We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks to be the only way to get to Stewart Island”

Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
US$94.86*
and up
Return Ferry to Stewart Island from Bluff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stewart Island Experience operates daily ferry service between Bluff and Stewart Island all year around. Stewart Island is New Zealand's ultimate eco-tourism destination and the location of Rakiura National Park. During the one hour ferry crossing, keep a look out for the Mollymawks (Albatross) that often follow the vessel. Daily coach connections operate between Bluff and Invercargill, and in summer also to Te Anau and Queenstown (summer only).
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Looks to be the only way to get to Stewart Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you have motion sickness, take your drugs! It is a short trip but the seas seem to be rough all the time between the mainland and Stewart Island. You load your suitcases in a big bin that is lifted onto the ferry and back on land at the terminal. That was interesting : )

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    106
    19
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good service, however disappointed by Stewart Island”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The ferry ride both ways was good despite rather rough conditions. They teach you a lot about wildlife as well which is great for people like me that don't have a clue. Unfortunately, I was rather disappointed by Stewart Island itself and the Great Walk. I expected the landscape to be more unique and different from NZ South Island. Except for the middle part of the Great Walk, with really dense forest, it reminded me of the South Island a lot. I would not recommend to visit Stewart Island if you are short of time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TamiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ferry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Comfortable despite rather bumpy water. The crew were very sympathetic to us oldies needing assistance.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suenjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food and nice friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

loved the big, fresh and very delicious oysters. loved the ginger beer, and good fried potatoes. we needed to order a day before, which was not easy to comply with, due to our touring plans.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rowlandch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great wildlife trip in its own right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Expensive, but very worthwhile. The captain pointed out wildlife we were passing, which turned what would otherwise have been just a ferry crossing into a wildlife cruise. Bit choppy though - this is supposed to be one of the roughest seas in the world after all! But at least you could sit outside in the fresh air and enjoy the ride.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thebin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience also viewed

Stewart Island, Southland Region
Stewart Island, Southland Region
 

Been to Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing