We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, poor facilities and dirty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodges
Praa Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, poor facilities and dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed twice, the first was in the penthouse which is spacious and well designed but lacked certain basics such as tea towels, dish cloths and there were only 5 coffee cups for 6 people to share. However what was really disappointing was the general state of decoration and cleanliness. Only after removing a handful of hair could we drain the shower tray.
The second apartment was cleaner and better equipped although the balcony area with its fantastic views was littered with cigarette buts and nail clippings. Great location, great views but lacking attention to detail.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    34
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
37
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Contacted the by email and found out about getting there be shuttle when the car rental company was closed... $26 nzd for two. We were late registering, manager waited for us and took us to our 1 bedroom personally. My wife was most thrilled to have an unobstructed view of the lake. Clean comfortable quarters with a small kitchen with a two burner stove top, 3/4 size refrigerator, microwave, sink, china dishes, cooking utensils, electric tea kettle, choice of milk for our coffee, etc. hot water and great shower water pressure rinsed off the 35 hours of travel kinks and a king bed with a heated mattress pad allowed the old body to finally unfold flat.
A great night's sleep found us greeting a beautiful chilly morning with hot coffee from the balcony. A short two block walk got us to town center and a small grocery was only a couple of blocks further. We found our car rental shop and headed out on our newest adventure on what's called in NZ, the "correct side" of the road. Reasonably priced, comfortable accommodations, absolutely immaculate bathroom, our "holiday" is off to a great start.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank UncleDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I think this is the only place on the waterfront which does not have willow trees directly in front so the views are superb, We had a corner unit in Alabasters so had views to the Remarkables as well. Well appointed studio with sofa and easy chair as well as separate toilet and bathroom and adequate kitchen. Only 5 mins from town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindylou53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were very happy with the lodges for our stay in queenstown. We had booked accommodation elsewhere which were well below average and decided to look around for a better option. Joy was very helpful and we ended up booking a 3 bedroom apartment in the front row of buildings. The price was fantastic, especially if you elect to not have your apartment serviced which we didn't need. The kitchen was large and had everything you need. The bedroom at the bottom was a bit dark but little time was spent there except when sleeping. The bedroom on the top floor was full of light and looked out onto the remarkables and lake wakatipu. The back bedroom on the top floor was fine though it was only used by our baby. The main negative was the soft beds but they weren't the worst I've slept in and you can hear the traffic but we are in queenstown so you wouldn't really call it traffic! But the balcony with the view over the lake and mountains was gorgeous and a very easy stroll into town which took less than 5 minutes. The building itself is a bit dated but for the price you pay we were very happy - we were not expecting 5 star quality.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHall_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

our apartment and rooms were excellent, very roomy and spacious, very close to town, rooms were nicely funished, all our needs were catered for. Joy and the staff were very helpful and lovely, couldn't get more genuine and accomadating people. Our view was specatular, 5min walk to town, we cannot speak more highly of our time in Queenstown, and we will be definetly back next year to stay in the same apartment.

The Treichels

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slachy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We chose these apartments (actually adjacent to the Lodges, called Albatross) for the location. We had a car, but parking in the city centre is at a premium.A very convenient 5min walk into the many restaurants etc in the heart of Queenstown, this older apartment had a large balcony, living room with kitchenette a separate bathroom and large bedroom at the rear (quieter) with a huge King sized, comfortable bed. So many of the newer hotels have small rooms.
We also like that the complex is only 3 levels, so not high rise and no waiting for lifts.
The only constructive criticism would be that it would be better to have a table on the balcony as well as the 2 chairs that were there.
Would recommend to anyone, and would certainly return to this hotel if we're ever in Queenstown again.

Room Tip: Second level great as the views overlooking the lake is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FammyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were booked in a 1 bedroom unit for 2 weeks with a full kitchen.When we booked in went to our room will not a full kitchen just 2 hobb top very basic kitchen utensils [antiques]bowl saucepan very limited.The unit was very small especially for 2 weeks and dark,so I went to management and they moved us to next door The Lodges,3 nights later to a better unit with a full kitchen,much more comfortable.The cleaning is pretty rough dont hire students employ mature staff who know what is expected of us patrons.The units need updating but great view of the lake and very close to town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Queenstown
Esplanade Queenstown
#42 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#15 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Apartments
Lakefront Apartments
#70 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges

Property: The Lodges
Address: 8 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly BreakFree Lodges Suites & Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges, Queenstown New Zealand, offer executive apartment accommodation in the heart of Queenstown. Situated right on the lakefront all apartments provide superb views of the lake and mountains. Combining outstanding apartment accommodation with an excellent location, The Lodges are just a 200 metre lakefront stroll to the town centre. Whatever your reason for visiting Queenstown, The Lodges has everything you need to ensure that your visit to "The Adventure Capital of New Zealand" is as action packed or as laid back as you choose to make it. The Lodges, Queenstown offers two and three bedroom luxury apartments in the heart of Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Hotel Apartments
Breakfree Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing