We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Speights Ale House

Speights Ale House
Ranked #49 of 254 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We popped in for lunch on a Monday and it was very quiet, so service was prompt. The $15 lunch menu was very good value and the portions generous. We had the spare ribs, a beef casserole dish and some wedges with sour cream and sweet chili sauce, as well as a jug of cider. All the dishes were very tasty. After leaving the restaurant we realised we were charged about $25 dollars for the jug of cider. I know it was a big jug, but it seems a bit excessive when compared to other jug prices we paid. Maybe a genuine mistake?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    252
    72
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value food, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Went to the Speights Ale House for a decent meal and casual atmosphere. Took 15 mins to get a table but didn't mind waiting in the bar. Food was hearty and good value. However, there was one waitress that made us feel like we were definitely not welcome and she snapped at us every time we asked a question about the menu like what the soup of the day was! This attitude towards us made me not want to return. Can definitely get the same quality of food and better service elsewhere. Won't be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clobclobclob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
287 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Family outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Lucky to get a place for 4 adults and 1 child as very busy even though there early for dinner. Food
was typical of pub food--lots of choice and plentiful. Service was prompt and efficient. Decided against having dessert as too full from the first course and place getting a bit noisy for our 5 year old grandson even though he was given some play material to kep him occupied.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The food was outstanding, the atmosphere good and the service ok. I think our server must have been off at the end of the night because we were kind of just left hanging at the end of dinner, but the food was excellent!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tadjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average meal-found lunch better than dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hi, I have been here a few times, lunch was great about 2 weeks ago when I came in but dinner tonight was very average, It started off with the waitress getting 2 drink orders wrong-[there was 4 of us] and also my husbands large coke was the same size as the kids. The music was very loud and quite out of date. My children ordered hotdogs and chips, this came with no tomato sauce so we had to find the waitress to get us some- I had pan fried fish and chips- fish was ok-a little burnt tasting, I had aioli on the side, which i'm sure should be tartar sauce with a lemon wedge. Also the garlic bread was a bit burnt, wish we'd gone to Lonestar, as it was my husbands birthday.
I don't think the food is normally this bad...maybe an off night? or different chef?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank XtremeReball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing