We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our honeymoon - magnificent”
Review of Matterhorn Chalet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matterhorn Chalet
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our honeymoon - magnificent”
Reviewed 4 July 2007

We stayed at the Matterhorn Chalet for 3 nights during our honeymoon in March 2006. Staying here was one of the highlights of our honeymoon. Yes, it was a little out of town and up a steep hill but we had a hire car so it didn't bother us and we got a taxi home at night which wasn't expensive. The views from each room are amazing and the whole place is beautifully decorated. Joe and Maria's wonderful hospitality, delicious cooking and magnificient home have made us decide to stay there again this year in September. We're hoping Joe and Maria will adopt us.....

  • Liked — Views
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaz_NSW_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2007

We stayed at the Matterhorn Chalet for 3 days in Feb 2007. The view of Lake Wakitipu and the Remarkables from the balcony of our room is the finest I have ever experienced in a hotel anywhere. The “price” that you have to pay for such an amazing view is that the Matterhorn is situated at the top of a very steep hill which at our age is a very daunting prospect to walk up. However there are plenty of taxis in the centre of Queenstown which will take you there after a night on the town for a modest $8.

The room itself was at the pinnacle of the building which indeed is designed like a Swiss chalet. It was very large but did not have its own private facilities (all the other rooms in the chalet do). When Joe and Maria get these installed there they will be able to offer the perfect penthouse – the bed is the biggest I have ever slept in - wider than it is long.

We did not notice any particularly arduous ‘house rules’ as mentioned by a previous contributor although it was the only b&b at which we stayed in NZ where we had to order breakfast the night before. The food and the hospitality of Joe and Maria were first class and we also left with a load of tips and information about life in NZ which enhanced the remainder of our visit there.

  • Liked — Th view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller-on-Tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2006

Matterhorn Chalet
We stayed here two nights in February 2006. Wonderful warm welcome from hosts Maria and Joe. Superb views of Lake Wakatipu from the terrace and some of the bedrooms. Maria is a wonderful cook and provided the best breakfast we had in NZ. A few niggles though - you have to order breakfast the night before and there seem to be quite a few 'house rules' - but this aside if you are looking for a nice B&B (shared bathroom) and are prepared for walking up a very steep hill if you are on foot then I would thoroughly recommend the Matterhorn Chalet.

Helpful?
4 Thank golf475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.3 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#36 of 58 in Queenstown
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#43 of 58 in Queenstown
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Chalet

Property: Matterhorn Chalet
Address: 20 Wakatipu Heights, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Number of rooms: 192
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Chalet Queenstown
Matterhorn Chalet Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing