We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large modern self contained apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LakeRidge Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Large modern self contained apartments”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have stayed in a number of venues in Queenstown ; this was our first time at Lake Ridge.
Overall it has a lot of positives-great views if in the front 2 apartments ( not sure about others which are stacked behind) with a good deck area; large living areas, modern and in very good condition; 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms so suitable for a family. A good laundry area is also provided. Free wifi which was a little variable. The kitchen is excellent and well equipped, and a large dining table is provided so very suitable for in house catering. The keyless entry is an excellent idea . The apartment is well heated and insulated , has a gas fire upstairs and underfloor heating in all areas.

Downsides-on a hill so an easy walk down to town-10mins a easy pace, but would be too much for most to walk back. So a car desirable ( they provide a garage ). The accommodation had to be completely prepaid (not sure why), this is most unusual in my experience. The bedrooms are small, especially the third which has 2 single beds touching each other, and the bathroom in the ensuite is tiny. There was little privacy or noise containment between the bedrooms and bathrooms so need to bear this in mind, similarly street noise or outside foot traffic was easily heard. It would have also been nice to have had BBQ and spa area or garden/landscaping at this price.
Note: There is no onsite manager ( not that we needed assistance, all equipment ran well) and check out is an early 10am although they pleasantly agreed to 11 am at our request. The nearest convenience store is about 10 mins away at the bottom of the hill.

Room Tip: Best views from apartment 8 and apartment next door to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stellamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Manager at LakeRidge Queenstown, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello Stellam

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at LakeRidge Condos.
Overall it is great to see you enjoyed your stay with us, our facilities, our apartment presentation and great views.

We value all guest comments about their stay as its often the little things mentioned that help us fine tune our operation and constantly improve facilities and service for all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    24
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
87
16
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
happo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Fantastic clean , easy check in/check out, will stay again.


Stuff NOT GOOD.
1. No Ipod dock despite indications on the web and the paperwork in the unit that one was present.
2. For such an awesome Kitchen, utensils to actually prepare a full meal were limited, Cutting boards Knives etc.

3. 3rd bedroom should NOT be advertised as 2 singles when it is 2 bunk beds. (We invited a 3rd couple who fortunately did not come but I would have been embarrassed to see them charged $100 per night to stay in that bedroom)

Overall for us a 9.5..that view was awesome.

We have been staying in Queenstown for over 30 years and would rate these apartments as well or better than our old favorites, Blue peaks, the Glebe and our old old fave, St James apartments (Not including the walk up the hill)


What was awesome...The view, the view, the view and the overall cleanliness more than make up for the extra distance from town and the walk up the hill.

Overall AWESOME and well be back.

Room Tip: Units 1, 7 or 8 have amazing views, but beware, bunk beds in bed 3 of unit 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaysouthManager, Manager at LakeRidge Queenstown, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hello and many thanks for your comments Happo. When the iphone 5 came out it became problematic that the docking requirements differed so we replaced the iphone dock with an audio cable to fit all iphones androids smart phones and laptops. Were you aware of that cable in your unit?
We have had feedback regarding the kitchens from many guests and supplemented the crockery to the point where all guest comments were positive. In your opinion what specifically could be improved upon?
Condo 1 is the only condo with bunks and we keep it for families usually not large groups of adults. You were allocated this condo because you booked as 2 couples.
Overall however thank you for your feedback which as always is warmly received and it’s the little things that are pointed out that help us to fine tune our operation and constantly improve the facilities for our guests. We would love to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrowan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I booked this 3brm Apartment on line. It was exactly as the website had described. We were the 2 nd apartment in the block, but, it did not obscure our view from the huge living/kitchen and dining room. Absolutely magnificent. It was always warm and we loved the floor heating. Plenty of bathrooms and comfortable bedrooms. All cooking facilities, laundry too. The keyless entry was a bonus as anyone of us could return at any time. We also had a secure lockup garage. We would definitely return. Great for families or adults.

Room Tip: Ask for twin beds rather than bunks. Also the front apartment of each block will give you an uninter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenGlenrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syaysouth_Manager, General Manager at LakeRidge Queenstown, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Kristen so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at LakeRidge Condos. It was certainly gratifying to us that the fabulous views, proximity to town and overall presentation and set up of the condo more than met your expectations. It is our constant aim to make our processes as simple as possible and of course to ensure all round comfort and enjoyment for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Great location, spectacular views, spacious, well set out apartment. The rooms were lovely and warm when we arrived. The kitchen is superb. All appliances were in good condition and of a high quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syaysouth_Manager, Manager at LakeRidge Queenstown, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Hello Maree
Sounds like you enjoyed a perfect stay with us at LakeRidge Condos. Thank you for your glowing recommendations about the location, kitchen and overall presentation of the condo. Of course we are biased being Queenstown based all year, but yes the views are wonderful from all the condos. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed in No. 8 (front unit) and it was excellent. A gorgeous view straight out to the lake and town, could also see the gondola at night lit up as well. It had everything we needed for 4 adults and 3 young kids
Amazing warm heated tiling in bathrooms and kitchen, night store down stairs and gas fire in kitchen/lounge area kept the entire place toasty warm when the weather was - degree outside
Really clean and tidy with a great door code system which is keyless so no need to share keys with friends, they actually walked to town a couple of times with a 2 year old and 6 month instead of driving as it was an easy walk (one hill to climb) and a playground was just down the road a bit which came in handy every day
Overall we all agree we would go back in a heartbeat! For the reasonable price it was Amazing!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaceDiegoBink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya A, Manager at LakeRidge Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Many thanks for your favourable comments and its wonderful to hear you would be back in a heartbeat!
Of course we are biased but we couldn't agree more that the view is amazing and the condos are warm and inviting, handy to town and great value.
We would love to welcome you back to stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were in Condo no. 6. There was myself and my husband plus two single friends. This apartment is excellent and we will definitely be staying again. Upstairs is lovely and spacious - kitchen, lounge and dining. The gas fireplace upstairs is wonderful. Downstairs has the three bedrooms (one with en suite), another bathroom plus separate toilet. I would note that the third bedroom, containing two single beds is much smaller than the other bedrooms. We had one adult staying in there. It might be a little squishy with more than one adult. Condo no. 6 is in the second row of apartments but the view is still completely magnificent. We easily walked to and from town however it is quite steep for a small part of the walk home and might be too much for some. The whole apartment was spotless and in excellent condition. The included wifi was also a bonus. There are no on-site managers but this was not a problem at all. We were in Queenstown for a wedding with a large group of people. We had plenty of room to entertain and have people over to 'our place' for lunch or dinner. I cannot recommend this place enough. (Travelled late May 2013).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya A, Manager at LakeRidge Queenstown, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments and good to hear you had a fabulous stay. We do agree that all the condos enjoy magnificent views and their spaciousness makes entertaining with friends and family very easy. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

I have just been organizing my holiday pictures and thought I should post this overdue review of my stay at The Lakeridge Condos. We stayed at No 5 Lakeridge Condos for two weeks over the Christmas / New Year holidays. The apartment is on 2 levels with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms on the lower level and a fantastic open plan lounge / kitchen / dinner on the upper level. As soon as you walk into the lounge you the huge balacony and stunning view over the lake and mountains takes your breath away. The apartment is furnished in a very contemporary style and with a very well equiped kitchen and dinning room making it perfect for entertaining. Also on a practical note there is a seperate garage which was big enough for our big 4x4 rental car which we didn't have to use in Queenstown as the apartment is 5 mins walk from the lake and town centre. If your staying in this truely beautiful part of New Zealand the Lakeridge Condos are perfect

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cdlelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeRidge Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeRidge Queenstown

Property: LakeRidge Queenstown
Address: 51 Thompson St. | P. O. Box 446, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LakeRidge Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine 5-Star Qualmark rated luxury 3-bedroom self catering apartments. 5 minute walk to downtown Queenstown. Sleeps 6-7 people. Minimum night stay requirement varies from 2 to 7 depending on the time of year. Immaculately presented with underfloor heating, gas fire and large spa bath. 1GB Free WiFi per day per apartment. All condos have full views of the Remarkables Mountain Range and Lake Wakatipu from the top floor - comprising a fully equipped chef's kitchen, dining area and sitting room with a large flat screen TV, DVD and CD player, radio and IPod stereo connection. TV coverage is digital Sky with all channels available for viewing. The 3 bedrooms and 2½ bathrooms are on the middle floor; a master king-double, a king-double (splittable) and a third twin/bunk room. The bed configuration can accommodate either 5 singles or 2 couples and 2 singles. The master bedroom has an en-suite bathroom with shower, basin and toilet. The second bathroom has a basin, shower and spa bath and there is a separate toilet with basin. Each condo has its own private garage on the ground floor, plus one off-street car park - all very easy to drop groceries (and the children) at the door before putting the car away for the night! And a full laundry (sink, washing machine and dryer) is either in the garage or on the middle level. No keys are required for the condos - entry is by digital key-pad, making access easy, simple and convenient and although there is no on-site Reception/staff support is available from your condo's VOIP phone. Baby equipment and a foldaway bed for a seventh person are availble upon request, at an additional nightly rate. Relax in front of the fire with a glass of local Pinot Noir, soak in the spa bath after a day in the mountains or just wind-down and admire a truly spectacular Queenstown sunset over the lake and mountains! Perfect for any season! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your LakeRidge Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeridge Condos Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing