We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lots of potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Queenstown Park is in a great location. Close enough to the main town without being right in the middle of the hubbub. The rooms look really fancy, but have several design flaws. For example, why is it that a blue light remains on over the bed at night making it hard to sleep because your shades are down (if you hit the button to turn off the light, up your shades go!)? Why is there no divider for the shower, so that the whole bathroom gets filled with water when showering? Why are there only a limited number of plug-ins for such a techy-looking hotel? Why is the towel warmer default turned on so hot that you can burn yourself if you accidently touch it?

That being said, I don't know if you'll get a better experience in Queenstown at this price range.

The evening canapes are fantastic and their drink selection is pretty good, including non-alcoholic drinks.

We did enjoy our stay here, we were just confused as to why such a nice looking hotel with so much potential had these flaws in design.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sillymango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    109
    20
    1
    5
See reviews for
128
520
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a well located, very chic, small hotel. The staff are very courteous and the service is excellent. it adjoins a park and is a very short walk to town center.

However, the entire room, from the flooring to the partition walls to the furniture is made of synthetic materials, mostly plastics, and consequently there is a strong odor of off-gassing plastics and adhesives. The decor and gadgetry (light switches, curtain switches, shower valve, etc.) are too modern and complicated. Some people like this kind of decor, but not me. Give me natural wood, ceramic tile and concrete walls any day over plastic laminates and gypsum board.

Given the short comings mentioned above, the hotel is overpriced as well.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect stay. Only too short. Amazing design of the rooms. Very modern. Every amenity from plunger coffee to great bathrobes and slippers. Free wifi. Perfect location. Nice terrace. Amazing wine and canapé hour from 6-7, such a nice touch! We loved it and can't wait to return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Triplovers1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We have arrived at about 9pm in Queenstown looking for accommodation. I checked the reviews and availability on TripAdvisor and we went to find this hotel. Reception door was shut so we called the office telephone and were told that they do have a vacancy but they don't accept any more guests. ... What would happen if we actually paid for our stay on TripAdvisor? We find it incredible that we were turned away, or the $300 they would charge us... Don't advertise on TripAdvisor if you don't want customers! !!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QPH_Team, General Manager at Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear JitkaW

Whilst very pleased that our wonderful guest feedback on Trip Advisor prompted you to visit us upon your arrival in Queenstown, I am very disappointed at your lack of welcome to our lovely property upon enquiring after hours.

It is normal practice to respond to late arrivals, telephone enquiry and offer guest assistance 24 hours per day, but on this occasion our support systems have let us down. Please accept my sincere apologies for something that is completely out of the norm for our hotel. Don’t hesitate to contact me personally for assistance to remedy this negative impression.

Karen Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This place looks great in the photos and a lot of 'design' has gone into this hotel - if a little 'footballers-wives' - gold frames, black chandeliers - all a bit past it now, for the price we paid the reality did not bowl me over. The rooms are not huge, there are a lot of gadgets and gizmos, breakfast was not included, the location is not the best, there is no heart to the hotel - just an entrance lobby and then separate stairs up to each room. There are many light switches and finding the right one can be baffling. On a positive note, the bed is comfortable, the sky view from the shower is good, the mini-kitchen is great and it is different to everything else around. Maybe all that is missing are the personal touches and a few extras thrown in for the high price?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at the hotel in December. The room was spacious and clean with a nice kitchenette to fix hot drinks or have a snack. The service was great (especially helpful in obtaining reservations for dining in hot spots) and the breakfast was worth the extra cost. The location provides easy access to town, the gondola, and the open field is great for families with children.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Wow .amazing hotel one of the best we have stayed in,made exceptional by thoughtful and friendly staff . We were made very welcome as we arrived after a very cold and wet bike journey .rooms were beautifully designed very contemporary with astounding view of the queenstown gondolas .customer service was the best in every way .cannot fault this hotel .we had three nights here and celebrated new year .highly recommend this hotel .nicky and ian uk .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Headmasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#3 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel

Property: Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Address: 21 Robins Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel designed and built for the 5 star traveler in mind. Only 300 meters from the centre of Queenstown Central. Rooms are spacious and luxurious, each with its own kitchenette. Enjoy breakfast with fellow travelers or on your own courtyard or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing