We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Oaks Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Shores
Ranked #35 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed two night in a studio hotel room, while room wasn't huge it was quite acceptable. Some of the hotel rooms are actually a third bedroom from the apartments they just lock the doors off. We looked at two hotel rooms, one quite dark the only natural light was from a door leading onto a small balcony with views wedged between two apartments, the second was on the end of the hotel more windows but not much of a view. We brought off Wotif on a mystery deal and only paid $112 for each night which was a bargain. I was very worried when the mystery deal was revealed after reading some of the previous feedback but from what we saw it is unwarranted. Property is steep on the banks of lake but parking is fine and the lifts take you up to your room, we ate in restaurant one night food very good and fantastic views from restaurant. Shuttle into Queenstown, staff very friendly, would stay again and recommend

Room Tip: Check out Wotif for a mystery deal - you may get a bargain like we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am so glad that we were able to find a suitable room for you and that you enjoyed it!
Thank you for your comments regarding the staff - I will be sure to pass this onto them!
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown and at Oaks Shores soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have stayed here twice now - and chose it for the superb location, views from the rooms, and spaciousness of the living areas. I will keep coming back here. Expensive for us, but not for Queenstown, so this way we know we are getting a beautiful place to stay in. On this trip everyone was so happy with the setting and surroundings, we didn't even go out for dinner. Just watched the amazing light of the setting sun on the mountains opposite.
From the hotel, you can drop down to the lake edge and walk round to Queenstown. A lovely way to spend the afternoon. Parking can be tricky and managing the luggage trolley own the ramps takes some strength - but all part of the fun and the Kiwi - do it yourself way.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a large balcony - that way you have the best view of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
It is great to hear that this is the second time you have stayed with us and enjoyed everything Oaks Shores offers!
The views really are amazing, especially the sunset hitting the Remarkables in the afternoon- there is nothing like it and I am so glad you were able to experience this during your stay.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back at Oaks Shores for a third time in the future!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This place has the best view in Queenstown. No doubt the city is very pretty but the lake and mountain views from this stylish hotel are amazing. We got a 2bedroom apartment which was so huge and spacious. All amenities were top class. The only drawback is that its a Lil far away from the city centre but if u have a car or access the free shuttle service this place is total value for money..

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pallavdandge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am glad you enjoyed the views that the apartments offer during your stay!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the space in the rooms and the facilities of the apartment.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed a couple of nights here in suite 508, which I wanted to take home with me! Great views of the lake from the big picture windows and the fantastic balcony, furnished to a high standard (apart from a lack of oven gloves!)and nice and clean. Breakfast was not included in our room rate, but was a reasonable price. You could also “call and collect” from the restaurant in the evening if you wanted to eat in your room. After 2 nights we checked out to spend a night in Doubtful Sound and on our return we were checked into Suite 1002 which was identical to 508 but higher up, so from our bed we could watch the magnificent sunrise over the mountains. Location is about 3km outside the centre, about a 55 minute walk on the lake path (45 mins cutting out the peninsula)or about 35 minutes on the main road. It didn’t seem too far to us.
The big downside is the ridiculous internet policy – 30 minutes free on up to 3 devices simultaneously (!)in 24 hours. (not midnight to midnight.) So irritating, in fact, that despite our 2 lovely stays and “suite-envy” I might consider somewhere else with more generous wifi facilities if I were to come to Queenstown again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Figgysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am glad you enjoyed the views that the apartments offer during your stay! They really are uninterrupted from room 508!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the facilities of the apartment and that is was clean and suitable for you.
Although we do offer complimentary 30 mins of wifi per room per day I understand that this is limiting.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed in lake view 1 bedroom apartment and what a fabulous location it was. Room was tidy and clean, being serviced every day. FREE Parking, FREE 30 mins. Wi-Fi and easy 7-8 mins. drive to city. Staff was friendly and having 24. hrs. OPEN Reception is handy. I highly recommend this Hotel to couples as well as young family.

Room Tip: Lake facing 1-2-3 Bedroom apartments are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varshesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!

I am so pleased to hear that your stay was fantastic and you enjoyed the views and room offerings! The view from our apartments really are amazing all year round and the recent snow was bonus.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!


Best Regards,



Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were absaloutely over the moon with our one bedroom lake view apartment! The entire apartment was spacious and modern, and went above and beyond our expectations! We loved the fireplace and the balcony space was huge! The kitchen had all the utensils we needed for a three night stay. Oaks shores is perfect for anyone travelling who has a car, the town centre being only a five minute drive from the hotel or a forty minute walk along the lake. I have already recommended this hotel to family back in Australia, we would love to return one day!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kayla-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am delighted that you enjoyed the views from your apartment. Our lakefront apartments really do have an unbeatable view!

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!


Best Regards,


Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Rooms were clean and spacious, contemporary, great view facing the lake.

Perfect for travelers with car, you will have a spot to park downstairs. Not so convenient if you plan on going to the town center by foot...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungrysydneysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!

I am glad to hear that your stay was fantastic and you enjoyed the views and our accommdation. The view from our apartments really is something specoial! Especially being situated right on the lake.

We do offer complimentary shuttle from Hotel to town in the morning and later afternoon.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Best Regards,


Jaimee Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 59 in Queenstown
510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 59 in Queenstown
1,469 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Shores

Address: 327 - 343 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#33 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £112 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Shores 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the very scenic Lake Wakatipu, Oaks Shores is a luxuriously appointed Queenstown apartment-style hotel in the most popular New Zealand’s ski resort town, Queenstown. Each spacious apartment is impeccably appointed with chic, contemporary furnishings and balconies, most with stunning views over the lake and mountain ranges (Hotel Rooms do not have views). This perfectly located Queenstown accommodation includes 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, all with under floor heating, double glazed windows and superb kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ctrip TA, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oaks Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Shores Queenstown
Oaks Shores Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing