We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cow Restaurant

Cow Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 254 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Cow has one of the best atmospheres available in a restaurant today. Stepping in, the double door closes behind you with an old pulley and weight as the scent of the crackling wood fire first hits your nose. This place is small but has an unbeatable charm as you are invited to sit on wooden furnishings that appear to be straight out of a German beer tavern.

There was only one woman waiting tables while we were there but she did a great job keeping up with all of the orders and service requests. Definitely order a loaf of their fresh garlic bread, and if you are interested in a change (I had never had one before) try out their bolognese pizza.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tehLoraxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    313
    82
    38
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Atmosphere can't be beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a cozy restaurant with a serious historical feel. There will probably be a fire in the hearth, so if there is a chill in the air or a drizzle, head straight to the Cow for great soups or an amazing pizza. Everything they serve is quality and the service is fantastic. I went to New Zealand for 4 weeks over 4 months ago and this restaurant stands out in my memory.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MissAnnieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Magical hidden spot in an already magical Queesntown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

What to say about this place other than it is fantastic. Very quaint little old stone hut hidden down a side street in Queenstown. If you are a Lord of the Rings fan (like I am) you will find this place very neat. You'll swear you are seated in the Prancing Pony and watching out for Stryder in back corner. The pizza is very good and while you may be put-off by having to share tables with others (the place is very small) it actually was a lot of fun both times my wife and I went there. Made for fun conversation and sharing adventures with others.
There is a big roaring fire that is kept going at night and very neat old timber that makes up the tables, booths, chairs. Cool small little bar in the back that makes this place a favorite for all-time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank anthony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, service average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This restaurant is quaint, small and very busy... does not take reservations and we had to share a large table, which was ok but had I been dining as a couple would not have impressed me!. the service was a little slow but nothing major, the food was good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tipsontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious & a great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We got the spaghetti bolognese and it was beautifully rich and flavoursome. We also had the prosciutto pizza on the side, which can only be described as moreish. If you are in Queenstown, you must find this little hidden gem. The atmosphere was spectacular, sitting by a log fire with a glass of wine, and then eating dinner by candlelight. Everything about this place was magnificent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cow Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Cow Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing