We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of an amazing trip !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crown View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highlight of an amazing trip !”
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Trusting in some of the reviews already on this website, we decided to alter our original plans by staying 2 nights at Crown View rather than in Queenstown.

It is not often a place you've already heard great things about actaully exceeds all expectations - but Reg & Carol's fantastic property and their wonderful hospitality make this a rare excpetion.

Everything was just as you could want it - beautiful rooms & facilities, cozy lounging areas, the *amazing* views, delicious breakfasts - the list goes on. But most of all - coming back from a long day out to a relaxing fireside chat over a glass of wine, made the trip so much more than just a stay at a lodging.

We already miss the company of Reg & Carol - and of course Archie & Duffy - the two best westies you'll ever meet ! Throw in the chooks, alpacas, sheep, peacocks, cows and truly the Crown View motto 'Come as a guest, leave as a friend' couldn't be more appropriate.

All we can say further is .. cannot wait to come back !!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneAge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
158
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We stayed with Carroll and Reg (and their lovely dogs Archie and Duffy) for 2 nights in early August and were thoroughly spoilt for the duration of our stay. Our room was extremely comfortable and beautifully presented, the bed turned down for us each evening and a very well appointed bathroom provided next door for our sole use (the only place we stayed where we could soak in the bath as well as having a shower!). Breakfast was generous and tasted great (with eggs from Carroll's chickens) and we loved the evening snacks we were given to eat whilst enjoying the spectacular views from the front windows of Crown View - out over the snow-tipped mountains. We will definitely be back to stay again if we make a return trip to New Zealand. Thanks Carroll and Reg!

  • Liked — Being completely spoilt by the hosts! - it was luxury
  • Disliked — The only draw-back I can think of is having to drive to get dinner (in Arrowtown or Queenstown)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller3375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Such a great place to spend a long weekend, Caroll and Reg make you feel comfortable from the moment you walk through the door.
We will surely go back again and again and again....

  • Liked — The amazing super king size bed!!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Giulias81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2008

All good things said about this place and the hosts (Caroll and Reg) are true. This B&B has remarkable views of the REMARKABLES.

Generous breakfast everyday; Free WiFI; Free Laundry; Easy to book tours through Caroll (with same prices as in the Tourist Information Center in QTW or on site) and very lenient policy towards kitchen use -- We almost emptied Caroll's cupboard to prepare a feast of Grilled Lamb and Salad which our family shared with Caroll and Reg.

Getting there by public transport might limit your travel options around the area. From Crown View, its 10km to Cornet Peak; 7k to the Shotover Jetboat Venue; and 12km to Arrowtown (A must-visit town). And just driving around this area will thrill you with her spectacular views.

A place for privacy and tranquility seekers. One word to describe the place - MAGICAL. It's a "must-experience-kinda-place."


(For people with poor directional skills, like me, i've taken a snapshot of the GPS display of the exact address of this place). PS - Archie may be the star of the show, but Holly could use some credit (both lovely dogs).

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoseRizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Crown View B & B became our 'home away from home' for a week. The hosts Caroll & Reg Fraser were so warm and welcoming and the accommodation was 5 star! My husband and I had our own huge room with a king size bed and our two daughers had their own separate room which was fantastic. The bathroom was like being in a 5 star hotel with gorgeous touches such as locally made lavendar bath foam and hand cream. Caroll cooked us up a storm every morning and even allowed us a really long sleep in which was just what we needed. The kids enjoyed playing around the house in the mornings just as if they were at home. We would definately recommend staying at Crown View and would love to go back again - maybe to ski next time!!

  • Liked — The fact that we were actually in a very cosy house and had plenty of room/space.
  • Disliked — A bit hard to find - needs a lilght on at the street entrance!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Actingupdrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

My wife and I stayed at a couple of B&Bs in the South Island during our recent honeymoon, and we must say that the standard of B&Bs there are excellent.

Crown View stood out amongst all the B&Bs we stayed at. Though the owners Reg and Carroll call their premises a 'farmstay', I believe a more appropriate description would be a 'luxurious accomodation housed in a farm'!

They have 2 guest rooms - we stayed 3 nights in the beautiful larger bedroom with a private toilet (with a bathtub and separate shower), and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The living room for guests to relax is tastefully decorated with lovely paintings and little trinkets.

The breakfasts were great and servings were generous! If it's not raining/ too cold, you have the option of having an outdoor breakfast in their lawn, which boasts a spectacular view of the Remarkables!

Reg and Carroll are excellent hosts, and they would always prepare tea with delicious snacks for us whenever we came back from our day tours.

They have a lovely dog Archie as well (and we hear from them that he's gonna get a companion soon)!

The next time we go to New Zealand, we will definitely stay at Crown View!

  • Liked — Reg's and Carroll's hospitality!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank purpledino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2008

This was the first time we'd been to New Zealand or even a bed & breakfast. Arriving in Queenstown from Lake Tekapo, the two nights we spent at Crownview taught us the true meaning of Kiwi hospitality. Carroll ensured that we were always well cared for and the little treats in our room really helped us feel right at home. Stuffing ourselves with her lavish breakfast spread made from the choiciest local produce enabled us to truly enjoy Queenstown and its surroundings without having to stop for lunch. We also had an excellent view from our room, so much so we decided to come back earlier on our second night just to enjoy our burgers on the porch. Reg, ever the gentleman, was always so accomodating when we cityfolk wanted to get in touch with our "country-side" & feed the sheep or cows. At the end of our stay we were reluctant to leave, but after such a fantastic couple of days we promised ourselves that we would return one day. Indeed, as their website says, we came as guests but left as friends...

  • Liked — Our room view & breakfast!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherm_n_Lizzy_Khoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.6 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
617 reviews
5.4 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#7 of 58 in Queenstown
429 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
11.9 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 43 in Queenstown
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Crown View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 457 Littles Road | Dalefield RD1, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Crown View Hotel Queenstown
Crown View Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing