We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impersonal, bland and parking was a nightmare!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaks Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Shores
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very impersonal, bland and parking was a nightmare!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at Oak Shores over New Year and while, as is understandable the hotel was booked to capacity the staff were pleasant but gave the impression of not really wanting to be there. The majority were not actively unhelpful, but just didn't seem to want to provide that extra special stay for their clients. We had to ask for our room to be serviced twice before it was done (this excluded New Years day when we were advised there would be a skeleton staff). Parking was a nightmare given the hotel was fully booked, but one would have expected enough parking for each room the hotel had. This was clearly not the case. The staff also erected hand made signs threatening that guests cars would be towed if they were found to be parked in areas dictated by the staff as no-parking areas. If you do chose to stay here don't book a double room. Our was dingy and dark with a sliver of daylight and felt like a comfortable cell, but a cell none the less. All in all we wouldn't stay here again, just a feeling of 'we cant really be bothered' from the team and no real effort to correct issues with a smile.

Room Tip: Don't book a double room. In fact just don't book a room at all, go somewhere else until it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landyman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I appreciate your feedback and apologise about the level of service you received during your stay. I assure you that this is not typical of the staff we have at Oaks Shores and is not acceptable. This will be addressed with our front desk staff immediately.
Unfortunately, at peak times of the year there is a large influx of additional cars to Queenstown, as people use one or more vehicles to enjoy the beautiful scenery of New Zealand during summer. This does mean that our usually-ample free of charge car park is filled up much more quickly. We do however, offer additional car parking at the top of our driveway there is a local street approximately a 3 min walk away that is available to park in as well. The reason signs were erected was due to a safety issue with cars previously having parked in areas that could cause accidents on the driveway.
It sounds like you stayed in one of our hotel rooms. These are our smallest room types and do have limited views of the lakes. The majority of our other rooms are larger with full kitchen and laundry facilities and uninterrupted views of the lake.
I do apologise for the issues that you had during your stay and hope that you do choose to come back to Oaks Shores in the future!

Kindest regards,

Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    242
    112
    67
    41
See reviews for
232
328
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment. It's spacious and has an excellent view of the lake. 2 minutes' walk and you'll be able to get to a trail along the lake shore. A very good walk. Good for families and for people preparing to cook their breakfasts. Location is also pretty good on the condition that you drive. Just about 5 minutes' drive from the city centre; easy to find.
But there are problems too. Shortage of parking space is a very serious problem. We checked in during the new year period and the hotel was full. It was at least short of 5-10 parking space and that created a lot of problems for the customers. House-keeping was below standard. A lot to bge improved. Otherwise, it's OK. For people who intend to spend quite a bit of time in their apartment so that you'll have the time to enjoy the lake view.

Room Tip: I'll say higher floors so that you won't be disturbed by people doing morning exercise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bally1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the size of our two bedroom apartments and that you were able to take advantage of the beautiful lakeside walking track into town!
Unfortunately, at peak times of the year there is a large influx of additional cars to Queenstown, as people use one or more vehicles to enjoy the beautiful scenery of New Zealand during summer.
This does mean that our usually-ample free of charge car park is filled up much more quickly. We do however, offer additional car parking at the top of our driveway and as you mention, there is a local street approximately a 3 min walk away that is available to park in as well.
I am disappointed to hear that you had issues regarding the housekeeping service during your stay and apologise that these issues were not sorted out for you.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Oaks Shore sits on the shore of Lake Wakatipu. Absolutely stunning views of The Remarkables. The two bedroom suite was extremely spacious, with great cooking facilities, plus laundry in room. The kingsize room was at the front and very comfortable. The twin bedroom was set on the inside of the main room and had no natural light and was extremely stuffy, with no ventilation. The takeaway food offered by the restaurant was tasty and good value for money. 30 mins stroll to town or we jumped on the free shuttle bus. Would stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms that look onto the lake are the winners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am so pleased to hear that your stay was fantastic and you enjoyed the views and room offerings! The view from the apartments really is something special!
Unfortunately the back rooms is some of the apartments can be quite hot during summer. If this is the case we do have spare fans at reception.
I am glad that you enjoyed the restaurant and found the shuttle bus convenient!
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We checked into our room early January and had a great stay!
Although the building is a little bit confusing to get around its the way it was built and we certainly got the hang of it after the first day! The staff do a pretty good job of explaining the rate race!
There were a lot of cars around when we were there but the car parking is free so cant complain too much!
Housekeeping did miss a service for us but we called reception and they had extra towels that we grabbed on our way out to dinner. Not a big issue...
Maybe a little bit overpriced for being out of Queenstown but we certainly made use of the kitchen facilities and beautiful walk into town. Took about 30 mins.
The furnishings do need to be updated though, they are getting old and tacky.
We will be back!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrawr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am glad that you were able to work out the building layout in the time that you were here and enjoyed the beautiful walk into town!
I apologise that housekeeping did miss a service during your stay but I am happy to hear that the front desk team were able to organise some extra towels for you.
Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel does not offer good quality for money and we would not recommend it.
- The rooms are located along dormitory-like gloomy corridors.
- The route to the room was impossibly complicated, we had to take two different elevators and walk through a garage in between with no signs apart from faded painted footsteps on the ground.
- Despite booking info of daily cleaning, there is none on public holidays. Our stay was at a time there were two of these in a row and our room was not cleaned for two days.
- The wifi pricing is outragous: $10 for two hours.
- Breakfast at $17 per person was a buffet of shriveled sausages, soggy scrambled eggs, grim buns, packed bread and terrible coffee with nothing fresh.
- There are only a few parking places (roughly 50 for 150 rooms) at the end of a very steep windy driveway in a garage. These get taken early and driving back up the narrow lane with oncoming traffic and cars parked on either side was a challenge we would not care to repeat.
- The shuttle shuttle bus to central Queenstown operates only a few times a day and is often fully booked. Walking to the center takes more than 30 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Senjala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
Unfortunately the layout of the hotel can be a bit confusing at times but we do try to explain this in detail on check in and on maps located in the elevators. The way the building is designed does allow for magnificent views of the lake and Remarkables though!
Feedback from guests over a number of years has clearly identified that whilst staying in the hotel on Public Holidays, guests would prefer to enjoy their day undisturbed. Although there is no servicing available, ample additional supplies are available at reception on such days.
We do offer free 30 mins wifi per room per day which can be used by up to three devices at once.
I apologise for the experience that you had in the restaurant for breakfast. The state of the food you describe is unacceptable and I will be following this up with the staff in the restaurant immediately.
I do apologise for the issues that you had during your stay and hope that you do choose to come back to Oaks Shores in the future!

Kindest regards,

Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

You will certainly find much better for the price in Queenstown.

I stayed here with family over New Year. It was disappointing. The view is amazing - there it ends.

On arrival there was Mcdonalds bags on the balcony and a poo in the loo!! Seriously. Granted we were refunded one nights accommodation for this. The place was grubby on arrival - imagine after 4 nights.

However in those 4 days the room was not cleaned once. The room service arrived at 6 in the evening gave us new towels (when we asked) and emptied the bin. On asking for beds to be made it was an awful attempt (my 9yr old does better). Over the 4 days things needed attention - like the carpet vacuuming bathrooms wiping, etc. This did not happen.

The insinkorator/ food grinder smelt bad. It didn't work. I fixed this and removed a moldy corn cob. Yuk. The water tap was broken and kept falling off. We were not given enough pillows and had to find more. None in the room. The bed configuration was incorrect and had to be change on arrival. Soaps etc were never filled up. We ran out of dish wash liquid and dishwasher powder.

Car parking--- don't ask. Dreadful.

I was in the back room. It has no opening windows. All night long it is bright as the only window goes onto the hallway and has a large fluoro light shining on your bed - the white blinds don't help much. Worst suffocating nights sleep ever. Took to the sofa on a couple of nights.

Both bathrooms have no extractor fan and set the smoke alarm off because of the steam. My shower drenched my bathroom floor so I had wet feet whenever I went in there, yet in adequate towels to mop this up. I had to go to reception one day to get more towels as their towels are tiny.

Anyway, had I have read trip advisor before booking I wouldn't have gone as the service appears to be an ongoing issue NOT a one off. The manager says they are on to it but previous reviews don't support this. Only bonus was the refund, however including this it was too expensive for what you get.

Could be really nice but starting to get run down. Come on guys sort it out.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Patsicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am disappointed to hear that you had so many issues regarding the cleanliness of the apartment during your stay and apologise that these issues were not sorted out for you.
I am glad that I had a chance to talk to you at check out and get the details of your booking so as to follow up with the Housekeeping Manager.
Happy New Year and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Has so much potential. Lazy housekeeping staff ruined our stay. We stayed here 4 years earlier & experience was much better. This time sheets werent changed from prior guests - gross; carpet hadnt been vacced; gross ashtray wasnt emptied; dirty wet bath mat left from prior guest; toilet wasnt cleaned... Etc. not worth the high rates they are charging. Such a pity.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scb222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am disappointed to hear that you had so many issues regarding the cleanliness of the apartment on your arrival. This certainly not something that is standard within the Oaks Group.
I am unable to comment any further regarding the issues you mention as I cannot locate your booking in our system.
I would welcome additional information from you regarding your booking so I can investigate these unacceptable matters. I can be contacted on hmshores@theoaksgroup.co.nz.
I appreciate your feedback and apologise about the housekeeping standard you were exposed to.
I hope that you do choose to come back to Oaks Shores in the future!

Kindest regards,

Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Shores

Property: Oaks Shores
Address: 327 - 343 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#38 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Shores 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the very scenic Lake Wakatipu, Oaks Shores is a luxuriously appointed Queenstown apartment-style hotel in the most popular New Zealand’s ski resort town, Queenstown. Each spacious apartment is impeccably appointed with chic, contemporary furnishings and balconies, most with stunning views over the lake and mountain ranges (Hotel Rooms do not have views). This perfectly located Queenstown accommodation includes 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, all with under floor heating, double glazed windows and superb kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Shores Queenstown
Oaks Shores Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing