We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Milford Sound BBQ Bus
from US$136.93
More Info
from US$165.02
More Info
Reviews (849)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveller rating
628
45
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
45
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small bus small group milford sound day trip te anau big tour buses large coach new zealand lamb kebab boat tour fiordland national park driver guide homer tunnel comfortable bus mirror lake photo opportunities great trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 679 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We booked the BBQ bus tour for our Milford Sound cruise, to avoid being herded around with one of the large tour bus groups.

15 people in total on the BBQ bus, with some starting from Queenstown and others - like us - getting picked up in Te Anau.

Nigel, our guide, was excellent - entertaining as well as informative, he interacted with all members of the group, and stopped off at various places for talks about the local flora and fauna, and to give us a change for small walks along the way.

We stopped for our kiwi BBQ lunch before going on the boat (again, a small one compared to some of the vessels), and saw dolphins and seals along the way.

A great day out and highly recommended for anybody not seeking to be part of large coach group trips!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank himalheidi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordSoundBBQBus, Owner at Milford Sound BBQ Bus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi guys,
Thank you so much for the 5 star review. Nigel will be delighted that you enjoyed your day with him. He has an extra special talent at getting to know his passengers by name and making them feel like they have made a friend. This is what makes small group travel so much more personal. Thanks again and all the best from the BBQ Bus team.

Kind Regards
Marty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent driver Graham lots of interesting places visited and information given. Didn't have the blue skies but the bbq and whole trip was great.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordSoundBBQBus, Owner at Milford Sound BBQ Bus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Judith. Thank you for the 5 star review. Your comment about not having the blue skies but still rating us 5-stars proves its all about the service and experience.

Thanks again and all the best. Marty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although we had a car, and could have driven from Queenstown, we preferred a charter service. The fact that this was a smaller vehicle than a big bus allowed us to be a little more nimble than the bigger buses. We were picked up near our villa right on time, and were glad we took the early tour, so that we could be back in time for dinner. The sound was simply gorgeous, and the driver was really knowledgeable throughout, making some additional cool stops on the way. Breakfast on the boat was perfect, and we all got plenty to eat. The only rub was that the driver was very comfortable saying some pretty negative tings about some other cultures/nationalities. It was a bit off-putting, and the reason why I'm not including his name. It's likely that some others on the tour were unfazed by the comments; I just found them a little odd. It was a very small negative, as he was an otherwise lovely person, and full of information. We would do it again, and definitely preferred having Queenstown as our starting point than Te Anau.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Smoletx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordSoundBBQBus, Owner at Milford Sound BBQ Bus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there,
I am very sorry to hear that you felt the driver made you a little uncomfortable with some of his comments. This is not OK and I will talk to all of the drivers about being neutral in their comments and views.. I have not encountered this comment before but take it very seriously as the owner. Please accept our sincere apologies for any offense caused. On a positive note I am pleased you still enjoyed your trip with us. Yours sincerely Marty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Got picked up by the brilliant Nigel In the bbq bus ,got to Milford Sound via a number of brilliant photo stops , great lunch bbq style , the boat trip was superb and on the way back we got a movie
The scenery is mind boggling and Nigel is full of information and fun facts
If you take this bus make sure you get Nigel
Love Peter and Karen S 3/2/2019

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank PeterS5934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordSoundBBQBus, Owner at Milford Sound BBQ Bus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Peter and Karen. Thanks for the 5-star review. Yes Nigel is a great 'Kiwi' guide. The BBQ bus has just 4 drivers and they are all New Zealand born, providing great kiwi hospitality. Cheers, Marty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was such a fun day. We were picked up 5 minutes’ walk from our apartment by driver Rob, who filled our day with interesting facts, a dry sense of humour and completely efficient tour and time management. The stops were plentiful and really interesting, the barbecue lunch in a funky old camp was really good and the cruise was sheer bliss. Loved every minute!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank 878barbaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordSoundBBQBus, Owner at Milford Sound BBQ Bus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi guys. Thanks for the 5 -star review. Yes, Rob is a great driver, like all BBQ Bus drivers, one of the best. The place you had lunch is called Gunn's Camp. as you say its a funky and quirky place with very interesting history. Most other tour groups don't (can't) go there. We don't go their every trip either. Thanks again. Marty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome day! Nigel was a wealth of information for everything New Zealand. He made the day fun because he had such a great sense of humor and was very personable. He took us to beautiful lookout spots and got us to the boat cruise right on time. Everything was seamless, from being picked up/dropped off at our hotel to the delicious BBQ lunch. We would definitely recommend!

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank SNDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilfordSoundBBQBus, Owner at Milford Sound BBQ Bus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello there. Thanks so much for posting your review. Nigel will be delighted you enjoyed your day with him as I am as the owner. Cheers, Marty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews