We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay in this homely BandB - you MUST stay here!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crown View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in this homely BandB - you MUST stay here!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2008

We stayed for 2 nights at the Crown View BandB (run by fabulous hosts Carroll and Reg) in February this year. This was the best 2 nights of our travels in the South Island - not just because of the stunning scenery and proximity to attractions in both Queentown and Arrowtown, but also the warm welcome we received at the Crown View.
We had the bedroom on the ground floor (very clean, bright, comfortable), with a private bathroom across the hall. This was not a problem at all, as Carroll provides robes and we never felt that our privacy was disturbed.
Breakfast was served in the guests dining area, and we ate with the other guests staying at the BandB (2 others). This was great to share tips and travelling stories. The quantity, variety and quality of food was excellent - cereals, fresh fruit salad, toast, yoghurt, full cooked breakfast etc.
Carroll also arranged a couple of activities for us (JetBoat and a fly cruise to Milford Sound), which saved us the hassle of phoning up and booking and didn't cost us any more.
We were able to use the laundry facilities and, once washed, Carroll arranged to have it dried etc whilst we were out for the day. We returned to all our clean smelling washing, folded on our bed when we came back in the evening - what a great service!
Finally, each evening we shared a bottle of wine in the garden as the sun set. The property has some of the best views over the surrounding countryside - a picture postcard view that I am still carrying around in my head. In summary, if you are looking for a warm and comfortable stay whilst you are in Queenstown then you must choose the Crown View.

  • Liked — The scenery and the fabulous welcome and care we had from the hosts
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missloobylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
158
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2008

Crownview is a very well maintained B+B, between Queenstown and Arrowtown. It is about a 15 minute drive from both. The rooms and facilities were excellent, and kept immaculately clean. Carrol is very chatty and anxious to please. The view is spectacular, and the breakfasts excellent.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcjlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2008

My family and I came here expecting a unique Kiwi Farmstay experience and defintiely got much more than we asked for! This was our second trip to NZ and Reg and Caroll are the most fantastic hosts that we experienced in NZ. And the best in our many years of travelling the world. There are lots to do in this amazingly cosy farm.

Reg took us on a personally guided tour to visit the animals and Caroll always made herself available to satisfy my 3 1/2 yr old daughter's constant cravings to play with the animals. Breakfast is fantastic with farmfresh eggs and the farm is only a short drive from Queenstown city. The rooms are really cosy and you will definitely love the newly renovated bathroom.

If there is an unforgettable experience or high point that you are looking for in a trip, this is the place to be in.

  • Liked — The Hosts!
  • Disliked — Nothing at all!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Slingshot_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2008

We stayed in the rose room with our twin one year old babies for 3 nights. Caroll and Reg treated us like family and in no time our babies were crawling all over the place. We loved the views and enjoyed the sheep, alpacas, hens, cows and Archie the westie!

The spa was great on the evenings to relax the babies. Carol was so helpful it made travelling with babies really easy. The relaxed breakfasts and afternoon nibbles on the lawn were just more examples of the great hospitality.

So to sum it up the best accomodation we were at on this holiday on the south island. If we are ever on the area we shall visit the CrownView again.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank santiago_franco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Reg and Caroll are fantastic hosts which will make you feel welcome from the minute you pull-up in front of their home.

Crown View, as the name suggests, has fantastic views of the mountains which you can enjoy whilst drinking refreshing beer/wine and feasting on a delicious platter of 'nibbles', which Caroll prepares on your arrival.
The rooms at Crown view are perfect; over sized, luxurious bedding, spacious rooms, tea/coffee/biscuits (yum!) and a gorgeous spa bathroom!
Crown view is ideal for couples (as we experienced) who want to be close enough for just a few minutes drive to Queenstown centre but far enough away to enjoy the peace and tranquility of a home-style B&B overlooking the mountains with fantastic hosts....you will love it!!
Thanks Reg and Caroll!!

From Jackie & Nic

  • Liked — Fantastic hosts
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacks70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANTA BARBARA, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2007

Truely a spectacular stay. From the moment I walked in the open door, I felt at home and welcome, Caroll and Reg Fraser are two of the most genuine and personable people I have had the pleasure to meet in a long time. There are lots of critters to play with including cows, sheep, chickens and a couple of stout little white dogs. Beautiful surroundings with newly remodled bathrooms, a beer Fridge. What more could you want? Children are welcome if they are responsible and respect the other guests. When I come back to Queenstown, I will be bringing my family to enjoy the Crownview.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SURFINGWOLF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2007

Stayed w/Carol and Reg Fraser at their glorious farmstay. We were looking for a farmstay in New Zealand so that the kids could get a taste of what staying on a farm was about. We were treated to 8 acres of idyllic setting in Queenstown, New Zealand. It is about 10 minutes from the airport and it is easy to access everything from there. You are greeted by 2 fabulously easygoing people along w/their 2 darling dogs, Archie & Dougall; cows, Issy & Bella, lots of chickens and of course sheep(it's New Zealand.) Our kids were enchanted ages, 6, 9, & 11. They were excited to be able to feed all the animals. Our hosts couldn't do enough for us. It's the place to stay! The accomodations were very nice. They were immaculate.1 room was ensuite and another room had a fabulous, big bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. You have your own upstairs sitting area, inside and a patio outside. We were greeted with warm hot cross buns and drinks of our choice and of course an amazing rainbow across the valley(which I don't think they planned, but they would have if they could have.) We also had a wonderful breakfast every morning. We liked them so much we went back to say goodbye before we left the area.

  • Liked — The friendly hosts and charming accomodations
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was all good!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carpbythebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
11.9 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#3 of 44 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hidden Lodge
Hidden Lodge
#12 of 44 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.8 mi away
Speargrass Rise Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast
5.2 mi away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
4.7 mi away
Lake Vista Bed & Breakfast
Lake Vista Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 44 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Crown View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 457 Littles Road | Dalefield RD1, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Crown View Hotel Queenstown
Crown View Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing