We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base”
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights. Very convenient location. Tour buses pick up from across the road and the local town to airport bus stop is right outside. Don't bother with airport shuttles or taxis as the $8 bus route11 is more than adequate. It's an easy 10min walk to town and the local bus company's routes are good so I don't think you need to hire a car. We had a lake view with kitchenette which was spacious,clean and well equipped. Pity the kitchenette rooms are on the lower level as a large bush mars the view from being as open as it could be.
I would happily stay here again. Beds were good but pillows too soft and flat. Only gripe is the wifi. The motel is promoted as giving 15mins free per day (on their leaflet), but when we enquired we were told to buy a card. This was cheap, so not a big negative, more a matter of principle. Everywhere else we stayed on our southern travels gave unlimited free wifi.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jsdkoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in early November.
The rooms were fairly basic, but clean and overall we thought it was good value for money. The owners were really friendly and helpful in advising us where to go and what to do. They even lent us a toaster to make our own breakfast.
We didn't get lake view rooms, but wish we had! Definitely worth the extra few dollars.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHKGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The spacious rooms, great views, convenient location, and friendly service from owners, Philip and Lynley make this a good base in Queenstown. Owners are happy to help you find and book the best activities. The buses all stop right in front of the hotel, so everything is very convenient. It is about a ten minute walk into town, so you wouldn't want a hotel any farther away unless you have a car and a bigger budget.

Room Tip: Rooms on Lake side have spectacular views. Rooms on roadside can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atmananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights in early Nov 2013. Upon arrival pleasantly surprised to find we had a huge room with small fridge, a balcony (shared by all who are on the rear 2nd floor facing the lake as it is also a walkway). Great view of the lake. They also offer a reasonably priced breakfast. But best of all was that it was only a 10 minute walk to the town center where most of the activity is so we did not have to drive or take a bus. Also, only 10 minutes to the Queenstown airport, via car or bus. The owners have a laundry for guests (coin operated) and provide a free nightly movie on the TV in your room. They were very helpful at recommending and booking side trips at prices as good or better than the agencies in town. The bus picked us up right across the street for our trip to Milford sound. Very knowledgeable and friendly hosts! The cinder block construction turned me off at first but an older building gives you a bigger room! Very clean and well maintained place. Good mattress but pillows were very flat.

Room Tip: No elevator so you must go up steps with your bags if on the second floor. If your request a lake v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HankFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Affordable accommodation, with great lake views and a short walking distance to town center. Rooms were spacious, and always clean. We stayed 4 nights in Queenstown, and it was just perfect. Extremely friendly service

Room Tip: Pick a room with lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naleiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Yes this was a very special place with excellent views. The prices were far better than some of the places across the road or next door. The latter places crazy wifi plans where they would hook you into expensive plans. Not the Earnslaw. Highly recommended. At times I was thinking I was in Banf (Canada) no I was in Queenstown New Zealand a far better place and value for money.

Room Tip: You need to give this place a go far better than going to the large conglomerates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great place to stay after handing back our motorhomes after 3weeks touring. Very helpful and friendly host. Could not do enough for us. Fantastic views. Picture postcard. Clean spacious rooms. Walking distance to Queenstown CBD which suited us as we did not have a vehicle. Shuttle bus pickup right outside to airport. Great breakfast in a relaxing, stress free environment. We will definitely be back. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hi

We are so pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed the motel accommodation. Our staff have been in Queenstown a long time which does make a difference. We are always happy to share our knowledge so that you enjoy your stay.

Lynlwey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1.5 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#39 of 59 in Queenstown
305 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,648 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £69 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Vicki and Steven are your hosts and wish to ensure that your stay at Earnslaw Lodge is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing