We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going upstairs is best”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chico's Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Chico's Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going upstairs is best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The name doesn't do the place justice. Sounds Mexican, but is actually simply good pub food and drink. Upstairs is better than the small downstairs area, as there is more room and a great open fire. Food excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murli128, Manager at Chico's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Our upstairs has been operating as Chico's Bar & Grill for over 30 years.
We have dining capacity for over 80 people.
Downstairs our Old Man Rock cafe seats 20.
The open fire places are a great draw card which we have in both places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    64
    23
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great first impression is about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The fella that was front of house was really good but was a downwards slide from there.
Seemed understaffed for a busy easter weekend. I seen 2 waitress/waiters. Seemed to sit us down and forget about us essentially. Usually it's my partner who gets titchy at service before I do but we were about to walk out in all honesty it was that bad. Took 15mins before they came to get our drinks order, entrees were prompt but then another hour wait for mains to arrive.

We noticed those that came in after us and had larger groups still received their meals before us, which I wasn't impressed about. I hardly consider lamb and some fish and chips to take an hour to get out of the kitchen a reasonable timeframe, and nobody came to tell us why there was a delay. Overall we just felt forgotten about, my partner liked the lamb but the fish and chips were definitely average. Probably would not go here again just due to the service side of things.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soraya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murli128, Manager at Chico's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your comments which we take very seriously.
We are happy to hear our boy in the street is doing a good job.
We are sorry to hear you waited a long time to be served, this is definitely not our policy at all and we will be reviewing our procedures to ensure this does not occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vegetation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Travelling through queenstown and all I wanted was a stuffed mushroom. I was statisfied YUMMM the loved it and the service was great. Thank you

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murli128, Manager at Chico's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Great to hear our mushrooms hit the spot!
We offer a wide range of vegetarian and gluten free meals.
Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worse service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Never been treated so bad before. The food was horrible and disgusting. It was late at the night and I guess they want to close that's why they were serving us so fast and rude and forcing us to eat and leave soon. That was very bad! And I will never come back there. :-(

Helpful?
Thank buduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murli128, Owner at Chico's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We are extremely disappointed in our team for letting you down so badly.
We are reviewing footage to determine why exactly you were not given the service and food that we pride ourselves on.
Please be assured we have taken steps to never have a complaint like this again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We dined at this restaurant when we visited last year and remembering the good food and service that we had enjoyed we made a point of eating there again on this trip. I am sorry to say that the experiences were like chalk and cheese. We ordered drinks on arrival and then sat with empty glasses for the rest of the night with no follow up from waiting staff who whilst being friendly spent more time chatting to other people than doing their jobs.We ordered salmon and venison as mains with a side of vegetables, the meals were slow in arriving and when they did one was cold with the chips dried out and the ordered side of vegetables had been forgotten,fifteen minutes later they eventually came but only when the meal was almost finished. We were not offered the desserts menu or coffees but at that stage we were glad to leave.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chico's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing