We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Peppers Beacon in a one-bedroom apartment having got a stay 3 pay 2 deal. The apartment was lovely, huge full size kitchen, dining area and lounge with gas fire place, bedroom was adequate size but bathroom was so, so tiny! There was a lovely balcony overlooking the esplanade and the lake where we could watch all the boats come and go, very pleasant.

There were a couple of negatives though - the noise from the upstairs apartment, would have thought buildings such as this would be soundproofed by now; the lack of wardrobe space in the bedroom; and the tiny bathroom.

It was a short 10 minute walk to town along the esplanade, easy access to the waterfront and park, and also within walking distance of the Gondola.

I do wonder why hotels such as this choose to add an additional 2.5% surcharge onto credit card payments though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morris80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley G, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Morris 80,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your experiences while staying at Peppers Beacon. We value all feedback and have noted the areas you both enjoyed and felt could have been improved on. Every concern reported is followed up to seek a solution so any possible discomfort is not repeated. I trust that you enjoyed the remainder of your trip throughout the stunning Queenstown region.

Kind regards and many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    433
    186
    96
    64
See reviews for
389
481
36
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

After traveling the whole of the South Island and experiencing great accommodation and lovely friendly people over 15 nights. We were really looking forward to our last night staying on the Beautiful bay at the Peppers Beacon because of the position and close to town. I experienced not so friendly welcome when checking in, which I hadn't experienced at all the previous places we'd stayed. The room was lovely and very spacious but stuffy. I went down to reception as I couldn't get thru on the house phone as it was always engaged and asked down there re air conditioner and all I was told was well your in Queenstown now!! Open the windows. Which we did and got a few blow flys and a bee come in. After a sleepless night as no breeze. We opened doors to balcony and a bird flew in. After complaining on check out the receptionist said oh you should of asked for a fan and I told her if I had been offered a fan when I first complained I would of. We found the staff not very friendly, which was the first time in our whole trip. It was sad to leave Queenstown on a low as we loved every bit of the beautiful country and people. I would not stay at Pepper Beacon ever again!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley G, Public Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Karen S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the beautiful Peppers Beacon. Your feedback has been noted with high importance as we are genuinely sorry that your stay was not as comfortable as it could and should have been. Thank you once again Karen and I trust that the remainder if your time in New Zealand was very enjoyable.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a beautiful resort! Our first impressions were excellent, the smell of freshly baked bread, a lovely spacious apartment and a magnificent view. Queenstown is Such a beautiful city, it was wonderful to come back to our relaxing unit each day. We stayed four days and could have stayed two weeks. We will definitely be back and will recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley G, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear BrianE,

I would have to agree that the views and location can not be rivalled in Queenstown. So pleased to see that you loved your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bar, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our family stayed at this hotel for a special birthday celebration in a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom apartment. Our apartment was fantastic - spacious, clean and with views to die for. We would certainly stay there again. The staff were friendly and helpful - as a special treat for the birthday girl, we arrived to freshly baking bread & a selection of condiments in our room on arrival.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor which had a large balcony that overlooked the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OConnor0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley G, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear OConnor0207,

Thank you for your most positive review and I was thrilled to read that you had such a great time with us. We love to make peoples holidays that little bit more special.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A highlight of our recent visit to NZ was walking into our 5th floor apartment at Peppers Beacon for the first time and seeing the layout and the view - it truly was a 'wow' moment. We had a 2 bedroom lake view apartment and for the price we paid through the hotel's web site (stay for 3 nights and receive an extra night for free), we couldn't have been happier with all aspects of our stay, including the location, facilities and service.

Everything about the apartment was clean, modern and comfortable and it was serviced daily. All the essentials (and more) were provided for, including all the usual bathroom accessories. And that view...!

The only minor negative was a lack of soundproofing of the door separating us from a one-bedroom hotel room (presumably this became unlocked to make a 3 bedroom configuration). However we accepted this as 'one of those things' and it wasn't really a problem as the door was towards the back of our apartment.

Aside from the physical aspects, what really stood out about this property was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Every time we passed reception we received a smile and usually a friendly comment. The housekeeping staff were also friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The lovely demeanour of staff contributed to a very enjoyable stay in a very beautiful part of the world. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Peppers Beacon to others or to stay there again.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernRiversNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley G, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear NorthernRiversNSW,

Thank you for your positive review of our great product. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable holiday in the not to distant future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed a whole week there. Nice setup in the room. good place for a family with young baby or you would like to cook yourself. They have free computer/printer and ice machine there. friendly staff and good car park. Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qikan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley G, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Qikan F,

Thank you for your great review. Hopefully we will see you back again some time for another relaxing vacation.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed 4 nights with these guys and I have to say that I was exceptionally impressed. I was in one of the 1 bed room lake view apartments and not only was the view spectacular but the room was well presented and had a spa in it. The small touches like 4 different types of tea and a coffee plunger with coffee included were all part of the charm.
Used room service and it was pretty good.
Proximity to town is excellent.
The real credit to the hotel were the staff! All staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. They provided me a lot of assistance with booking tours and activities and just generally with getting my bearings around town.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley G, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Beacon Queenstown, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear George183.

Mission accomplished, another satisfied guest. We would love to have you back for another enjoyable holiday next time you are wanting a great escape.

Many thanks and appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beacon Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beacon Queenstown

Property: Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Address: 34 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beacon Queenstown 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New Zealand's South Island, the stunning lakeside Peppers Beacon is just 10 minutes drive from Queenstown Airport and an easy five minute walk from the centre of Queenstown. The resort offers beautiful lake, mountain or garden views with a choice of four luxury accommodation styles including hotel rooms, two and three bedrooms suites and a deluxe penthouse suite offering picturesque views of the lake and Remarkables Mountains. All rooms have a television and sky television, tea/coffee making facilities, alarm/clock radio, refrigerator, hairdryer, STD/ISD direct dialing and ironing equipment. If you enjoy the finer things in life and enjoy your space then the suites are for you and include a fully equipped kitchen, private balcony, CD player, high speed internet access (fee) bath, tea/coffee making facilities, washing machine and dryers (please request when booking) and fireplace (please request when booking). The resort's stunning location provides a tranquil backdrop for rest and relaxation or you can take advantage of the various facilities onsite. Complete a workout in the gymnasium then soothe your muscles with a sauna, relaxing soak in the spa or an in-room massage. You can prepare your own barbeque lunch or dinner amongst the manicured hotel courtyard or choose from over 100 fine dining or casual restaurants, cafes and bars in Queenstown offering a different culinary journey each evening. Queenstown is the Adventure Capital of New Zealand and offers a wide range of activities to keep you entertained all year round. Experience thrilling extreme adventures, submerge yourself in the scenic brilliance of the local region, enjoy a night at the theatre or explore some of the local boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Beacon Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beacon Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing