We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and friendly”
Review of South Sea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Sea Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Reviewed 6 June 2014

An old style New Zealand Rural hotel, motel units although older are roomy, clean and comfortable. Also very quiet. The hotel offers good value for money, the staff and the locals are all friendly. Remember that this is rural New Zealand and the rooms are not up to big city top standard but then neither is the price.
See also my review of the hotel restaurant.

For trips to the bird sanctuary on Ulva Island, we recommend Kylie from the information Centre.

Room Tip: The motel type rooms at the rear of the hotel with own facilities are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilsogno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a few days on Stewart Island and had many lunches at the South Seas Hotel.
Delicious food, tried a variety of different meals - best by far were the mussels - huge and just perfectly cooked.
Great place to have a cold beer or wine - looking out over the water

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kauriinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

what a neat place to stay and dine,the air plugs came in handy,we were above the bar but not a problem,a great place to stay for a few days,the guy behind the restaurant bar who had the whiskers,was such a happy obliging guy,i would give him a rise straight away,such a good atmosphere to be in and a nice place to visit. johnmahia

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mahianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Jumped on line Friday night, left message with Stewart Island air asking if they did packages. Promptly next morning, phone call, let's make this happen. Brother and I flew over next day, Sunday stayed at the south seas, it as quizz night, very busy, they very kindly took our dinner order after kitchen closed. Had a lovely stay and will definitely go back next time I'm in the south.oh and the cost ??? Flights and motel unit for night $220 each, best value....recommend .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our room was upstairs above the bar and dining room. It came with earplugs!!! The room had a sink but there were shared bathrooms and showers. The room was small but the bed was comfy. There was a common lounge area. There was a lot of noise from below. We were there during "Man of the Year" weekend and the celebration continued until late.
They do have delicious pizza.

Room Tip: Get a room behind the main hotel building - not upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisconsinron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Ok it is a traditional NZ Hotel however the accommodation in rooms upstairs and beds are comfortable. The meals exceeded expectations plus the staff went out of their way to make stay enjoyable - including a lift to the early ferry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view over the bay - northern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herneauck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We got married on Stewart Island & had the reception at the Hotel - I stayed here as did our guests. From the onset the staff were very helpful & friendly. The catering for the wedding was more then expected for what we were charged. The dinning room meals were ample in size. The accommodation was clean and roomy with plenty of coffee, sugar etc. All at very reasonable prices. Highly recommended - what a spot. Thanks

Room Tip: We stayed in the studio units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankguth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stewart Island
0.1 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#1 of 3 in Stewart Island
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaka Retreat Motel - Stewart Island
0.1 mi away
Stewart Island Backpackers
Stewart Island Backpackers
#2 of 10 in Stewart Island
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchorstone
Anchorstone
#5 of 10 in Stewart Island
23 reviews
23 mi away
Foveaux Hotel
Foveaux Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bluff
34 reviews
22.5 mi away
Lands End Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sea Hotel

Address: Elgin Terrace, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Price Range: £47 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Sea Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your South Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sea Hotel Stewart Island, South Island, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing