We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family”
Review of Glebe Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glebe Apartments
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for a family”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The apartments are great for a family. We travelled with my inlaws, hubby and 3 yo son and stayed at a 2bdrm apartment. The apartment is in walking distance to all of Queenstown. My 3yo enjoyed walking into down and for dinner. They also have a toy room for the little ones.

Only hiccup was that the heating was not working the first night there. The manager gave us extra heaters and ensured that it was fixed the next day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieBludger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    98
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
237
115
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our group consisted of 6 families and we all were all super impressed with our lovely apartments and would highly recommend and would definetley stay here again. The location is fantastic, the apartments are wonderfully self contained with everything you need if you choose to cook meals - it was just like being at home fantastic

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here around Easter time. The room was beautiful, the bed was so comfortable and the staff extremely helpful. They had forgotten to refill our supplies one day, ie coffee, tea and shampoo and we just asked the room service staff, who were happy to oblige. Great location for the centre of town and all amenities. We walked out to dinner every night on our stay. Would have no hesitation in recommending these apartments.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsonandcleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is about as central as you can possibly get in Q'town. We stayed for a week with our young kids, and found it ideally located, and equipped with everything you need.

Fully equipped kitchen, laundry, and everything was very well-designed. Love the heated towel rail, and underfloor heating in the bathroom. You could live here for months! We left the car in the car park most evenings, and strolled into town to sample the amazing food on offer. It's also walking distance to the Alpine Supermarket, where you can stock up on supplies, fresh fruit, etc. Plus, most places will deliver food to you, so we had pizza on our first night.

We rented a 2-bedroom apartment (304), and appreciated the free Wi-Fi, cleanliness and accessibility. Next time, I would ask for a lake view room, and away from the passage / lifts, as you could hear the doors late at night (or first thing in the morning, ski boots tramping outside). Also, the beds are very soft, so it took a few nights to get used to for me.

Overall, a really convenient and well-appointed apartment.

Room Tip: Lake view if available. Stay away from ground floor facing onto courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ultrafunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a good stay here in the 1 bedroom courtyard apartment. The front door and bedroom windows were facing the courtyard, and the apartment also had large windows facing the road with a view of the mountains and partial view of the lake. We didn't really get to enjoy the view as the room was directly above the car park entrance and quite close to the street - so had to keep the privacy shades/curtains closed the whole time as you can see right into the room from the road & the courtyard. The apartment was spacious, clean, well lit and contained everything we needed, including a washing machine and dryer which was great! We also had 2gb of free wifi since we stayed over 3 nights. The only minor problem we had was a very musty smell in the apartment, the staff kindly left us with a large can of air freshener and also plugged in an ozone air purifier a few days later. Unfortunately, I think that smell is infused into the fabrics of the apartment. There is a short sharp hill, but not it's not that bad - just take it slow! Overall we had a great stay here and would recommend for the location and a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nn000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lot of nice things have been said about this apartment and I agree with most of them but there are several factors which have not been highlighted and I think these issues are important for taking an informed decision.

1. This apartment is on a steep incline and it is tough to drag your luggage up during bad weather or if you are not in best of health.
2. This is not an apartment on the lake front. You do however get a distant view of the lake over some tin roofs from the lake view rooms.
3. Some of the house keeping staff, like the ones that came on 26th May, are extremely rude and incompetent. They charge $35 for cleaning but only change towels, make bed and walk away.
4. The passage from the elevator to the room is not regularly cleaned and the sensor operated lighting is erratic. Just when you need the light most to swipe in to your apartment it goes off leaving you in pitched darkness to fend for with your own senses.
5. The heater in the room didn’t work when it was snowing outside. It stopped on its own but never started on its own making it very cold inside. Complaints fell into deaf ears and brought some weird patronizing suggestion like ‘if it doesn’t come back put it on manually’.

The apartment is centrally located and all restaurants and shops are a walk away.

All in all a confortable place but I would research a little more next time.

Room Tip: Lake side is far from lake so dont pay more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suvabrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneHenley, Manager at Glebe Apartments, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found our apartments comfortable and centrally located. Also very pleased that you agreed with most of the comments from other happy guests.

With regard to your issues.
1/ We are at the bottom of the hill and there is many hotels and motels at the top. There is a slight incline and it could pose a problem if you are not in the best of health. Every street in Queenstown poses a problem when there is bad weather.
2/ We do not advertise that we are on the lake front. There is many pictures and videos on our website that show the exact views and you can also see the distance to the lake.
3/I am sorry you found staff not up to your standard. I will talk to the housekeeper with regard to your comments. You were explained by email what is involved when we do a daily service. We do not clean up after guests cooking. We make the beds, change the towels, restock teas, coffees etc and remove the garbage.
4/ I will have our maintenance man check the sensors. If you had of mentioned this we could have had it checked on the day.
5/We did check the gas heater and it was working.

Regards

Anne Henley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very large apartments and well equipped could not fault them there was everything you needed and its a good location a short walk to shops and all the amenities . Its on a hill which is steep so if you have mobility problems might be a problem

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Apartments

Property: Glebe Apartments
Address: 1 Beetham Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glebe Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 minute walk to town, full apartments and penthouses. We are locals with many years experience and we would love to help with our knowledge of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glebe Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glebe Apartments Queenstown
Glebe Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing