We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow View”
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment which suited our needs admirably. First thing we noticed was the wow view of the Remarkables and lake from the apartment, it was stunning. The unit was clean and the beds were 1st class. The motel was easy to find with good parking. The proprietor Lynley Jones was very helpful and friendly. The walk down to town was easy, but not so the walk up, we got a taxi! We recommend this motel and will stay again when we revisit this beautiful part of NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvertop70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Earnslaw Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is not a luxury hotel but it is very clean and nicely located. Perfect for families who want to get out and enjoy Queenstown but not be in center city, and have space to spread out after a long day of activities. Management staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 19 & 20 to accomodate our family of 6 and it had fantastic views of the lake, easy a...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bnbelliott6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Earnslaw Lodge in a superior studio with lake view. The room was very spacious and nicely decorated with great views over the lake. Queenstown seems to be the most expensive place to stay on the South Island, so I thought this good value for money. Some accomodation I looked at was double the price we paid. The owners were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. We had breakfast every morning which was served piping hot.
The walk into town was lovely but Queenstown does have some steep streets which might be a problem for some visitors. I would not hesitate to recommend this accomodation, and would love to return again on day

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake is a MUST !!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had booked a studio with lakeview on Expedia, but when we arrived, we were told it was not available. The owner told us she had tried to call and left message. We were unhappy with basement room available, so she called all around Queenstown, and found us a lakeside room at nearly equivalent price (which we were very happy with). She gave us a bottle of wine when we left. She turned this into a good situation for us.
I only gave 3 stars because I could not submit my review without some rating. I did not end up staying at the motel.

Room Tip: Lakeview best
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank yobeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We only stayed one night in Earnslaw Lodge as we were en route to Te Anau, but thoroughly enjoyed our short time there. Friendly hosts, large spacious room that was comfortable and clean with awesome views. My husband got the full breakfast in the morning and said is was great. I got scrambled eggs, toast and coffee for $6 which was good as well. Short walk into town, easy parking on main street and no traffic noise at all. Would absolutely stay there again. Nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for room with lake view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urser5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great view and location, Room 17 with Kitchen, view was stunning, Opening door and window was an added bonus. Bathroom Fan was a bit annoying as it was connected together with the light switch. Staff were very helpful and polite. Would stay again if chance presents itself.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for room with a view . It is well worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed there 3 nights with a room with kitchen and view on the lake.
Quiet room, despite the proximity of the main road, and nicely spacious.
We had a nice view, though that can probably be said of most of the properties in Queenstown, seeing that they all face the lake.
The motel is a good 10-15min walk to the city centre, so fine but probably not a location I'd choose in a colder season.
The main problem was the fan in the bathroom: it was extremely noisy and was making the toilet quite cold, but it couldn't be switched off as it was tied to the lights… This was so unpleasant and irritating that I removed 1 "star" in my rating due to that only.
The beds were too soft, but that was the case in the other 5 places we've stayed at in the south island, so it seems kind of a national standard unfortunately…

Room Tip: Room with view on the lake do have a nice view, on the other hand it seems that rooms facing the oth...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoine977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
3.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Queenstown
Bella Vista Queenstown
#10 of 58 in Queenstown
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £71 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Vicki and Steven are your hosts and wish to ensure that your stay at Earnslaw Lodge is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing