We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trouble Free”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaks Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Shores
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Trouble Free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a trouble free stay for a week at Oaks Shores.
Everything worked and the hotel was conveniently located if you had a car.
The hotel could really use a Hot Tub or Spa for tired ski legs, though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank RBenz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
It is great to hear that this is the second time you have stayed with us and enjoyed everything Oaks Shores offers!

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back at Oaks Shores for a third time in the future!

Kindest regards,
Krit Thirling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    242
    112
    67
    41
See reviews for
232
328
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Modern apartments complete with open gas fireplace and kitchen facilities makes this a great base camp - and then there is the view, exactly as promised in the Marketing. importantly, the beds are very comfortable with a choice of pillows. The staff were helpful and friendly. Only down side is distance from town (you really need a car) and the kitchen utensils are a bit rudimentary if you are doing any serious cooking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisandsinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am so pleased to hear that your stay was fantastic and you enjoyed the views and room offerings. I am glad that the staff made you feel welcome and will pass your feedback onto our team!

I apologise for the housekeeping issue and will be following this up with the Housekeeping Manager to ensure this does not occur

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown and at Oaks Shores soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Love the location. The staff were great and the heating was amazing! Definitely choose lake view. It's spectacular! We enjoyed our stay in our 2 bedroom apartment and wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Only thing was having 30 mins free wifi a day and needing to pay for extra. In this day and age everyone should be doing unlimited cause 4 people don't enjoy only 30 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chey1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am so pleased that you enjoyed the views from you room and found the location great!
I am glad the staff were great and I will pass your feedback onto the team.
Although we do offer complimentary 30 mins of wifi per room per day for up to three devices I understand that this can be limiting.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown and at Oaks Shores soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

very shabby and disappointing apartment.
main bedroom shower didn't work, had a hole in the shower hose so the water poured out that instead of the shower rose, underfloor tile heating didn't work and tiles were freezing to stand on, loaded the dishwasher went to use and found it unplugged with a note saying it needed parts don't use attached to the plug end. Cold draft at night because the curtain didn't cover the window. overall very disappointed at $320.00 a night would expect better, we requested shower to be fixed and light bulbs to be working as we went out for the day. the light bulbs we fixed but the shower hose wasn't. it only required unscrewing and changing. upon complaining when we leaving told they would get back to us by email. still waiting, overall not value for money. only views saved the day, they were amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am pleased that you enjoyed the views the apartments offer - they really are unbeatable!
I apologise for the issues regarding the maintenance issues that you have mentioned and it is certainly not acceptable that they were not rectified when you alerted staff to them.
I am glad that our Front Office Manager was able to make contact with you directly after she has investigated the issues you have listed.
I appreciate your feedback hope that you do choose to come back to Oaks Shores in the future so we can show you the true Oaks service!

Kindest regards,

Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I couldn't speak more highly of the staff and our room. The rooms were clean and always serviced and the staff couldn't have been more willing to help. The room has everything catered for with a superb kitchen area with dishwasher and all the necessary needs. The TV had sky channels with movies and there was even a DVD player. One of the best features in the room was the under floor heating. It was never cold to walk on in the cold mornings, not that that would matter with the gas fire place. The magnificent views from our balcony was breathtaking. I will be back and I have let all my friends and family know that Oak Shores is the number 1 accommodation in Queenstown and I speak from experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am so glad you enjoyed the views that the apartments offer during your stay!
It is great to hear that the apartment had everything you needed and you made use of the fire place. I will definitely pass your great feedback onto the staff as well!
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect! The rooms were very clean and the views were amazing! All the staff that I encountered were polite and on to it. There was nothing to complain about my trip to the Oaks. I will definitely be returning and sending anyone over who asks where the best accommodation is in Queentoswn!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola_Lambert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am glad you enjoyed the views that the apartments offer during your stay!
It is great to hear that the staff were polite and there was nothing that didnt meet your expecations!
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a fabulous location if you have a lake view apartment. The lake is at your feet, and the views are superb. This is our go to place when we are tired and in need of rejuvenation. The apartment is well equipped, the bathrooms good and the beds comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerNZ146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronJeffrey, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am glad you enjoyed the views that the apartments offer during your stay!
It is great to hear that the apartment was well equipped for you and you found the bathroom and beds comfortable.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon and returning to Oaks Shores in the future!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Shores

Property: Oaks Shores
Address: 327 - 343 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#38 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Shores 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the very scenic Lake Wakatipu, Oaks Shores is a luxuriously appointed Queenstown apartment-style hotel in the most popular New Zealand’s ski resort town, Queenstown. Each spacious apartment is impeccably appointed with chic, contemporary furnishings and balconies, most with stunning views over the lake and mountain ranges (Hotel Rooms do not have views). This perfectly located Queenstown accommodation includes 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, all with under floor heating, double glazed windows and superb kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Shores Queenstown
Oaks Shores Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing