We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
bluegrass
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We only stayed one night in Earnslaw Lodge as we were en route to Te Anau, but thoroughly enjoyed our short time there. Friendly hosts, large spacious room that was comfortable and clean with awesome views. My husband got the full breakfast in the morning and said is was great. I got scrambled eggs, toast and coffee for $6 which was good as well. Short walk into town, easy parking on main street and no traffic noise at all. Would absolutely stay there again. Nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urser5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    156
    35
    15
    3
See reviews for
93
185
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great view and location, Room 17 with Kitchen, view was stunning, Opening door and window was an added bonus. Bathroom Fan was a bit annoying as it was connected together with the light switch. Staff were very helpful and polite. Would stay again if chance presents itself.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for room with a view . It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed there 3 nights with a room with kitchen and view on the lake.
Quiet room, despite the proximity of the main road, and nicely spacious.
We had a nice view, though that can probably be said of most of the properties in Queenstown, seeing that they all face the lake.
The motel is a good 10-15min walk to the city centre, so fine but probably not a location I'd choose in a colder season.
The main problem was the fan in the bathroom: it was extremely noisy and was making the toilet quite cold, but it couldn't be switched off as it was tied to the lights… This was so unpleasant and irritating that I removed 1 "star" in my rating due to that only.
The beds were too soft, but that was the case in the other 5 places we've stayed at in the south island, so it seems kind of a national standard unfortunately…

Room Tip: Room with view on the lake do have a nice view, on the other hand it seems that rooms facing the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoine977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Warm welcome, everything we needed. Able to open door and window and have fresh air.Superb view.Room was homely and relaxing, not like a hotel.Owners treat you like friends.Able to organise any activities for you with pick up. 10 minute walk from centre of Queenstown. Quiet at night so slept very well.
Bus at door. Good availability of tracks to run or walk, including through Queenstown Gardens.Ice skating close too.Plenty of things to do nearby including a visit to Saturday market.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great rooms, comfortable beds, awesome view of mountains, forests and the main lake if your room at the back. Ours was on the roadside but we could still see the lake from the window. Great view .What's also good is the close proximity to the Queenstown Town Centre, about a 5 minute walk. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good and reasonbally priced breakfast. Certainly a recommended place. We would stay there again if go to Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HSundar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great rooms, comfortable beds, awesome view of mountains, forests and the main lake.

What's also good is the close proximity to the Queenstown Town Centre, about a 5 minute walk.

Certainly a recommended place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicko F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in February in a lake facing kitchen studio. We were warmly welcomed by Linley and were able to park almost outside our room to save us carrying our luggage far. The room was spotlessly clean and very spacious. also good shower facility. We had a lovely view of the lake even though we were on the ground floor. about a ten min walk into town, bit of a climb on way back! Queenstown is a beautiful place, if we ever go back we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Property: Earnslaw Lodge
Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Our house bar is open from 4pm each day offering amazing views and great value drinks for our in-house guests. Lynley and Phillip are your hosts and they have years of experience in the motel industry in Queenstown, ensuring your looked after and able to make the most of your stay at Earnslaw Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing