We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Earnslaw Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Scenic Suites Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$219
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$171
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$129
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$418
US$388
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Matakauri Lodge(Queenstown)
US$1,487
US$1,440
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
181
174
38
19
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
174
38
19
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake facingshared balconytown centreminute walkno liftmilford trackbig roombit datedbus stopsuperb viewsnew zealandstay there againgood sizelaundry roomtop flooroff street parkingmilford sound
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have stayed 4 nite here and this is the best stay I have in new zealand as I travelled to franz joseph, christchurch and auckland. Cannot find any other view same as here. The lodge located just right next to the lake, very quiet and yet convenient. Bus stop is at door front and 5 minutes you are at down town. Room was basic yet room amenities are well equipped. Heater works fine. Plenty of travel information. And thanks Lily staying up late as I arrived at almost 8pm !

Room Tip: select a lake room view if you can !
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricemaster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Hi

We are pleased you had a great stay, enjoyed the motel accommodation. The views are something special. We are lucky to have a bus service at the door.
Hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip


Lynley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here from 16th-20th November 2013, very convenient location with just a short walk into town, and the airport bus stops right outside ready for when you have to leave at just $8, much better than taxi's which are ridiculously priced!

The rooms are basic but have pretty much all you need, and extra facilities such as microwave or toaster can be requested. The owners are very helpful and friendly and made our stay as pleasant as they possibly could.

We didn't have a lakeview room but it wasn't a problem as you could still access the balcony overlooking the lake from the bar area, the same as the lake view rooms.

All in all, great stay, no hassle, great owners - couldn't have asked for much more!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights. Very convenient location. Tour buses pick up from across the road and the local town to airport bus stop is right outside. Don't bother with airport shuttles or taxis as the $8 bus route11 is more than adequate. It's an easy 10min walk to town and the local bus company's routes are good so I don't think you need to hire a car. We had a lake view with kitchenette which was spacious,clean and well equipped. Pity the kitchenette rooms are on the lower level as a large bush mars the view from being as open as it could be.
I would happily stay here again. Beds were good but pillows too soft and flat. Only gripe is the wifi. The motel is promoted as giving 15mins free per day (on their leaflet), but when we enquired we were told to buy a card. This was cheap, so not a big negative, more a matter of principle. Everywhere else we stayed on our southern travels gave unlimited free wifi.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jsdkoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in early November.
The rooms were fairly basic, but clean and overall we thought it was good value for money. The owners were really friendly and helpful in advising us where to go and what to do. They even lent us a toaster to make our own breakfast.
We didn't get lake view rooms, but wish we had! Definitely worth the extra few dollars.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a lake view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHKGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The spacious rooms, great views, convenient location, and friendly service from owners, Philip and Lynley make this a good base in Queenstown. Owners are happy to help you find and book the best activities. The buses all stop right in front of the hotel, so everything is very convenient. It is about a ten minute walk into town, so you wouldn't want a hotel any farther away unless you have a car and a bigger budget.

Room Tip: Rooms on Lake side have spectacular views. Rooms on roadside can be a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atmananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews