We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, smelly and noisy”
Review of Oaks Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Shores
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have stayed at several Oaks in Auckland, Australia and have stayed at the Oaks Shores before but I have never been so dissappointed as our stay this weekend.

The room smelt of urine. The kitchen was dirty. The dishwasher not only didnt work but was dirty on the inside (if that is possible) and there was bits of food on the wall.

The couch was so dirty with a massive stain on it so we were too scared to sit on the couch.

The people in the room next to us arrived at 3.30 in the morning and had their music playing along with laughing and shouting. After an hour of listening to this I rang reception who said they would ring the room. However, they didnt stop until 5.30 in the morning. So Im assuming the reception had done nothing about my complaint.

After letting them know in the morning on check out their only offer was a coffee.

We were so dissappointed after being excited to stay here as it was our wedding anniversary.

All I can say is dont stay here. I know I wont be staying at Oaks ever again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dontlookatmyusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
It is a shame that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us in Queenstown. I have spoken to the Housekeeping Manager regarding your complaints listed in your review. The Housekeeping Manager herself and a colleague went to your apartment but could not find any such smell as described. Unfortunately it seems that none of the other issues you note were brought to our attention during your stay. This does make it very difficult for us to rectify without any knowledge of them.
The lounge is quite badly stained however I am pleased to advise that all apartments will be undergoing a refurbishment in the very near future and addressing the lounge stains will be apart of this.
We do offer a 24 hour reception which should be contacted immediately for any noise complaints. It is a shame that you didn’t contact reception after your first complaint as we do have a very strict party policy for all guests that stay with us and certain procedures in place to deal with any issues.
I do apologise for the issues that you had during your stay and hope that you do choose to come back to Oaks Shores in the future!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We rented a three bedroom apartment for our snow trip to Queenstown. The quality of the furnishings are really good and they are contemporary style and very comfortable. Our apartment came with a fireplace and all rooms had ensuites with underfloor heating in all uncarpeted areas (bathroom and kitchen area). Large balcony with an amazing view of the lake and is one of the best places I have ever stayed in.

We cooked all of our breakfast and even made dinner one night in the kitchen, one of the best stocked kitchen in terms of pots and stuff. I did not come into contact with many staff but those that I did was friendly and courteous.

Oaks Shores is a good 15 minutes walk into town or a very quick 5 minutes drive but I thought the distance to town was worth the view and quiet surroundings we got.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oujyosama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that Oaks Shores is one of the best places you have ever stayed! That is amazing feedback to receive!
It is great to hear that the kitchen was well stocked for you and the apartment comfortable!
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Just the place to stay after all day on the mountain. Great size rooms with all what you would want in a room and great customer service from the staff. Car Parking in the hotel is easy and the free shuttle bus to town is a plus. I will always stay here when I go to Queenstown.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am so glad to hear that the rooms were perfect for you after the full days on the mountain and that the rooms provided you with everything you needed during your stay!
Thank you for your feedback about our friendly staff and I will certainly be passing this onto them!
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the oak shores whilst in queenstown very nice and tidy friendly staff over looks the lake was very nice will defintly come back... queenstown is a short trip to town.. nice veiws of the remarkable mountains sweet as....

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Callum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and found the staff friendly!
The views the apartments offer over the Remarkables really are amazing!
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed in this hovel a while back when visiting friends in queens town , we came all the way from Ireland and everything about New Zealand was amazing apart from this place
We stayed for 11 days and I had to plead with the staff for fresh towels, we never had our dinner plates collected and when we asked about this we where told to wash them our selfs in the sink in the bathroom
Do not stay here it's really bad

Room Tip: You will not receive fair play here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
It is a shame that you were unable to review your stay with us closer to the time you were here so we could investigate your feedback immediately.
It sounds like you stayed in one of hotel rooms which is a standard room and does not offer any kitchen facilities. For a stay of 11 nights I would recommend ensuring a larger apartment is booked so that you can utilise the fireplace, full kitchen, full laundry and larger balcony facilities.
The majority of our rates include servicing which includes a daily towel change but we do offer some discounted rates that offer no servicing which it sounds like you have booked on. These specials are provided without servicing in order to offer guests a lower rate.
Unfortunately the way our building is designed does not allow for room service. We do offer a takeaway service for those guests not wishing to dine in the restaurant though and do ask that all dishes are returned to the kitchen.
I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us but hope you will return next time you are in Queenstown so that we can ensure you experience the true hospitality of Oaks Shores!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

5 guys are usually hard to please, but oaks shores managed. great accommodation with connecting rooms to allow for 5 beds. amazing views, great facilities. 10 days and don't have a bad thing to say.

do your self a favour and stay here!

Room Tip: 406 is the goods, get on it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to meet your expectations!
The views and facilities in the apartments are great and I am glad that the 5 of you travelling enjoyed them!
It is exceptional that you have not one negative piece of feedback to leave!
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stay two night in two bedroom apartment. The apartment facility is brilliant and decoration is sweetly and beautiful. Room have washing mashing and dry machine, which we clean most of cloths there. Lake just at front us and they have a small walk pass can go through to lake side. Staff are friendly as well. nice stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ye Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores!
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and found the apartments beautifully decorated! we have recently started a refurbishment of the rooms so it is wonderful to have such positive feedback!
Thank you for your feedback about our friendly staff and I will certainly be passing this onto them!
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 58 in Queenstown
498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,221 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,457 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Shores

Address: 327 - 343 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#35 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £108 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Shores 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the very scenic Lake Wakatipu, Oaks Shores is a luxuriously appointed Queenstown apartment-style hotel in the most popular New Zealand’s ski resort town, Queenstown. Each spacious apartment is impeccably appointed with chic, contemporary furnishings and balconies, most with stunning views over the lake and mountain ranges (Hotel Rooms do not have views). This perfectly located Queenstown accommodation includes 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, all with under floor heating, double glazed windows and superb kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Shores Queenstown
Oaks Shores Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing