We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Expensive But Only Option in Off Season” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stewart Island Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stewart Island Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Too Expensive But Only Option in Off Season”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stewart Island is pretty quiet except for the summer season. I went in the off season in early October and this was the only backpackers open. It cost $35 per night per person for a share room. There were no bunk beds so that was a plus. The common area is fairly large with everything you need for cooking, plus a piano, tv, and ping pong table. You have to walk outside of your room to get to the shared bathrooms. There is a free storage shed which is nice. You also get a bit of free wifi. I saw a note on a board at reception that said it was an extra $5 charge to only stay for one night but that was not enforced when I was there. A lot of people that do the great walk stay for a night before they start and stay again for a night before they take the ferry back. So an extra $5 for a one night stay is a bit ridiculous with the already high prices for NZ (highest backpacker prices I have come across in the entire country!) I would rather stay at Bunkers Backpackers when it is open.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    21
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
24
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

A basic backpackers with nothing more than you would expect: clean, warm showers, comfortable beds. A welcome change from backcountry huts after a few days tramping, but nothing special. Expensive at $35 per person per night, but there are few other places to stay in Oban.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We arrived without booking over the New Year and the host sort us out straight away. ^_^
Kitchen and common room are well equiped (with piano and ping-pong).
Lucky that our neighbours were quiet and we had a good night sleep.
Thanks,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahhlili01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

It all depends on what you're looking for - it's so close to the beach it's silly, the rooms on their own are cheap and come with central heating in the winter as well as blankets and power sockets. It's not up to the standards you may find in Oz lets say but this is a very very remote island with hardly any locals living there and a lot of natural beauty around it so keep that in mind when you go there. Mobile phone coverage is zero unless you are with telecom but while you're there who wants to be disturbed really! This place is only good in the summer as I would say it's a bit too chilly running outside to get to the toilets and showers. If you want cheap and cheerful this is your place.

Room Tip: get a room on your own at the very back of the place and get easy access to the bathrooms, a warm co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atthebottomnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Estaban and I absolutely adored the the south island of new Zealand but the jewel I'm the crown of our new Zealand getaway was our stay at the stewart island backpackers. Its not the most modern building but it is a great space, clean and super friendly staff.

Gay friendly.

Room Tip: Go for a dorm in the east wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Spent one night here. Seems to me they are charging a "captive audience" Paid less in Hotels with far superior facilities and the towel hire was a rip-off!
On the upside staff were friendly and room was clean but needs refurbished with proper storage facilities.
Great location tho

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curror13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Zurich, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We had an opportunity to visit during Christmas 2011; and can well recommend this friendly hostel. The new owners are putting a massive amount of work into turning the hostel into a great location to chill out and relax on Stewart Island. Unfortunately other guests seem to steal items (like gas lighters, matches etc) on a regular basis. Many of the Top 10 Holiday Camps don't provide lighters for their gas appliances, so when guests steal them it is a real pity.

This place has one of the best atmospheres and locations we have found in all of NZ - when compared to many other YH and BHB hostels we stayed at during our 7 weeks.

Room Tip: The weather on Stewart Island is very temperamental, going cold quite quickly. Hence it can be usefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raoming S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stewart Island
0.1 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stewart Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#1 of 3 in Stewart Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sails Ashore Lodge
Sails Ashore Lodge
#6 of 8 in Stewart Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
23.1 mi away
Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
22.6 mi away
Lands End Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Island Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Island Backpackers

Property: Stewart Island Backpackers
Address: 18 Ayr Street, Stewart Island 9818, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Stewart Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the heart of Halfmoon Bay, we offer friendly, comfortable and clean accommodation at competitive prices 365 days a year. We also have a huge camping area! Picture Vicki has lived on Stewart island for nearly 10 years and is passionate this unique and beautiful part of the world. When the opportunity came to run the backpackers, it was a no brainer! She is also the scary Quiz lady at the renowned Sunday Night Quiz at the South Sea Hotel! Whether you are here to walk, fish, hunt, see the wildlife or just relax, we're open 365 days a year, any help you need; just ask! We offer: Crisp, fresh sheets on every bed along with a pillow, duvet and blanket No bunk beds and a maximum of 4 people per dorm room Well-stocked kitchen Laundry Great sunny, flat tent sites (although we can't always guarantee the sun!) Recycling Booking service for Stewart Island activities including Ulva Island FREE WIFI voucher on check-in FREE DVDs to watch FREE awesome Bookcrossing Shelf FREE jigsaws to do FREE Guitar to use FREE Local Phone calls (Inc Invercargill) FREE BBQ use FREE luggage storage FREE Hairdryer/Iron/Alarm Clock/Hair Clippers to borrow FREE Bedrolls to borrow when camping ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stewart Island Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stewart Island Backpackers Hotel Stewart Island
Stewart Island Backpackers South Island, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing