We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view / Disgusting service”
Review of Oaks Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Shores
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view / Disgusting service”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family stayed at this resort recently it has the most beautiful view but
the overall service was disappointing . The cleanjng staff were struggling throughout
the day that by the time they came to service our room we felt sorry for them
so only took towels. Other days when the room was attended too it was well
below our expectations it was shocking .Reflclects very poor management.
The management has to rectify these because the room rates are
quite high the services should match it. The shuttle service is great which seemed
to be the only good thing about this resort. The Wii Fii service is very deceiving

Room Tip: choose lakefront
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisalockwood8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am so pleased that you enjoyed the views from you room!
I am sorry to hear your feedback in relation to the customer service and room servicing you received during your stay. This is not the standard service we provide to our valued guests. I would welcome additional information from you regarding your booking so I can investigate this matter further. I can be contacted on hmshores@theoaksgroup.co.nz.
I do apologise for the issues that you had during your stay and hope that you do choose to come back to Oaks Shores in the future!

Kindest regards,

Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    244
    115
    69
    43
See reviews for
241
337
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week at this hotel. I overlooked the room being located outside a door leading onto the carpark so got woken up by other guests as they left noisily, the slack cleaning, the so called shuttle bus service to queens town which was limited to a few hours on the hour in the morning and evening and stopped altogether at 9pm, the overseas workers with no idea of recommendations for the local area, the poor food options, with breakfast only starting from 7.30am so having to catch a bus tour early meant leaving hungry as there was no food on location except for a vending machine, and the bar food which was meant to be available all day only starting at 4pm. The bar and restaurant also closed early and there was no room service available. The final straw was when leaving we realised we had left drinks in our fridge and returned to ask reception. We waited as long as we could before having to catch a taxi to the airport and our drinks were not returned. The terrible customer service was appalling for a so called 4 star hotel. We did not even receive an apology with the receptionist who was meant to be following it up not even looking us in the eye when we left. The view is pretty and the building modern but customer service let the whole hotel down. Won't be recommending or returning

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Neen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the views that the apartments offer!
I am sorry to hear you had so many issues in relation to customer service. This is not the standard service we provide to our valued guests. I apologise that your drinks were not returned to you quickly enough for you to have them before your departure!
If noise is ever an issue please let us know and we will endeavour to find an apartment that is more suitable for you!
In regards to the restaurant, we have had feedback from numerous guests that opening any earlier than 7:30am is not useful due to the sun only coming up at 8am in winter. I apologise that your situation was different to the feedback we have received from others. The bar snack menu is not available all day as the restaurant is not open for lunch. The bar snack menu is open from 4pm - 11pm each day. Unfortunately, due to the layout of the building we cannot offer room service. We do however offer a takeaway and pick up service for those guests wanting a different dining option.
I am sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us but hope that you do choose to come back to Oaks Shores in the future so we can show you the true Oaks service!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Perfect for family of 5. Great views and easy living after a day's skiing. We stayed for 5 nights and used the fully equiped kitchen most days for breakfast and dinner. A very short drive from town.
Main negative was the bedrooms were too hot at night. Eventually discovered the underfloor heating control.
Wifi is only for 30 mins per day once you've logged in - kids still in shock.
I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of our property and found it to be perfect for your family! All of our apartments do offer underfloor heating in the cool winter conditions which can be adjusted manually for each room. I apologise for the limited wifi. We do offer free 30 mins wifi per room per day for up to 3 devices but this can become quite popular at peak times.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back at Oaks Shores soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here this past week and was very impressed with the views. However it seems the room we were staying in had paper thin walls. Could here all conversations and the tv. Very annoying when you have to get up early in the morning.

Room Tip: Dont choose a double room. You will have a door leading to another persons room and will be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spouwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the amazing uninterrupted views from our apartments during your stay!
Unfortunately the majority of our apartments are interconnecting to allow for flexibility in guest bookings. If there is ever any excess noise coming from an apartment please let our 24 hour reception know and we will be able to address this issue.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We had a beautiful view of the lake! Clean room, comfortable bed, and the heated bathroom floors was a plus in the NZ winter. I only wish breakfast was complementary. At $19pp we chose to buy groceries and make our own breakfast instead. No problem with in-room toaster, fridge and water heater. We did have on a fantastic dinner at the upstairs restaurant, and it was worth every $

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank USAsvenskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimee D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Club!
I am so pleased to hear that your stay was fantastic and you enjoyed the views and spa on the balcony of your apartment. Those room types really are something special!

I am glad that the staff made you feel welcome and will pass your feedback onto our team!

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Best Regards,

Krit Thirling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just spent a week at Oaks Shores. (Got it on Frequent Flyers, so it couldn't be cheaper!)Lake view two bedroom apartment. Short drive from Queenstown. Or a half hour walk. Wonderful views over the lake. Kitchen and all you need. Well, apart from internet access - half an hour a day is a bit measly. Nice bar and restaurant. Parking. It's all there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OvertheC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
It is great to hear that this is the second time you have stayed with us and enjoyed everything Oaks Shores offers!
The views really are amazing, especially the sunset hitting the Remarkables in the afternoon- there is nothing like it and I am so glad you were able to experience this during your stay.

Although we do offer complimentary 30 mins of wifi per room per day for up to three devices I understand that this can be limiting.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown and at Oaks Shores soon!

Best Regards,
Krit Thirling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a trouble free stay for a week at Oaks Shores.
Everything worked and the hotel was conveniently located if you had a car.
The hotel could really use a Hot Tub or Spa for tired ski legs, though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank RBenz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
It is great to hear that this is the second time you have stayed with us and enjoyed everything Oaks Shores offers!

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back at Oaks Shores for a third time in the future!

Kindest regards,
Krit Thirling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#33 of 58 in Queenstown
456 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Shores

Property: Oaks Shores
Address: 327 - 343 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#37 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Shores 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the very scenic Lake Wakatipu, Oaks Shores is a luxuriously appointed Queenstown apartment-style hotel in the most popular New Zealand’s ski resort town, Queenstown. Each spacious apartment is impeccably appointed with chic, contemporary furnishings and balconies, most with stunning views over the lake and mountain ranges (Hotel Rooms do not have views). This perfectly located Queenstown accommodation includes 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, all with under floor heating, double glazed windows and superb kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Shores Queenstown
Oaks Shores Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing