We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of money really”

Odyssey Sensory Maze
Ranked #8 of 18 Fun & Games in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As you journey through Odyssey you will experience amazing illusions, lights, sound effects, quirky obstacles and strange sensations that will invigorate and indulge your senses!
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Waste of money really”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

For what it is and the time it takes (about 10mins) its not worth the cash. Save your money for other activities!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryTransporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMGrundy, Administrator at Odyssey Sensory Maze, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Hi Kazunts,

We are sorry to hear that you felt that Odyssey was a waste of money. However, I noticed that you said it only takes about 10 minutes to go through the maze. We encourage our customers to take their time on the journey through, and most people spend at least 30 minutes in the maze. There is no time limit on your experience and we greatly encourage people to spend as much time as they wish inside in order to get the full value from their experience.

Kind regards,
Courtney Grundy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    56
    31
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Alot of fun”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This place is so surreal, from entering the strange long colourful tunnel, and heading on your insane journey around the maze. its fun from start to finish, we were a bit dubious as we weren't really sure what it was, there was a brilliant guy from America on reception who talked us through the whole thing in the most mysterious way. I am really big on customer service and he was brilliant, he had us in absolute stitches the whole time we were there. We had no idea what to expect when we entered about from maybe some crazy sound effects. It was so much fun in there. I don't want to spoil the surprise about what is in there but wow just do it! The only thing that lets this place down is the lack of photos, they do take a photograph for facebook but that's not the same as a nice fun picture showing your experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gembazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMGrundy, Administrator at Odyssey Sensory Maze, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi Gembazz,

Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! At Odyssey it's our aim to provide a unique and wonderful journey that takes you out of everyday life and invigorates and challenges all your senses along the way! So we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your Odyssey experience.

We pride ourselves on our high standard of customer service, so we are glad to hear that you found our staff brilliant and funny! We are always grateful for feedback and have taken on board your comments about the photos.

Thanks again for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon, whether at our Queenstown maze or our maze in Auckland!

Kind regards,
Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I'm always sceptical of these types of places, my son really wanted to go and as it's his holiday too we went.

All I can say is we all had a ball. I didn't want to leave some rooms. I had as much fun as the kids.

Helpful?
Thank PandCSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMGrundy, Administrator at Odyssey Sensory Maze, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi PandCSki,

Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! At Odyssey it's our aim to provide a unique and wonderful journey that takes you out of everyday life and invigorates and challenges all your senses along the way! So we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your Odyssey experience.

Odyssey is definitely something to be enjoyed by all ages, so it's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the journey through as much as your son. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
2 reviews
“Its Amazing”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

How about this place we donned our special socks emptied our pockets and lined up at the door then it was our turn what family fun thanks guys

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Binga x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMGrundy, Administrator at Odyssey Sensory Maze, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi Binga,

Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! At Odyssey it's our aim to provide a unique and wonderful journey that takes you out of everyday life and invigorates and challenges all your senses along the way! So we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your Odyssey experience.

We're glad your family had fun and we look forward to seeing you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards,
Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This place is expensive for some really stupid stuff, there wasn't that many rooms in there. If you have been to infinity at the Goldcoast, its like that, except this one is like a crappier version. Better off spending your money else where.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank window2paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle J, Owner at Odyssey Sensory Maze, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear window2paradise,

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your Odyssey experience.

We respectfully disagree with your comments in that we aren't similar to the attraction you mentioned, nor to any other attraction out there.

Your review is not in keeping with the majority of those left for us. Odyssey is a unique offering and the price is set to reflect this unique experience.

Kind Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Odyssey Sensory Maze also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Odyssey Sensory Maze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing