We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
83
45
15
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
45
15
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep walktypes of cerealfabulous spotwood firespacious bedroom apartmentcontinental breakfastlong dayshot tubup hillnew zealandwashing facilitiesfresh fruitthe kitchenb and btea and coffeeenjoyed our stayamazing views
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

What a great place ! Very nice and clean with excellent hosts !
The view from the deck is Best in Queenstown.

Room was very nice and comfortable. Price was very fair and for what you got, especially in Queenstown between Christmas and new years it was cheap.

If this was my place i would not change one single thing about anything. Perfect as it is !

Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
Thank Travelloverdelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoronetView, Manager at Coronet View, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that the rest of your trip around New Zealand was just as enjoyable.
We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Kind Regards,
Laura
Coronet View

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

The view was beautiful and the room okay. Wi-Fi didn't really work, only occasionally. "The rules" were a bit too much and we didn't feel so cozy after the welcome speech... We do understand the mixed reviews: there was nothing really wrong with this place, but it wasn't the place we were hoping it to be.

Stayed: February 2015
2  Thank Reeta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

We stayed six nights here at the beginning of our New Zealand holiday. After reading some mixed reviews, we weren't sure exactly what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised. Laura, a friendly and helpful hostess, had put us in an upstairs studio, as per my request, and it was a lovely room. The bed was incredibly comfortable, with a beautiful lambskin electric blanket, and a TV opposite. The kitchenette, whilst small, was fully equipped and we had no problem preparing any kind of meals. The bathroom, whilst also very small, was organised well, and the shower was excellent. The little living area with a sofa and coffee table (in front of another, bigger TV) was comfy, and there was also a round dining table with chairs by the window (which yes, looked out to the carpark, but also to the little garden and the rest of the region and surrounding mountains). There was also plenty of space for luggage. The rooms are totally self-contained, which is nice.

As it seems many of the rooms can be adjoining to cater to larger parties, the walls are fairly thin. We had no immediate neighbours until out final night, but once they arrived, we could hear some of their conversations very clearly. This was the only downside of an otherwise perfect stay, and wouldn't deter us from staying here again or recommending it to friends/family.

The location is actually very nice, and the hill is really not that steep unless you are incredibly unfit or injured in some way (or have just climbed to the summit of Ben Lomond). There is a great grocer/deli/baker/cafe about a 7 minute walk down the road (Raeward Fresh) and a big supermarket just around the corner from that. The town centre/lake front is no more than a leisurely 15 minute walk through lovely streets with stunning vistas.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are nicer, with better views and privacy.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessBella67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoronetView, Manager at Coronet View, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed our self-contained studio apartment. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Laura
Coronet View

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

Ok place to stay, bed was comfy, place overall felt like it needed a bit of love. Doors that were tricky to open, a bit if rust on the mirror etc etc. Paid an okay peice for it... so i guess you what you pay for ☺ Staff were nice and helpful.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Rohan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoronetView, Manager at Coronet View, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Hi Rohan,
Thank you very much for feed back! We will get those things fixed as soon as we can.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Kind Regards,
Laura
Coronet View

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Coronet View described themselves as "luxury", but I really couldn't see it.

This collection of rooms and apartments had some good points and some less good, but for me the latter outweighed the former.

Good:
- We booked a B&B room for two non-consecutive nights, but as we had to leave too early for breakfast on at least one morning they offered to 'upgrade' us to a self-contained apartment for the same price, where we could prepare our own breakfast;
- The room didn't have a booking for the intervening night, so the proprietor offered to let us leave bulky luggage in the room while we went on an overnight trip to fjordland, which was very kind;
- The room's best features were a very comfortable bed with electric blankets and lovely bedlinen, an adequate heater, and an accessable bathroom for guests with limited mobility;
- the kitchen was well-equipped enough to prepare a meal, which for us was a basic breakfast.

Not so good:
- the location is on a hill with marvellous views of the town and mountains - sadly the apartment faced the opposite direction so our views were of the car park. This turned out to be no trouble, as the doors were floor-to-ceiling sliding glass so we had to keep the drapes shut at all times for privacy, which also meant we had no outside view at all;
- the decor is, well, awful for somewhere that describes itself as luxury and charges accordingly. Worn purple fabric couch opposite a scratched faux leather couch, other badly dated features;
- the bathroom is similarly dated, the toiletries consisted of a supermarket bottle of 2-in-1 shampoo/conditioner, and there was a small domestic blow-heater screwed to the wall above the toilet as a room heater - surely this isn't safe?
- the 'welcome' folder turned out to be a list of rules as long as your arm, expressed very punitively (must wash and dry all dishes or you will be charged, etc.), reminiscent of a dorm or backpacker joint but with a scolding, joyless tone - nothing luxury about it;
- we were offered use of the spa, but it was in what looked like the proprietor's back yard, the area cluttered with garden tools and miscellaneous stuff - very uninviting;
- we were warned that the house cats might come up to the apartments for a visit and not to let them on the furniture... being cat owners this wasn't an issue for us but for some guests this will be a deal-breaker;
- the apartments are a 10-minute walk to town or nearby supermarkets (return jorney uphill), but it's through some streets with unsavoury-looking residences, so I recommend driving.

In short, based on Coronet View's description I booked expecting one thing, but got quite another and it wasn't a welcome surprise. I can see this would be suitable accommodation for some, but it wasn't what I was looking for and wasn't what they promoted themselves to be.

For our money, I think we could have done better in Queenstown.

(for comparison, elsewhere on our trip we stayed at Cheltenham House at Hanmer Springs: now there is a place that lives up to the B&B promise, and provided actual luxury)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, as some rooms have none
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MissAnd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews