We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation and Cabaret!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Larch Hill Homestay Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and Cabaret!!!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Larch Hill B & B is a great place to stay in Queenstown. Perfectly located, with lovely views of Lake Wakatipu and the mountains. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts superb. This was the second place we stayed on our holiday and Chris and Lesley certainly sold New Zealand well and provided some very useful information, as well as a great deal of humour and, in Chris's case, a touch of Cabaret!! Lovely people!!

Richard and Judy Harrison (Perth)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardh381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    22
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
92
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This was the final stay out of 13 on our 4 week trip down NZ and was one of the best. Our hosts, Lesley and Chris did all possible to make us welcome including assisstance in booking a trip to Doubtful Sound.
The accommodation is very clean, very comfortable and well appointed. The breakfasts were probably the best of the lot.
If we wanted to grouse about something - and this is very minor - we found the parking area a little restrictive.
We'd very much reccommend to ayone needing to stay close to Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6xb42long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

We were so fortunate to find this beautifully located B&B ... with its glorious location overlooking the lake and mountains just outside Queenstown (conveniently set on the outskirts of the city, just a few km from the airport).
Comfy and spacious rooms, great bed, lovely settings and a scrumptious breakfast -- with spectacular views -- highlighted our visit. Our hosts were keen to provide details on restaurants, activities, maps, directions and suggestions on any and all queries. All in all, our stay was grand and we will return upon our next trek to Queenstown. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishwriter1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We arrived late at night and Lesley was happy to meet us at 10pm, we were greeted with cakes and tea/coffee and Lesley also gave us the run-down on the what to do in Queenstown.
We booked the room through Agoda with no breakfast but Lesley and Chris still gave us breakfast! It was delicious, home baked breads, pastries, full continental breakfast and eggs and salmon. The views from Larch Hill are spectacular.
We stayed in the twin room (2 sgl beds) and they room was lovely with its own access and bathroom/basic kitchen facilities.\
Would highly recommend Larch Hill, we had a great relaxing time here and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerNZ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

On arrival we received a warm welcome from Lesley,who invited us out into the garden for tea and cake.The views across from here to Lake Wanaka were breathtaking!The same views were also seen from our bedroom which was equipped with tea/coffee,fridge and TV.We had our own separate bathroom with nice fluffy towels, which was just across the landing( bath + shower)
On both mornings we received a lovely breakfast with first rate ingredients supplied by Lesley with the help of her husband Chris,who had a great sense of humour.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDMWareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarchHill, Owner at Larch Hill Homestay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
We are very grateful to you and the other Trip Advisor contributors for such complimentary comments. We realise that for many of our guests, the visit to our distant country is often the trip of a lifetime and we do our best to make their stay in our region as enjoyable as we can. No matter what time of the year our visitors stay with us, they never fail to be impressed by the views of Lake Wakatipu from all our rooms.

Thank you for mentioning the quality of our breakfast ingredients which include coffee specially roasted for us (a delicious mix of Papua New Guinean and Colombian coffee beans) and free range eggs.

Very best wishes.

Lesley and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
497 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just two nights as part of South Island tour. Finding the right entrance was interesting - up a very steep entrance and then up the steps to the house. Our hosts were very welcoming and helped us up the steps with our bags. We had a room with private bathroom across corridor. On first night we walked into town on the lakeside path. Took about one hour going right around the town park, but definitely worth the time. Caught the number 11 bus back, and driver agreed to stop a bottom of road. Breakfast next morning on the veranda in the sunshine. Lots of choice and excellent coffee. Off for the Shotoverjet ride and then a walk up Queenstown Hill. Definitely recommend this B&B for location, views and friendliness of hosts.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrianML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed here for four nights (but would have liked to stay longer!). We were upgraded to the studio apartment, which has INCREDIBLE lake views from the living rooms and main bedroom.

Larch Hill is a little bit of the way out of Queenstown, so it's much quieter and more peaceful than hotels right in town.

Our hosts Leslie and Chris were delightful. They helped us plan bush walks and sightseeing in nearby towns and cooked a delicious breakfast for us each morning (hot croissants, fresh fruit salad with blueberries and pineapple, pastries, eggs with smoked salmon, homemade bread, muesli and more).

The room was clean, comfortable and included a laundry - a win for us after a week of travelling out of suitcases. Beautiful garden and surrounds too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
3,022 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larch Hill Homestay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larch Hill Homestay Bed and Breakfast

Property: Larch Hill Homestay Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 Panners Way, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Larch Hill Homestay Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in 'National Geographic Traveler' and Cathay Pacific's 'Discovery' magazines. A relaxing, warm and spacious home with spectacular lake and mountain views from all rooms, sundecks and guest lounge, close to ski fields, golf courses, vineyards, restaurants and Queenstown attractions. Each room has its own ensuite or private bathroom. FREE WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Larch Hill Homestay Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing