prices were far better than some of the places across the road or next door. The latter places crazy wifi plans where they would hook you into expensive plans. Not the Earnslaw. Highly recommended. At times I was thinking I was in Banf (Canada) no I was in Queenstown New Zealand a far better place and value for money.

Room Tip: You need to give this place a go far better than going to the large conglomerates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great place to stay after handing back our motorhomes after 3weeks touring. Very helpful and friendly host. Could not do enough for us. Fantastic views. Picture postcard. Clean spacious rooms. Walking distance to Queenstown CBD which suited us as we did not have a vehicle. Shuttle bus pickup right outside to airport. Great breakfast in a relaxing, stress free environment. We will definitely be back. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hi

We are so pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed the motel accommodation. Our staff have been in Queenstown a long time which does make a difference. We are always happy to share our knowledge so that you enjoy your stay.

Lynlwey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

views - incredible mountains & lake;
location - 10 minute walk to town;
value - ultra reasonable tariff;
cleanliness - so very good;
friendliness - yes
tourism info - stacks.
Excellent motel-style accommodation.

Room Tip: request mountain/lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaeaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for the review. We are pleased thet you enjoyed your stay and that we could tick all your boxes.
We hope that we can see you again.


Lynley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A perfect place to stay for our last night in Queenstown. Clean, friendly motel with views too good to be true. Lake view room a must. Wonderful breakfast and extremely friendly service. Lovely short walk into town. We will definitely be booking for our next stay in Queenstown. Wish we had found this place earlier

Room Tip: Must get lake view room. Well worth the extra $'s
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thanks for your review.

We are pleased you found the motel to your liking. The team at Earnslaw Lodge maybe small but we like when we have people leave the motel happy.

Many thanks

Lynley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is well-situated on the lake, just a little outside of the main area, but a very short walk to all the bars and restaurants. A very spacious room and clean with everything we needed. The person at reception was always very helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here. We only stayed for two nights, but this would be a great base if you were staying longer as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1.5 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#35 of 59 in Queenstown
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#38 of 59 in Queenstown
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £77 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Vicki and Steven are your hosts and wish to ensure that your stay at Earnslaw Lodge is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing