We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”
Review of Oaks Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Club Resort
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2011

New apartment complex. Balcony from both Lounge and master bedroom with stunning views over the lake. Lovely and quiet location. Apartment has everything you would need. A pleasant 15-30 minute walk around the lakes edge into central Queenstown. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Free parking provided. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealandTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Club Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

Warning - you may book a room and get locked out! Hotel is not staffed after 8pm, so do not check in late night or you could be sleeping in your car.

They use key cards to swipe into hotel - and frequent travelers know these things often don't work and you need to go to desk to get a new one. Well, neither of my two cards worked during my visit, so I was locked out of my room, and since after 8pm nobody was available. When I called a hotline from number outside, nobody answered. After trying to call for 2 hours, I walked around to book another room.

While I was locked out of my room with no person working, another man came up trying to check in and he was also SOL.

On another negative note, the staff did not clean the room the first night of the visit. Other days there they did very poor job cleaning.

On a positive note - the hotel view is very nice, and Queenstown is an amazing place. Just be warned being locked out of your room and having to search for another hotel late night definitely not positive for experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cali310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

We apologise for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay at Oaks Club.

We have discussed your review with the Hotel Manager and have confirmed whilst the hotel is not staffed after 8pm, guests are able to pick up the after hours phone by the Reception door (or dial 0 from their room) and be connected to our Oaks Shores hotel. From there, guests are given the combination to the after hours key safe and are able to access their room. The night care taker is also on site to help if there are guests requiring assistance at anytime.

However, we are glad to note that you did enjoy the hotel and all the sites that Queenstown has to offer. We do hope you will consider staying with us again at Oaks Club or another Oaks Hotels & Resorts property in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed here 3 nights because when booked through Orbitz, there was a "stay 3 nights for the price of 2" deal, which made the per-night rate cheaper than the Novotel we had booked earlier. This isn't a bad place to stay, but the room on the Orbitz deal was not the one in the photos. The hotel is on a very steep hill on the edge of the lake, but unless you get a suite, the view of the lake is unavailable. The first room they put us in on the bottom floor had no view AT ALL - simply a view of the walkway which lead to the coastline. We asked to be moved to a room with at least some view, which they were happy to do, but we then got what we asked for - a tiny sliver of view of the lake, but mostly overlooking the ramp for the parking garage. We didn't plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel, so this was fine, but had hoped for something more exciting.

The room itself was fine - modern with a nice bed and fairly quiet. The TV was ok. The kitchenette was fine, but you have to clean your own dishes (not a big deal) and on our last day the refrigerator died so our milk and lunch meat spoiled. The parking garage is free and nice (tricky and tight to move around in though). The hotel itself is also very confusing to walk around, but we figured it out after a while.

The "resort" does have a few major issues though. The room view is one, but the room cleanliness is another. As other reviewers have said, housekeeping is a joke. The three days we stayed there, they didn't vacuum once (nor before we arrived) and only got new towels. The bathroom is untouched during the stay. The bathroom is also a huge mess. It looks fancy and modern, but the shower area has NO lip or shower curtain to keep the water from going EVERYWHERE. The floor then drains slowly, so there are pools of water all over the floor the entire night and part of the next day. It's just really poor design. Just give me a shower curtain and slope the floor a bit more and it'll be fine. Lastly, the location on the hotel is somewhat of an issue. It's NOT within walking distance of downtown. The road to town is narrow and there's no sidewalk, so you really have to drive, and the parking downtown in Queenstown is crazy expensive, and they patrol it like mad. We spent probably $30 on parking in 3 days.

If we had it to do over, I'd go with the Novotel downtown as it's within walking distance of everything, and hopefully has a better designed bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The apartment has an amazing view of the lake. The interior is modern and comfortable.Stayed in 2 bedroom and 2 ensuite bathroom was perfect !

Parking is free so its great ! Just be careful going down to the parking spot because it is quite steep.

Service or Housekeeping: I simply agree with the other travellers and don't know why they call this a "resort". I stayed for a week with friends and the only housekeeping they do is changing your dirty towel with a fresh towel and also make your bed. Housekeeping do not vacuum nor wipe the benches or the bathroom, nor change your sheets. Mainly i would call it a "Towel Housekeeping". It was strange as i stayed in many hotel and resorts and motels and they always clean your room and give it a bit of a wipe and vacuum but this "Resort" does not. I even ask reception about this and they said "housekeeping only change your towels".

Overall, it is a nice and comfortable place with a beautiful view. We did not make that much mess anyway. simply appreciated if they clean the place a little.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlt64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Unfortunately the room we stayed in did not have a balcony but it did have very large windows on the corner of the room which still provided us with a fantastic view out across the lake. I would say the rooms that do have balconies would be even better.
The room was very modern and spacious with floor to ceiling mirrors in the bathroom.
Flat screen TV with a good selection of channels to choose from.
The staff we dealt with were very pleasant and helpful. You would walk from the hotel into the town centre in less than 20 minutes but it would take a bit longer to get back as you would be going uphill a bit of the way.
Overall, no complaints about Oaks Club.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Stayed here in 3 bedroom/bathroom apartment for one night and managed to get room at a much discounted rate but wouldn't have felt put out by paying the full rate. Apartment was stunning but was nothing compared to the sensational balcony and view across the lake. Kitchen area was large and surpassed all our needs and communal area was fantastic. Hotel is a decent walk into town but was pleasant in the summer sun. Reception was only open 8am to 8pm though for some reason!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ExtraPillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This worked beautifully for us. We were in unit 404 with two bedrooms. Huge light, airy and modern kitchen/dining/sitting, two ensuite bathrooms one withbath, large terrace with furniture, and fabulous views of the Frankton Arm, Remarkables, Eyre Range and Lake Wakatipu. Clean, comfortable, modern and with a wow factor that blew away our guest from the UK. Surprisingly private and quiet for what is a cheek-by-jowl development. Though the man on the terrace next door almost got an eye full of a naked me when I was hunting through my suitcase whilst in the window of the main bedroom and he was on the front corner of his terrace. Fortunately he didn't look behind him before I had twitched the curtain closed! Drawbacks: second bedroom is internal, housekeeping can be inconsistent, access to and from car park is challenging. Nothing fatal, though. Preferred it to the sister property Oaks Shores.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pointyhead_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#39 of 57 in Queenstown
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
892 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Club Resort

Address: 171 - 179 Frankton Road | Frankton, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#32 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £99 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of Lake Wakatipu are just part of the appeal of accommodation at Oaks Club Resort. A luxuriously appointed apartment-style Queenstown hotel, it is conveniently located on Frankton Road, the main road into picturesque and popular Queenstown. The hotel comprises Hotel Rooms, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments in chic, contemporary styling, underfloor heating and in some rooms, full kitchen and laundry facilities and gas fire places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Club Hotel Queenstown
Oaks Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing