We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view from the restaurant”

Church Hill Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Church Hill Restaurant & Oyster Bar is a fully licenced a la carte restaurant specialising in local seafood with a cosy open fire, 3 separate dining areas plus deck with amazing vistas. Private functions welcomed. Courtesy car drop-off available. Open from 5:30pm till late.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely view from the restaurant”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a lovely dinner. We walked from our hotel to the restaurant which I highly recommend. It was a delightful hike up the hill.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    49
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant Just out of Town”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This looked a classy restaurant - and it was. I cannot fault it. The location, ambience, food, wine and service were all excellent. It is a pleasure to find a restaurant that is as good as it looks and justifies its prices. Full marks!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Expl0rer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
768 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 810 helpful votes
“Delicious food in relaxed setting”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The restaurant is located just behind the church on the hill overlooking Halfmoon Bay rather than actually in the church as I had first imagined. For us it was a short stroll from our accommodation at Pilgrim Cottage so no need to worry about transport, we only needed to remember to take a torch to see our way back!

On the advice of our hosts we had reserved a table since it is a popular restaurant.

When we arrived Chris, the joint owner and host for the night, was running around a little (they had experienced a bit of a rush with several tables arriving at the same time). He was relieved to hear we weren’t in a hurry.

The interior is nicely done and features some solid looking wooden furnishings, a log fire and the conservatory style entrance adds to a bright and relaxed setting. There’s a garden porch however on the night we were there no one was brave enough to sit out - the log fire was lit inside. As with many places in New Zealand we found there isn’t a dress code with most people just being “smart but casual“ when dining out.

We ordered a bottle of Villa Maria Cellar Select Sauvignon Blanc and sat back to have a look at the menu. There was a choice of around 7 or 8 items per course including a few specials on the board with starters ranging from $13 to $25 (paua ravioli); mains from $32 to $48 (oysters); and desserts from $14 to $19 (cheeseboard) which all provided a good choice. The wine list also had a small attractive selection. (The restaurant is fully licensed and also stocks a variety of speciality beers and whisky along with other favourites).

We ordered Tomato & Basil Soup and Spinach & Ricotta Ravioli with walnut sauce for starters, to be followed by oven baked Blue Cod with brown butter sage sauce, potato & kumara rosti and seasonal vegetables and herbs; and Lamb Rack served with potato gratin, roasted vegetables with herbs and a Pinot Noir drizzle.

I’m normally not a huge pasta fan however the ravioli was superb and just a nice sized portion for an entrée. My wife who is partial to soup cleared the plate. In the past she was not overly keen on fish however this trip to New Zealand and other trips abroad have been opening her eyes to the fantastic fresh selection available and she found this dish cooked to perfection. Likewise the lamb was deliciously tender and full of flavours to melt in the mouth and everything was well presented. You will have gathered by now that we were enjoying the meal!

To finish we decided to share the Sticky Fig & Pear pudding with toffee sauce and ice cream and the cheeseboard - a selection of three New Zealand cheeses served with homemade bread and preserves. By this time the wine was finished and my wife had a glass of Villa Maria Sauvignon Blanc and I had a Pinot Noir. The desserts were not surprisingly very good as was the wine.

Chris was pleasant, chatty when appropriate and the chef and joint owner, Deanne, joined us for short while too when the rush in the kitchen had subsided. Some remaining guests were taking the opportunity to get a courtesy lift home however with torch in hand we set off into the night fully satisfied.

Food was $138, drinks $60 and whilst some on TA have reported that this is the best restaurant in Stewart Island (which it is) it amongst the best we’ve come upon on our travels anywhere. It's a bit out of the way however if you venture to Stewart Island I'd recommend a visit, or two.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We dined at this restaurant a few days ago, the waiter was lovely and personable. The atmosphere was great with a nice roaring fire and the food was amazing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Ate here twice and is a must do. Chris was the perfect host out front and the food was top notch .Great feeling to the restaurant and looking at the photos of their holiday trips to Africa etc is inspiring and good ideas for our photo book holiday memories

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiwi30b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church Hill Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Stewart Island, Southland Region
Stewart Island, Southland Region
 
Stewart Island, Southland Region
Stewart Island, Southland Region
 

Been to Church Hill Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing