We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great rooms, comfortable beds, awesome view of mountains, forests and the main lake if your room at the back. Ours was on the roadside but we could still see the lake from the window. Great view .What's also good is the close proximity to the Queenstown Town Centre, about a 5 minute walk. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good and reasonbally priced breakfast. Certainly a recommended place. We would stay there again if go to Queenstown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSundar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great rooms, comfortable beds, awesome view of mountains, forests and the main lake.

What's also good is the close proximity to the Queenstown Town Centre, about a 5 minute walk.

Certainly a recommended place.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicko F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in February in a lake facing kitchen studio. We were warmly welcomed by Linley and were able to park almost outside our room to save us carrying our luggage far. The room was spotlessly clean and very spacious. also good shower facility. We had a lovely view of the lake even though we were on the ground floor. about a ten min walk into town, bit of a climb on way back! Queenstown is a beautiful place, if we ever go back we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed 5 nights and found the rooms clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is a little way from the centre of town but there is a public bus that picks you up right outside the door. The views of the lake are well worth being away from the hustle and bustle of the restaurants and bars. There is car parking available on site which is something that seems to be lacking in other hotels in Queenstown.

Room Tip: It is well worth paying a little extra for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We only stayed two nights but found the lodge to be everything we expected. Clean rooms, friendly staff, car parks, and although I didn't have breakfast it sure did smell good. I think location is it's best asset, 5 min walk from centre of town

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjasylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Earnslaw Lodge in January for 2 nights and we had a great time. The rooms are very clean, nicely decorated and spacious. When we walked in we were warmly welcomed by the owners. As we were traveling with a 1 year old, they were very helpful in offering us a cot and toys for him to play with.
We had one of the cheaper rooms which didn't have the lake view. That didn't bother us, but if you have the change: the lake view rooms are awesome. We had a change to have a look in one of them and it's amazing. Don't get me wrong, we had views of the mountains which was great too. We had a room on the top floor all the way to the left (I think is was 6, but not sure), so only neighbors on one side. It's not noisy at all and we didn't hear any of the other guests. They might have heard us, because of the little one, but no complaints so far.
The town is about a 10 minute walk away as are the Queenstown Gardens, which are beautiful.
We had a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay here again. Thanks for the great experience.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view room, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RowenaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and enjoyed every moment. The room was very spacious with an amazing view. Only a short walk to town and the hosts are more than happy to accommodate any requests. We booked all our Queenstown activities through the reception which made everything so easy. Very reasonable rates for the room, view and location. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Recommend the lake view rooms. Beware of the thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,201 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,476 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#39 of 58 in Queenstown
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £72 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Vicki and Steven are your hosts and wish to ensure that your stay at Earnslaw Lodge is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing