We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mt Nicholas Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt Nicholas Lodge
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What an amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just had two nights with Bruce and Adrienne at Mount Nicholas. Their hosting was spectacular, fabulous food; home grown and home cooked by Adrienne, and the property is beautiful. The hunting was excellent, guided expertly by Bruce. We stayed in the small cabin right by the lake and it was a perfect, relaxing escape. I absolutely recommend a stay here if you are looking for a genuine great value experience on a high country station. We'll be back in the near future to try out the high country huts! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZMorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just returned home after another suberb stay at Mount Nicholas.
Bruce and Adrienne spoilt us again with more suberb food. My favourite meal was the duck with orange sauce.. delicious.
Absolute lake front, I don't think there is anywher you can stay that is closer to the lake than this place. Step off your deck and the lake is there. We sat on the deck which catches all day sun and enjoyed the magnificent views.
Bruce took us out for a bit of hunting and we took home some nice venison.

Room Tip: A great place for a father son hunting trip or a couple looking to get amongst the beauty of the reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I would highly recommend Mount Nicholas as a destination for families and the hosts, Bruce and Adrianne our just lovely people who make you feel very welcome. The food is real home style cooking and heaps of it.

The activity options are excellent and its a real get away from the hustle of city life.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

The place to come and experience the beauty of the region, great food and genuine southern hospittality.
Do nothing or wear yourself out walking in a photographers paradise.

Not to mention the great hunting and fishing right on your doorstep.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

For my parents and me, Mt Nicholas Lodge was the highlight of our trip around New Zealand's South Island. This working high country station (80,000+ acres) is tucked across the lake from Queenstown in a landscape that takes your breath away - wild and remote.

The lodge is a small, cozy house near the lake-front, overlooking the activity of a working station (shepherds and their dogs, Merino rams, horses, etc.). It is comfortable and feels like home. The best part? You're the only guests. Mt Nicholas' focus is on a quality experience, rather than filling the house with paying guests.

Bruce Collins and Adrienne McNatty, our hosts, are wonderful people - they're friendly, great company, and they went out of their way to look after us. For example, they drove us to Milford Sound, accommodated my food allergies, and Bruce arranged to take my father and me on an amazing guided hunting trip (red stag and fallow deer) up in the mountains behind the lodge. That was one of my best memories from the trip. Bruce is a quality guide, and made the experience one to remember.

The lodge is also 90% self-sufficient. Adrienne has cultivated a massive garden and orchard, which provides most of the (natural) ingredients for her outstanding cooking - she made us some of the best food I've ever tasted.

Our favourite part of the experience was meal-times, when we'd dine with Adrienne and Bruce, trading stories and learning more about the station. They took the time to get to know us, and quickly felt more like friends than hosts.

The lodge itself is old, but comfortable, surrounded by roses, with a fireplace, decks, and a view that makes you feel as though you never want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamehendge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

Stayed for four nights with my wife and three year old. Mt.Nicholas Lodge is a small three room homestead set in 100,000 acres of a sheep and cattle ranch. To give you an idea, the place is simply massive and is comprises a lake within its property, a couple of montain ranges,genrates its own electricity, farms its own organic vegetables and the air is crisp . You can drive some 80kms and still be withing the property. One of the few places in the world where the photographs look as good as the real thing due to the clean air. Its a working farm and they have some 30,000 head of sheep and cattle. The homestead is managed by Bruce and Adrienne.

I found this place on the internet and it had no reviews on trip advisor and therefore took a chance inspite of the relatively high price (but full board including drinks). The place is accessible mainly by boat. Hence the four stars for location. But that is part of the charm of the place. Spectacular scenery apart, the place is made special by Adrienne , Bruce, their two cats, lucy the goat..... In four days my daughter who is usually wary of stangers was happy to stay with Adrienne while we took a three hour tour of the property. If rest and relaxation and some solitude is what you need, this is the place you have always been looking for. Adrienne and Bruce are the warmest, sweetest people you could meet.

Only caveat is that if you are looking to use this as a base for going around Queenstown, you would be a bit inconvenienced due to the boat trip across the lake (frequency is low) or the long drive to Te Anau.

But if you are looking for some solitude and relaxation, away from the crowd, you can't beat this place. Activities include hunting, kayaking, hiking with not another soul to be seen, fishing etc The setting and scenery is spectacular. The atmosphere s really special given that its a very cosy setting and they typically have one family staying at a time(no guarantees).

They have recently switched from an all inclusive to an ala carte rate which I am not a fan off but thanks Adrienne and Bruce for a lovely vacation.

PS: I am not usually given to gushing reviews and this is the only place I have ever give a five star rating so you know its special

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Nicholas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Nicholas Lodge

Property: Mt Nicholas Lodge
Address: Mt Nicholas-Beach Road | Lake Wakatipu, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine homestead accommodation experience at the heart of a New Zealand High Country Station on the shores of Lake Wakatipu Queenstown. Whether you're looking for a secluded private destination in which to relax, or are keen to actively experience the New Zealand outdoors - tramping, hunting or fishing - Mt Nicholas Station and Lodge provide an unparalleled environment and experience. You won't want to leave. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing