We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 10 nights during our trip to Queenstown in July 2013. The place was good value for money, had spacious rooms, great views and friendly staff. We were a little unsure of where and how long to stay in the place as this was our first trip to Queenstown. We decided to modify our booking mid trip so we were able to visit a couple of different places along the West Coast. Upon hesitantly approaching the staff at late notice to modify our booking, they were more than accommodating to make everything work for us. Nothing we asked or requested from Adrienne or Kelly (the hotel management) seemed to be a burden or hassle for them. I would stay here again and recommend anyone travelling to Queenstown to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    115
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
80
195
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. I have mixed views on this place and when it comes to Queenstown overall, so I will go through the good and bad.

I booked the "panoramic honeymoon suite" expecting exactly that, i.e. uninterrupted 180 degree views, however when I saw the room, there was a large window facing the road on the left, a 1.5m x .6m window facing the lake and a tiny window on the right facing town (above the kitchen sink). To me, I don't believe this is panoramic. I certainly had a lovely view of the lake from the window if I stood right in front of it, but the roof of the apartment below us was blocking the view a bit also. My view of "panoramic" is different to what I experienced. I would probably rename this "lake view" instead.

I was expecting a larger room or "suite" but the room was quite small. There was really nothing "honeymoon" about it. The kitchen was very basic and I was disappointed that room service don't wash your dishes (it was standard at the other motels we stayed at). The wifi is for 1 hour per 24 hours which is not sufficient.

On the good side however, we asked management to leave and they were very flexible and understanding. They authorised a cancellation of the remaining nights and didn't charge us, which I thought was very positive even when we checked out 2 hours after the usual time. The location is also close to town and parking is plenty.

I had expected Queenstown to be a bit quieter in the summer as I have been previously in winter and it gets very busy. We also left Queenstown to stay in Wanaka because we felt it was overcrowded, overpriced with many businesses owned / operated by foreigners. There is nothing wrong with this, but I had missed interacting with the local Kiwis. Queenstown also attracts a certain demographic, i.e. bogans and hooligans. Because there are a lot of thrill-seeking activities in the area, there are generally younger people. I found both the "locals" and tourists to be rude and disrespectful. NZ'ers are the most laid back people (especially native Kiwis) so I think it's something about that town that's just not quite right for our honeymoon.

But overall, NZ is a wonderful location for families, backpackers, couples or just solo travelling. It can be as relaxed or adventurous as one desires. The scenery is stunning, the roads are straight making it easy to get from one location to another and I encourage everyone to go to NZ both north and south island to see postcard landscapes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJP_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne and Ke... B, Owner at Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Thank you for providing your honest feedback on Alexis and Queenstown in general. We aim to make our descriptions and photographs of the rooms very realistic so are sorry you never felt this way, however we never market ourselves as honeymoon suites.

As you mentioned we want everyone to enjoy their stay and we were happy to help you.

As the main tourism hub of NZ, Queenstown can often be busy and the traditional shoulder seasons are getting shorter as visitor demographics change. Some of the visitors you mention tend to arrive in Queenstown during holiday weekends, but there are more alternative thrill seeking activities for the softer adventurer which is making Queenstown a destination not just for the younger ones.

The Queenstown mix is very cosmopolitain in both visitors and residents with a large overseas element. This can often provide a more varied experience and offerings to other destinations in NZ, however we are both Kiwis and own and manage our properties, and are constantly making investments in them, particularly in fixtures and fittings to keep our properties modern. In the last few weeks we have upgrade a few bathrooms, added more tiling and improved furniture.

As you mention it is a great idea to visit both Queenstown and Wanaka as they are very different in nature and layout, yet so close, making it easy to visit both.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon in New Zealand and it was a pleasure to host you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and were impressed with the location and value for money. Well furnished clean apartments with lake views, and walking distance to the own centre, made our stay at Alexis a pleasurable one. Friendly hosts, with lots of good advice. Great cat!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the studio, and I would recommend a larger room for longer stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Nicely set up with simple kitchen, Fantastic view with easy walk to town or loop. The staff lady was very helpful. Motel was well maintained with dedicated parking and a community washer/dryer. The apartment was quite comfortable for 3 or 4 people in case of inclement weather.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed for three nights in a lovely apartment with balcony with clear views of the lake. Apartment well furnished, clean and airy and staff very helpful on site. Wifi slightly slow but to be expected! Nice walk into town, not too far at all. There was some noise on the saturday night from back packing hostels but this will be true of anywhere in central Queenstown

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had booked in early for 3 nights, got the corner honeymoon suite, though it's our 25th year of wedding :) The room, kitchen, proximity to town, information available were one of the best in our 20 day drive tour one of the best managed Motels we have seen in the price range. The views were to the lake, hills were lovely, you can watch the sunrise sitting in the corner room at the back of the building. The road down would take you to the lake, 2 minutes downhill, you can sit on the benches near the lake and spend days watching action in the lake. Linen, towels were spotless, bathroom very clean and bed not too soft that it would give you a backache, other places we stayed had all sagging springs, sure prescription to burst your spine. Limited but fast wi-fi was a breeze and enough to check mails, room had a CD player and you can borrow discs from the reception, good selection of movies form all genres. The car park is adequate at the covered garage, you need to go down the steps to it, a little bothersome if you have luggage, but not a big problem. Would recommend this place highly and we would stay here again in our next trip to Q-Town.

Room Tip: Choose the corner room at the back which has views to the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Recently stayed 4 nights in a panaromic studio. Had spectacular views of the lake and mountains. Room was spotlessly clean and very spacious with modern décor.Hosts were friendly and helpful,and the location is just a short 5-8 min walk into town which was handy.All up a fantastic stay and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 803bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#33 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
0.1 mi away
Amity Lodge Motel
Amity Lodge Motel
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queenstown Motel Apartments
Queenstown Motel Apartments
#35 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments

Property: Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments
Address: 69 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexis Motor Lodge & Apartments is the perfect place to stay in central Queenstown where you can enjoy the excellent lake and mountain views form all our rooms. We have free high speed wireless internet, LCD TVs and free underground parking. After a short 10 minute stroll from the centre of town you can relax with a glass of wine on the terrace. You can also walk into town along the lakefront and via the park to have a relaxing stroll. We have 16 luxury units including studios and 1 & 2-bedroom units. Some studio units have spa baths and we have free underground parking. We look forward to helping you with your time in Queenstown to ensure you get the most from your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge And Apartments Hotel Queenstown
Alexis Hotel Queenstown
Alexis Motel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing