We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boutique Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2009

If you are looking for a 'cardboard cut-out' 5 star hotel with all the trimmings (e.g porters, room service), this is not for you. However, if you are looking for a wonderful, top class boutique hotel, with excellent very personalized service - this is the place for you. We stayed in a Gondola Room, which are standard hotel size rooms but feel slightly larger because of their design. The king size bed is supremely comfortable. We had a room backing out onto the street and we found the traffic noise minimal (this was in April which may be off season). It is out of the main mall, so you do not get all the noise from people constantly walking through the mall - but it is only a 5 minute walk to everything. The school ground opposite didn't provide any noise that bothered us and it was actually nice to see some local life being carried on around you. When I say this I mean dogs being exercised, children throwing frisbees etc, not thousands of screaming children (like we experienced in a 5 star hotel we stayed at in France).The sky light in the bathroom is fantastic and gives a great illusion of space in a small bathroom. I was a little wary to start with but no one can see in and the curtain pulled across the glass fronting the bedroom blocks it off from the bedroom. It was nice to have the toilet in its own space separated from the bathroom. Yes, the air conditioning in the Gondola rooms does seem to focus around the entrance area of the rooms (where the air con vent is) but set at 22 degrees celcius, our room was nice and cosy all night when it was freezing cold outside. The owners here have obviously been very thoughtful of all the touches that have gone into the hotel. John and Donna are excellent hosts and Flo the receptionist is fantastic. It is so refreshing, having travelled widely, to receive the kind of welcome that we got here. One big recommendation is the breakfast. It is an a la carte menu, so you basically choose one item (which is accompanied by fresh juice, crossaints and tea/coffee), as opposed to a buffet, but everything on them menu was cooked to a very high standard. This is probably the best breakfast that we have ever experienced, from a quality perspective, anywhere where we have travelled. We have stayed elsewhere in Queenstown before with a lake view, but we will now be returning to the Queenstown Park Hotel next time because it was such a comfortable, quality experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belgo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2009

I must start with saying that Donna did try very hard to make our stay more pleasant. Although most of the other reviews rave over this hotel, one must go there knowing a few things. One: if privacy is on the top of your list then the bathroom design will not be for you. The bathrooms were designed with glass walls, thus if you are staying with your loved one you will not only be able to see him or her in all her/his glory in the shower but also on the toilet. The hotel (probably as an afterthought) added a thin-material curtain in front of the bathroom doors but it doesn't do the job. Two: if you go in Fall/Winter the heating system does not cover all parts of the room (especially the penthouse or two/floor rooms). We stayed in the penthouse apt/room and it was cold in the bedrooms. The living room of the penthouse rooms have a gas fireplace but the heat stays in the living room. We were given small portable heaters but one wouldn't expect to have this problem in a five star establishment. Third: traffic noise can be a problem for those who are light sleepers and, during the day, foot traffic can see (unless you keep the blinds down all the time) right into your room (also hotel is right across the street from a school). Fourth: it is very easy for someone else to access the patios without any security gate etc. Finally, if you are looking for a place with views of the lake, this is not your place. On the plus side, Donna and John were very hospitable, the room was nicely decorated and clean. Also, the location is centralized and you really don't need a car to get to restaurants or the market.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travellingman2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

This hotel was the most impressive stay we had in New Zealand. The hotel is newly build and has many features that we have never seen anywhere. We were met by the host at the front desk and were escorted to our room. He gave us a full tour. The lobby was well decorated - a very modern motif with a central fireplace. The lobby was were breakfast was served every morning and canapes and wine in the early evening. The hotel had two levels and a carpark underneath. Our room had many suprising features. A black dimming chandelier complimented the ultra-modern look of the room, which was primarily cold colors but still very inviting. A remote control shade for the balcony doors had two settings - one for privacy and one to block sun. Our view from the room took in the Remarkables surrounding Queenstown. The toilet and sink were in a separate room from the shower. The shower had a skylight that gave the bathroom a very open feeling. A small kitchenette was also available with two complimentary ice cream samples. An impressive T.V. and comfortable bed made relaxing easy. This was also the first hotel that offered complimentary internet. The hosts and front desk staff helped with many suggestions as to dining and various activities that could be done on a rainy day. The heart of Queenstown was an easy walk away. The overall cost of this stay was more than most but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

This is now one of my very favorite hotels in the world. The property is very new and everything is in impeccable condition. John and Donna run the property and they are rockstars of hospitality. You can tell they truly love to serve people and help them to have a great vacation. I was very disorganized about my trip planning, I had no idea what to do in Queenstown. The first day that I got to the hotel, I sat in the lovely lobby at their complimentary happy hour with a glass of wine relaxing. Within a few minutes, John had told me about many of the great tour options in the area and booked all of them for me then and there (and btw at the exact same prices as if you went to the tour bookers directly, no upcharge for this). It was such a relief and everything ended up wonderfully. My room was great, all kinds of nice little touches, loved the skylight over the shower and the Arrowtown fudge in the room. STAY HERE!! It's the best 5 star value in the city in my option. Other options like the Softiel were significantly more expensive and I think this lovely small boutique hotel offered so much more. It was very convenient and close to town, but set apart enough so there were no noise issues. Thanks John and Donna, you guys are fantastic! Can't wait to plan my next vacation and come stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarlett779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

A great little hotel. We had a room with a shower and kitchenette and there was some great style, although one or two odd examples of form over function. The view outside was of the gondola's and mountain side but it wasn't overly great. The service is exceptionally good with a helpful, friendly and knowledgeable couple running the hotel. There are pre-dinner drinks and breakfast which are good ways to meet the other guests in a hotel which has little other interaction.

The room is stunning but from a minimalist perspective. The two odd examples of form over function are a strangely place light right by the entry and a lack of places to put soap, shampoo etc in the bathroom.

The hotel is really close to the town center but in a quiet area, I would heartily recommend it as a great place to explore the town from.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green_kermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Can't say enough good things about the Queenstown Park hotel. I found them online and was originally attracted to the design, but was wary since sometimes web sites can be deceiving. But the QPH was every bit as gorgeous as the website, and John, Donna, and Flo made the experience so much more than just a pretty hotel. They really made us feel at home at check-in, during pre-dinner drinks & canapes, and really any time we came home from one adventure or another. They gave us fantastic advice on restaurants, activities, and all of our travels in/around Queenstown and all of NZ.

We originally booked for two nights and extended our stay to 3 nights. The location is fantastic, the bed is supremely comfortable, and all of the fixtures and finishes are gorgeous. I highly recommend the Queenstown Park Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

This was absolutely the best part of our 2 week stay in New Zealand - there's no way anything at Queenstown Park Hotel could have gone any better. The property and room were gorgeous - all the newest and neatest in technology and design. The location was perfect - about a block from the main street, everything was walkable within about 2-5 minutes. The staff and accommodations were absolutely perfect and exceeded my very high expectations. We were there for our honeymoon and were taken care of as if we were the only guests there, John, Donna and Florence gave the best recommendations for restaurants, tours, what to do and what NOT to do: they have mastered the "art" of hospitality!! We can't wait to go back to Queenstown and when we do - will definitely return to Queenstown Park Hotel!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfshoegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel

Address: 21 Robins Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range: £207 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel designed and built for the 5 star traveler in mind. Only 300 meters from the centre of Queenstown Central. Rooms are spacious and luxurious, each with its own kitchenette. Enjoy breakfast with fellow travelers or on your own courtyard or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing