We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views!”
Review of Balmoral Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmoral Lodge
Ranked #19 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Views!”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stumbled on this place and what a great surprise! The rooms are comfortable, clean, and have amazing views of the lake! Les is wonderful and makes a great breakfast! I would stay there again in a heartbeat! My only negative point is the stairs, if you're not great with stairs maybe you should stay somewhere else but if you don't have a problem with stairs this place can't be beat!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    20
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
83
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed for two days and found the accommodation and owners so nice that we returned for a final night before returning to Auckland and then home to Cairns.
We had a beaurifully comfortable bed with ensuite and a separate sitting area where we could gaze at the 180 degree panoramic views.
Thank you Les and Liz for a wonderful stay and great company. Also for the use of your laptop to check our emails.
Most likely see you next year.

Tim and Wendy Prettejohn

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I highly recommend Balmoral,

We believe it was the coziest B&B in our holiday in NZ.

No one beats Leslies BFAST! And the view from the rooms is fantastic!

Nothing like flying in to Queenstown, The view at Balmoral almost beats that!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonSebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed here for six days. We were very pleased with place. The place is small. But it gives you so much comfort. The owners, Less and Liz are the best owners you can find. They will do anything for you to feel comfortable here. We stayed in the room with a king bed and a twin bed.
The beds were very comfortable. But the best thing about the place is a view. Absolutely gorgeous! Wow! Every morning we were served breakfast. The owners even did a laundry for us at no expense. All in all we really liked this place. If you like a small, quiet place, with a fantastic view, comfortable and real friendly owners, this is a place for you. We liked it.

Room Tip: a place is up on the hill. It takes about 5-10 minutes walk to the center of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semmla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

3 of us stayed at the Balmoral Lodge in Queenstown in late December 2012. The lodge is easy to find, just off the main road into Queenstown as you are entering town.
The first thing that strikes you is the amazing view out over Lake Wakatipu and the view up to the Remarkables.
We stayed in the two bedroom apartment on the ground floor.
We met Les on arrival who was very helpful and accommodating - Unfortunately, there was a problem with the hot water in our apartment, so an alternative room had to be used, which wasn't a huge problem - Les offered us 'free breakfast' in place of hot water, which I was curious about as I thought I had already paid for breakfast when we paid up front a month earlier, being a B&B? - so just make sure you check that out before arrival.
The rooms were wonderfully comfortable and all the amenities in the apartment were in good condition - It is actually a really spacious 2 bed apartment, which was very nice.
Les was also very helpful on day timing's for day trips etc - We went across to Milford Sound and back in the one day - Quite a journey but very achievable, just be prepared to drive for anything up to 8 hours return!! 100% worth it though!!
We walked down into town in about 15 mins and the walk back is great for burning off a steak dinner!!
A fantastic location for your stay in Queenstown and a far better option than booking two hotel rooms if you're travelling as a group.
Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Double check your breakfast is included in the price you are paying - Other than that, it's perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian8Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We chose this B&B through reviews on this site and were not dissappointed. The accommodation was wonderful with a very comfortable bedroom and spacious shared lounge. The owners were extremely helpful and made us very comfortable. The view from our room and from the breakfast table of the lake was beautiful. All round a fabulous place to stay and we would deffinately return.

Room Tip: Superior Queen room had amazing views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Wonderful accommodation with amazing views! We stayed in the triple room which has a King size bed and a single (possibly king single). The bed and bedding were top quality and we had a great sleep. Breakfast was superb, the full english being offered as well as a plentiful continental breakfast. I didnt realise it was a B and B (which is my fault) and did find it different to being in a hotel however can find no fault (apart from the TV reception which was unwatchable) and really enjoyed catching up with the owners over a cup of tea in their gardens under the umbrella.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge

Property: Balmoral Lodge
Address: 24 York Street, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmoral Luxury Lodge is situated on Queenstown hill just 800 metres to the town centre. All rooms are spacious with luxury bed linen & have ensuite bathrooms, coffee & tea making facilities, toiletries, bathrobes & Flat Screen TV, Sky TV, Fridge. Every room has stunning panoramic lake & mountain views. Free unlimited wifi access. Laundry facilities & free off street parking, 5 minutes easy walk downtown 10 minutes walk back, For those with limited walking abilities , you will nneed a car or a taxi. Complimentary snacks in room on arrival.Four Star Plus. Gracious Kiwi Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Balmoral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing