We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for our anniversary !”

Roaring Megs Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 259 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Searching for the perfect NZ Lamb dish? Then look no further than Roaring Megs, this unique little restaurant will not disappoint! Established in 1981, Megs has continued to lead the field by being the only restaurant in the area to receive 18 consecutive NZ Beef & Lamb Gold plates(incl. 2017) and win both the recent Central Otago Lamb Dish of the Year and NZ Beef & Lamb Peoples Choice competitions. Megs unique menu has distinct European/NZ influences and the Rack of Canterbury Lamb and Lamb Cutlets with Confit are must tries whilst in Queenstown. The atmosphere and Victorian decor is the perfect setting for a romantic, candlelit dinner or group get together. Arrive before the sun sets for a Remarkables view.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great choice for our anniversary !”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have been recommended Roaring Megs for our anniversary dinner. What a great choice and treat ! We have been looked after very well and the food and wine could not have been better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 800georgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    48
    20
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
“MEG-a dissapointment!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The only thing roaring is my rage...what a dissapointment. Ordered venison and steak. The steak was barely edible and the venison had to be sent back because it was so tough. Not s good display of "NZ meat at its finest" as they claim.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvie-fliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayden, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My brother wanted rack of lamb in order to celebrate catching five trout on the Clutha River below Wanaka. Hotel concierge recommended Roaring Meg's as the best, and she was correct. First, they made a Rob Roy for my brother, his first in two weeks in New Zealand, and then he got a rack which he declared at least equal to the best that he has ever had. I ordered the lamb cutlets with lamb shoulder compote that also was super. Also, a good selection of wines and cocktails. Sharon, the manager/hostess/waitress, was delightful. A chocolate tort finished off the meal. This is a "white table cloth" four star restaurant and is pricey--the rack was $NZ48 and my meal was $NZ38, but I felt worth it relative to our other meals across both islands.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ProfBAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Went Back for Seconds”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The absolutely best meal, went twice in a week we loved it so much. Both times the meals were faultless...honestly it was so good all I can say is you must go there and experience it to understand how good it is...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This restaurant was a real find. The stairs up are a little unprepossessing but the restaurant is rather like a victorian front room. The service is excellent, as is the quality of the food. The menu is not very extensive bit you won't be disappointed if you are looking for somewhere classy to eat in Queenstown?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roaring Megs Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Roaring Megs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing