We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice convenient place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kamas, Utah
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice convenient place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed here twice on our recent trip. I would highly recommend it.
The rooms have fabulous lake views and are large with good kitchens and well appointed. It is a ten minute walk or a two minute drive into town. The price is very reasonable. All in all a great place to stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    156
    35
    15
    3
See reviews for
93
186
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at this Motel for x3 nights and totally enjoyed every second we were there.
And if you get the rear balcony rooms then you won't want to go anywhere else.
Thos panoramic view is to die for.
To your left is "The Remarkables" then past "Cecil Peak" and then Walter Peak" and this is all on the other side of Lake Wakatipu.
The service could not have been better and they even have there own bar, so you don't have to worry about getting a drink. They also have there own restaraunt and off street parking.
And the local bus stops at the front door with only a 10 minute walk to the CBD if you don't want public transport.
This Motel is a must at there prices. I wouldn't stay anywhere else......

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cullodenmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riddells Creek
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

Easy walking access to town, bus route on doorstep. Very friendly hosts, helpful information with places of interest and a good local knowledge.Comfortable and very clean rooms. If travelling without a car, there is a weekly bus pass available which enables un-limited use if the interchange bus system, for $40.00. Much cheaper than a hire car, and with less stress.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spinwych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed in Earnslaw Lodge for 1 night in November 2010. The lodge was about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Queenstown, which meant a quiet location. The room was clean. The shower was a bit weak. The TV signal was good, but there was no DVD player. The bed was OK (there was a spare single bed in the room), and there was space to hang clothes. Reception were very helpful, ringing our bus company to check if they would pick up from the motel, and ordering us a cab.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Italian_Wine_Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

Our balcony overlooked the Lake - fantastic views. The room was spacious and comfortable and laundry facilities easily accessible. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. You could walk into the centre of Queenstown but it's by a busy road and a little uphill on the return. Breakfast was good value but you could also use their toaster to make your own.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHEWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

This recently built motel is on the main road into Queenstown and a 10-minute walk to the waterfront and the shopping/restaurant precinct.

The parking is behind the hotel and is not apparent when you arrive. It can be a tight squeeze if all the spaces are taken, so you may have to reverse part of the way and then drive down to a rear street. Some rooms have a great view of Lake Wakatipu. A movie is shown on Saturday nights. Cooked or continental breakfasts are available.

Our room was without a view, but that didn't matter. The light paint scheme and white kitchen cupboards and white bedspreads made it look bright and inviting. The usual kitchen appliances and paraphernalia were provided.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trainsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

We booked this motel after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advsior and were not disappointed. Lynley was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the lake, definitely a million dollar view. It was pure joy sitting on the balcony sipping a glass of wine and enjoying the breathtaking view. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussex14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Property: Earnslaw Lodge
Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earnslaw Lodge motel in Queenstown, New Zealand is perfectly located only a 10 minute walk from downtown Queenstown's vibrant city centre. Your home away from home, offering luxury views of the Remarkables mountains and Lake Wakatipu. We have range of accommodation options including studios and self contained apartments, most with mountain and lake views. Winter reflects our lodge style accommodation with spacious and cosy self contained studios, all centrally heated, the perfect place to come back to after a day up the ski fields. Summer offers so many different attractions for you to venture out on during the day, all accessible from Earnslaw Lodge, most operators pick up directly outside our reception area. Our breakfast restaurant is open each morning from 7am until 9am offering continental and cooked options. Our house bar is open from 4pm each day offering amazing views and great value drinks for our in-house guests. Lynley and Phillip are your hosts and they have years of experience in the motel industry in Queenstown, ensuring your looked after and able to make the most of your stay at Earnslaw Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing