We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

Our balcony overlooked the Lake - fantastic views. The room was spacious and comfortable and laundry facilities easily accessible. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. You could walk into the centre of Queenstown but it's by a busy road and a little uphill on the return. Breakfast was good value but you could also use their toaster to make your own.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHEWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    161
    36
    15
    3
See reviews for
94
191
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

This recently built motel is on the main road into Queenstown and a 10-minute walk to the waterfront and the shopping/restaurant precinct.

The parking is behind the hotel and is not apparent when you arrive. It can be a tight squeeze if all the spaces are taken, so you may have to reverse part of the way and then drive down to a rear street. Some rooms have a great view of Lake Wakatipu. A movie is shown on Saturday nights. Cooked or continental breakfasts are available.

Our room was without a view, but that didn't matter. The light paint scheme and white kitchen cupboards and white bedspreads made it look bright and inviting. The usual kitchen appliances and paraphernalia were provided.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trainsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

We booked this motel after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advsior and were not disappointed. Lynley was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the lake, definitely a million dollar view. It was pure joy sitting on the balcony sipping a glass of wine and enjoying the breathtaking view. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussex14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

We selected this motel because their website claimed a wonderful view. We were not disappointed. From our small balcony we had a 270 degree view of Lake Wakatipu surrounded by snow-capped mountains. We spent 4 nights in Apartment # 2 which is on the corner of the upper floor. Two bedrooms, dining/sitting room, bathroom and kitchenette all adequately furnished and equipped. We did not use the cooking equipment or avail of the motel's restaurant or bar as we preferred the 15 minute downhill walk into the town centre where there is a wide range of restaurants and bars. The uphill walk back after a few drinks was challenging! Owners were helpful.

Make sure you book a room with a view!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

Phikl & Linley were very welcoming, and location is beautiful, with great views over the lake from the balcony. Room was very large, but a little bit dated. Breakfast was provided in their restaurant and they also have a small bar area which is handy. Short pleasant walk into Queenstown. Great restaurants and good shops, with a lovely area around the waterfront.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkfsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

The location is perfect and the view from your comfortable bed is spectacular. This motel is a gem. The couple who own it are friendly and incredibly helpful!!!! They are knowledgeable about restaurants and activities in the area, and more than willing to help make reservations. The breakfast is a great value. Though the motel is small, it is cozy and frankly the best stay we had in 2 weeks in NZ. I cannot recommend it more highly for the kind of traveler looking for value, comfort and friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

My wife and I and her parents were in Queenstown for two nights and enjoyed the hospitality of this great motel. (We drove into town [2mins] but it would have been a downhill 10min walk, and 15 uphill walk home.)
We had a two bedroom apartment with a beautiful view of the lake and town (cnr unit).
Very comfortable, well heated, roomy unit, with full kitchen, modern (plain) bathroom, and very clean!
We saved alot of time and energy staying here, as we could have searched around for better and just wasted precious time. Its a one stop spot.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevagabondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Property: Earnslaw Lodge
Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Vicki and Steven are your hosts and wish to ensure that your stay at Earnslaw Lodge is enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing