We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar

Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #43 of 254 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$45
Cuisines: Chinese, European, Asian, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located high above Queenstown with panoramic views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables mountain range, Skyline Queenstown's restaurant is one of the most popular dining experiences in New Zealand - catering for up to 620 guests each night. Chef and guest interaction is one of the highlights of the Stratosfare redevelopment. Guests are able to watch as Stratosfare's expert chefs prepare dishes using some of New Zealand's finest produce at interactive cooking stations. Further enhancing the overall guest experience is the inclusion of a mussel bar, where New Zealand green-lipped mussels are served hot to diners. A central feature of Stratosfare is a purpose-built rotisserie oven where guests can see locally-sourced chicken, beef and lamb cooked before their eyes. A tempting dessert display featuring a vast array of decadent sweet treats is the perfect end to a dining experience. Lunch open from 12.00Pm until 2.00Pm. Dinner reservations available: Early sitting from 5.45Pm till 6.30Pm (tables must be vacated by 7.45Pm) Late sitting from 8.15Pm to 8.45Pm (no time limit) Contact
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I would have to say the primary reason for going to this restaurant is the view. We had an early setting for dinner there and that gave us the the chance to eat with the amazing views of Queenstown from daylight to dusk and dark so not only did we see the view by day but also at night with the lights which was nice. The staff are lovely and very helpful and professional. The only fault I would have is that initially we were given conflicting information on whether we could reserve a table and if we could reserve a window table. We were told you could if you arrived there early and put your name down. You can't. You have to go early and get a beeper. Then when the restaurant opens they page you and it is a race to be first there to get the best seat. It is worth getting there early as the views are amazing. The food is your typical buffet and if you are a seafood lover there is a good selection of this. There is however a lack in any child-friendly food as most buffets I have been to tend to have battered fish and maybe fries for the litte ones. Unfortunately it was lacking in this department and as we were travelling with a six year old he was limited to eating a bread roll and dessert. Which makes it a pricey dinner in terms of value if you are taking children. It does have a nice atmosphere and the live music is nice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Karen,
Thank you for visiting our restaurant and for taking the time to write a review about your experience. I am happy to hear that overall you had a pleasant night with us and enjoyed your trip up to Bob’s Peak.
Your feedback regarding the conflicting information about our booking and seat allocation procedures was taken on board and I am really sorry that this was not clearly mentioned to you at the time of your booking. We take great effort in making sure that our window allocation procedure is as fare as possible and the only way we can do this is by allocating our tables in order of arrival, on a first come first served basis. However this information should have been mentioned to you when you booked your dinner and I would like to apologies for the inconvenience, and assure you that your feedback was not in vane. Regarding our menu, I am happy that you found our food selection good and tasty and I am sorry to hear that our kids menu was not offered to you. We have a selection of kid’s meals that we prepare on request, and I only wish you would have mentioned anything to any of our staff members. Although these meals are available, as a consequence of previous feedbacks from our guests, we do not advertise them in front of the kids as parents sometimes do not want the choice to be available to their young ones.
Dear Karen, I would like again to thank you for your feedback and welcome you back as soon as possible, wishing to you and your family all the best and many happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    924
    578
    226
    74
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Arriving there and enjoying the view was already worth, but the food did not disappoint! It was Summer, but cold, so meat and "warm food" were the best options. I found Queenstown expensive, but the combo funicular + dinner was reasonable for the whole experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MimiGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Mimi Greece,

Thank you for visiting us and for writing a review on trip advisor about your trip. We are really happy to read that you had a great experience with us and that we managed to exceed your expectations regarding our food offerings. We would be more than happy to welcome you back as soon as possible and wish you all the best, looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mold
Level Contributor
527 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“buffet dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

although pricey this is well worth the cost

as it was autumn we didnt get to see much on the gondola ride up except for the lights of the town

but when we got there the range and the quality of the food was fantastic

there was a whole chilled bar put over to fish, whole salmon, mussels , langoustine etc

and dont forget the salad bar

then there is the hot carvery with perfectly cooked slightly pink lamb and 3 other joints as well as a bbq

followed by a large selection of hot foods from venison rogan josh ( i would never have thought of that but it was so good) to french (the chicken parmesan was amazing)

plenty for vegetarians too

and if you are not full you have a fantastic dessert choice and cheeseboard

Helpful?
2 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Chris c,
Thank you for choosing to dine in our restaurant and for your fantastic feedback regarding your trip. We are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us and your feedback regarding our food offerings was passed on to our chefs.
With such a huge selection of dishes we strive to satisfy all our guests’ expectations and we are really happy that you found the trip well worth it. We would be more than happy to welcome you back as soon as possible and wish you all the best in your travels looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good buffet in a fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The week before we dined here I'd read that this restaurant is reported to be one of the top 35 restaurants in the world in terms of the view. It's easy to see why!!! We went here for the first dinner setting and were seated as the sun was setting. Being the first week of the school holidays, the restaurant was full yet we didn't have to queue at all at the buffet tables. The food was considerably better than your typical family buffet restaurant with plenty of seafood choices, and everything was nicely presented. Do make sure to leave room for dessert! Although the staff were obviously flat-out that evening, they were very helpful and efficient. To get a good table right by the window it's advisable to arrive early and check-in with the restaurant cashier to receive a pager as the tables are allocated in order of check-in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Michelle C,
Thank you for visiting our restaurant and for your time to write a review about your experience. We are really happy to hear that we managed to positively surprise you with our selection of food offerings and that you enjoyed your dinner with us and the wonderful view from our restaurant. Providing a unique experience to all our guests is something that we strive for, and I am happy that although it was a very busy night, with a fully booked restaurant you feel that our staff took good care of you and the service was efficient and helpful. We would be more than happy to have you back with us as soon as possible and wish you all the best in your travels and many positive reviews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely views and great buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This restaurant has great views of Queenstown. We decided to book the evening meal and took the gondola up before dark. As the light faded we had lovely views of Queenstown before starting our buffet dinner. The starters were great- mainly seafood and we went back several times. The main course was a carvery plus a few casserole type dishes plus a wide range of vegetables. The sweet table was lovely and coffee followed. We felt that the meal was good value for money as the gondola trip and views were all part of the package.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gbg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkylineEnterprises, Manager at Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear gbg47,

Thank you for dining with us and for your time to write a review about your experience. As nothing makes us happier than exceeding our customers expectations it was with great joy that we read your review and your feedback makes us really happy and proud. The views from up here are indeed breathtaking and the gondola ride combined with an all you can eat buffet dinner is definitely a not to be missed experience. We would be more than happy to welcome you back as soon as possible and wish you in the meantime all the best in your travels and many positive reviews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing