We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Millon Dollar View”
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We booked this motel after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advsior and were not disappointed. Lynley was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the lake, definitely a million dollar view. It was pure joy sitting on the balcony sipping a glass of wine and enjoying the breathtaking view. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sussex14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Earnslaw Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

We selected this motel because their website claimed a wonderful view. We were not disappointed. From our small balcony we had a 270 degree view of Lake Wakatipu surrounded by snow-capped mountains. We spent 4 nights in Apartment # 2 which is on the corner of the upper floor. Two bedrooms, dining/sitting room, bathroom and kitchenette all adequately furnished and equipped. We did not use the cooking equipment or avail of the motel's restaurant or bar as we preferred the 15 minute downhill walk into the town centre where there is a wide range of restaurants and bars. The uphill walk back after a few drinks was challenging! Owners were helpful.

Make sure you book a room with a view!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Phikl & Linley were very welcoming, and location is beautiful, with great views over the lake from the balcony. Room was very large, but a little bit dated. Breakfast was provided in their restaurant and they also have a small bar area which is handy. Short pleasant walk into Queenstown. Great restaurants and good shops, with a lovely area around the waterfront.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkfsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The location is perfect and the view from your comfortable bed is spectacular. This motel is a gem. The couple who own it are friendly and incredibly helpful!!!! They are knowledgeable about restaurants and activities in the area, and more than willing to help make reservations. The breakfast is a great value. Though the motel is small, it is cozy and frankly the best stay we had in 2 weeks in NZ. I cannot recommend it more highly for the kind of traveler looking for value, comfort and friendly service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

My wife and I and her parents were in Queenstown for two nights and enjoyed the hospitality of this great motel. (We drove into town [2mins] but it would have been a downhill 10min walk, and 15 uphill walk home.)
We had a two bedroom apartment with a beautiful view of the lake and town (cnr unit).
Very comfortable, well heated, roomy unit, with full kitchen, modern (plain) bathroom, and very clean!
We saved alot of time and energy staying here, as we could have searched around for better and just wasted precious time. Its a one stop spot.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thevagabondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We arrived in the pouring rain and while Lynley booked us in her husband helped get the bags out of the car. Our room opened onto the balcony which looked out over the lake and we were able to see the snow fall on the mountains. Lynley helped us with all our tour bookings and advised us of any specials that were available. She even ran us up to the Gondola instead of us getting a taxi. The rooms were very clean and the bed very comfortable. The lodge is only a 5-10 minute walk from the city centre. The large heater in the room were great for getting the clothes dried on the airers they provided. Would recommend this lodge and would stay again if we returned to Queenstown.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chook60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We have recently had a two night stay at Earnslaw Lodge. We were greeted by a very helpful receptionist with a very cute baby. We were shown to our rooms which were warm, inviting and extemely adaquate. The staff were more than helpful when asking about activities and local knowledge. We were unable to have a cooked breakfast as the chef was away on holiday but we were able to have a continental breakfast which was more than enough. It was a great place to chill and relax. Would reccomend Earnslaw Lodge to anyone needing accomodation and will be planning to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
3.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Queenstown
Bella Vista Queenstown
#10 of 58 in Queenstown
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £71 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Vicki and Steven are your hosts and wish to ensure that your stay at Earnslaw Lodge is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing